The Jamarra Thread

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

I see this phrase 'mental health card ' get bandied about on bigfooty. I presume it means that you assume players are using drink or drugs to get wasted & miss training , then claiming it's actually a mental health problem?

Where's the evidence that this has occurred?
Has any player come out and said their mental health is suffering? Has Jamarra?
Given that suicide is one of the leading causes of death for young men in Australia , are these comments helpful ? (An even higher rate for young indigenous men. Of course)
Is it possible to go out and party and enjoy yourself in public , but still have poor mental health ?
What does 'exploiting the system' mean? What is Jamarra gaining from this?
How do you know what his state of mind is? Psychiatry is still an inexact science that almost totally relies on evidence provided by the patient, unless they are psychotic.

Clubs have barrages of doctors, psychologists . They doubtless have access to top psychiatrists. It's not as if Bev has a quick look at Jamarra's insta and diagnoses the 'mental health.'

I suffer from severe bi polar. I've been hospitalised a few times on the psych ward and survived a suicide attempt. If someone says they have a mental health problem, you listen . Too many people, especially men,put on a brave face and told no-one before they ended their lives .

(Turns out I was in a pretty manic state when I ran for the Bullfogs board a few years ago, but I have no regrets)
Firstly, thank you for sharing. I was aware you have had some life issues but it’s very brave and very useful that you have.
Mental health is way too complex an issue to nut out on here.

But, in relation to your specifics about what’s in it for afl players there was a very interesting article recently but the 3 strike rule. I’m paraphrasing but basically declaring mental health and requesting “support” at the time of a strike offers significant benefits and anonymity whether they’re sincere or not.

The only possible reason he has not been cut from the program is it may lessen his trade value. However, his trade value is now close zero with social media highlighting his behavior. He is not deserving to be in the program and it was grave mistake to play him in the final against the hawks. Basically, we were playing 17 v 18 when he was on the field.

I don't think that is the only possible reason. Perhaps it's one of a few considerations but there are a variety of challenges.

Can any other club that takes a chance on him be sure that he’ll suddenly knuckle down and become a star again?

I’ve got a feeling Tasmania might be the answer.

Tassie wont suit him, very small social scene down there, one of the Sh*tney teams would be the only ones that would suit him as the team and the AFL can protect him and hide him from the media coverage like they did with a previous big name that played up there, but even those teams may not like a player that collects his pay but doesn't want to train or play

Firstly, thank you for sharing. I was aware you have had some life issues but it’s very brave and very useful that you have.
Mental health is way too complex an issue to nut out on here.

But, in relation to your specifics about what’s in it for afl players there was a very interesting article recently but the 3 strike rule. I’m paraphrasing but basically declaring mental health and requesting “support” at the time of a strike offers significant benefits and anonymity whether they’re sincere or not.
Which nobody here knows about Marra, yet many are still claiming he's playing a "card". Frankly, I find it disgusting.

He’s taking the cash for no work. He seems to have a good social network on Friday and Saturday nights. He is also allergic to coming to the Western Oval.

I would beat him in a fight and I am 45 with arthritis. He is a joke.

Similarly I drink every day. However I train every day. I would kick his are.

Has he? I remember a lot of vague statements with very little substance, I may have missed it.
When i did put on here whats going on, i was pretty much harrased by quite a few posters so deleted it. Have told plenty via pm.

I see this phrase 'mental health card ' get bandied about on bigfooty. I presume it means that you assume players are using drink or drugs to get wasted & miss training , then claiming it's actually a mental health problem?

Where's the evidence that this has occurred?
Has any player come out and said their mental health is suffering? Has Jamarra?
Given that suicide is one of the leading causes of death for young men in Australia , are these comments helpful ? (An even higher rate for young indigenous men. Of course)
Is it possible to go out and party and enjoy yourself in public , but still have poor mental health ?
What does 'exploiting the system' mean? What is Jamarra gaining from this?
How do you know what his state of mind is? Psychiatry is still an inexact science that almost totally relies on evidence provided by the patient, unless they are psychotic.

