Mega Thread The Mark Neeld Mega-Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr.X

He has played 4 AFL games FFS.

He's only getting games for marketing. Not bashing down the door based on Casey form and not playing well enough to justify playing at AFL level.

Look at Nathan Hrovat; played two games with an average disposal count of 16, average clearances of 4 and average tackles of 3.5. This is a player that is just as young and taken later in the draft.

Disagree

The talent is not as bad as it looks

The players are directionless, lost and playing without any passion

I reckon you'd see instant improvement if they changed coaches and just went back to basics for the remainder of the year

That says more about the players and the club's culture than it does Mark Neeld.

Could be ingrained into their culture. Sometimes once you start to suck, it's hard to change when you should be on the rise.

Despite the fact that there are like five total players who played in 2009 who are still at the club.

He's only getting games for marketing. Not bashing down the door based on Casey form and not playing well enough to justify playing at AFL level.

Look at Nathan Hrovat; played two games with an average disposal count of 16, average clearances of 4 and average tackles of 3.5. This is a player that is just as young and taken later in the draft.
Marketing, please.

Plenty of top line players have struggled in their first few games (Watson, Ablett, Hodge, Swan ext). And heaps of duds have started off well and been delisted with in 3-4 years, so your comment is somewhat jumping the gun

Despite the fact that there are like five total players who played in 2009 who are still at the club.

Because a huge chunk of our players retired at once and we didn't move them on within one or two years. Not to mention that Griffin, Cooney, Minson, Morris, Addison, Giansiracusa, Murphy & Williams are all a thousand times harder working then anyone that you have on your list.

Additionally, the older players that we've picked up actually show heart and fly the flag for us. Koby Stevens was playing on one leg last round. Lower & Goodes both aren't afraid of sticking up for our young blokes while Young is a brave and hard working youngster.

Bailey did okay with the raw talent.

Neeld systematically takes good young players and makes them into ten touch plodders after 5 games in the Seniors.

It's a totally different approach, Bailey's approach was that he tried to develop the talent by allowing them initially to play to their strenghths which got them to 8 wins. It did on occassions allow them to be opened up to heavy defeats, but it was all part of the long term plan.

186 and instead of the CEO - developer of the poisonous culture and part of the brat pack running the club, getting the arse, the brat pack got together and turned the machine gun 180 degrees and took out Bailey instead.

In rode Gary on his horse to save the day and and pull the joint together and appoint the new coach, and here is where the real problems started. Armed with the (false) belief that the list of high draft picks and the promise shown in the 8 wins guaranteed a rise up the ladder, the club got ahead of itself and assumed it needed a hard arse, funky new age assistant from a successful program to help deliver the inevitable success that awaited it.

Enter Mark Neeld.

Neeld's gameplan initially borrowed very heavily from Mick's, there is no argument here. Instead of continuing to develop and attack the game, the vast majority of players have gone backwards, stagnated or left.

Wrong Coach for the situation, should never have been appointed. Watching them today they just have no idea what to do, it was sad. Easy to blame the recruiter's but personally I don't, the Board / Coaching Committee need to take the blame because the Bailey sacking / Neeld appointment has set you back five years minimum and cruelled a number of promising young careers.

jordie mckenzie, discussion please

Baffles me that he gets a game over Magner.

And some harsh calls about Toumpas here. He's an outside player in his first year playing for the shittiest midfield in the competition. Bit early to be writing him off after what, 5 games?

And just to quote you twice on this because I didn't know it was this possible to be so stupid. The key difference between us, beside the Bulldogs not cutting mature players wholesale and having nearly 8 years worth of top five draft picks, is pretty simple although apparently difficult for some people to comprehend.
We peaked, you didn't. Straight after 2007 you guys became shit and haven't shown a sign of improving. We spent three years in the top ten before our older blokes started retiring.

Do you want to know another difference?

The Bulldogs actually show heart. ****ing hell, even Fitzroy showed heart. They were probably better than you guys and cracked in every week even after it became apparent that they couldn't compete on the same level as everyone else.
So there you go, Melbourne 2013 are worse than Fitzroy 1996.

Because a huge chunk of our players retired at once and we didn't move them on within one or two years. Not to mention that Griffin, Cooney, Minson, Morris, Addison, Giansiracusa, Murphy & Williams are all a thousand times harder working then anyone that you have on your list.

Additionally, the older players that we've picked up actually show heart and fly the flag for us. Koby Stevens was playing on one leg last round. Lower & Goodes both aren't afraid of sticking up for our young blokes while Young is a brave and hard working youngster.
And just to quote you twice on this because I didn't know it was this possible to be so stupid. The key difference between us, beside the Bulldogs not cutting mature players wholesale and having nearly 8 years worth of top five draft picks, is pretty simple although apparently difficult for some people to comprehend.
We peaked, you didn't. Straight after 2007 you guys became shit and haven't shown a sign of improving. We spent three years in the top ten before our older blokes started retiring.

The Bulldogs actually show heart. ******* hell, even Fitzroy showed heart. They were probably better than you guys and cracked in every week even after it became apparent that they couldn't compete on the same level as everyone else.
What a ******* muppet. Thinks that the Bulldogs and Melbourne should be in the same boat when I made a crack about Melbourne having a losing culture.

When exactly did I mention the Bulldogs?

Exactly how did you extrapolate all of that, from this?

The Bulldogs actually show heart. ******* hell, even Fitzroy showed heart. They were probably better than you guys and cracked in every week even after it became apparent that they couldn't compete on the same level as everyone else.

Yes, that is true.

But I think you missed the bit where he was simply saying there was no correlation between tanking in 2009 and losing in 2013 when only half a dozen players played in both years (and are also their better players - Frawley, Jones, Sylvia, Garland)

And some harsh calls about Toumpas here. He's an outside player in his first year playing for the shittiest midfield in the competition. Bit early to be writing him off after what, 5 games?

Yeah, that bizarre stuff about Toumpas has been going on within the MB for quite some time now, of course. Always nice to see someone from outside our club who's also prepared to push back against militantly asinine nonsense of that kind when it happens with some of our young players, as it so often does.

The idea that you can just declare a player to be somehow a 'bust