Clubs have barrages of doctors, psychologists . They doubtless have access to top psychiatrists. It's not as if Bev has a quick look at Jamarra's insta and diagnoses the 'mental health.'

I suffer from severe bi polar. I've been hospitalised a few times on the psych ward and survived a suicide attempt. If someone says they have a mental health problem, you listen . Too many people, especially men,put on a brave face and told no-one before they ended their lives .

(Turns out I was in a pretty manic state when I ran for the Bullfogs board a few years ago, but I have no regrets)
Firstly, I’m sincerely sorry to hear of your health issues. I also have a young family member who has struggled for years. It’s a constant source of stress and fear for all of us.

I actually think we share the same motivation here, albeit coming at it from different angles. At least that was my intention. Mental health and its potential consequences are extremely serious which is why it riles me to no end when I feel as though somebody is exploiting it in order to avoid scrutiny as it trivialises the illness for those who are legitimately unwell and in need of support.

I’m obviously more cynical in my views on this. I admire your ability to take what your told at face value but I think you’re being a little naive if you believe that this practice hasn’t occurred amongst any players, staff or media figures in the AFL landscape.

He’s taking the cash for no work. He seems to have a good social network on Friday and Saturday nights. He is also allergic to coming to the Western Oval.

I would beat him in a fight and I am 45 with arthritis. He is a joke.

Similarly I drink every day. However I train every day. I would kick his are.
Good for you. None of that is related to mental health.

I can see hawthorn coming hard if they miss out on Oscar Allen. Gut feel.
Big indigenous presence in the club.

The likelihood he is with us this season is miniscule. Next season even less.

There is obviously more to the background of this than has been released, but am comfortable some posters on this board who have been ridiculed by others on this board are much closer to the the truth.

As a person wish him the best and hope he turns it around, as a 50 plus year memeber who contributes significant funds to the club each year, accept what it is and move on ASAP

Just on the Jamarra stuff —

It’s possible he’s using the cards he’s been dealt to justify poor behaviour. It’s possible he’s just being a dickhead and all of this is on him. I won’t pretend those possibilities don’t exist.

But growing up, I was taught to lead with kindness — even if that kindness isn’t always returned. Because more often than not, it is worth something. It makes a difference.

I’d much rather believe Jamarra is a young bloke who needs patience, support, and a bit of love — and be wrong — than jump to judgment and treat him like a lost cause. I’ll always choose hope over cynicism, even if it means being let down sometimes. That doesn’t stop until he’s either gone or is back on track either.

I reckon he has massive performance anxiety? Heading towards the finals and we were the form club of the competition, Champion Data rated us number 1. Jamarra hadn’t performed too well in his previous finals and the two week break before the big Hawthorn game tipped him over the edge, he felt he had to flee to cope? He destroyed his two week break and completely embarrassed himself in front of 98,000 and the whole footy world. He has been a mess ever since.
I personally would welcome him back in a heartbeat if he had humility and was ready to do the work, mentally first, the physicality will come back after. Obviously a massive psychological challenge ahead for him, his first bit of sage advice would be, “you are never going to get well magically, at some point you need to stop and change course.”

He should travel the world, grow up, see some other cultures and gain some perspective on life. The day to day life of a professional footballer isn't for him, at this stage in his life anyway.

Time for everyone to move on.

He should travel the world, grow up, see some other cultures and gain some perspective on life. The day to day life of a professional footballer isn't for him, at this stage in his life anyway.

Time for everyone to move on.
I think manual labour would be more appropriate than another vacation. Didn't we put Libba jnr to work on a construction site (bricklayer?) after his drug strike?

We can’t let emotions override good judgement. Get to the end of the year and trade him for the best possible outcome.

If he goes on to resurrect his career elsewhere, good for him but we need to move forward.

When i did put on here whats going on, i was pretty much harrased by quite a few posters so deleted it. Have told plenty via pm.
Would he be any different at another club? Or has he lost interest in football?
And where are his parents? I thought he came from a really supportive family.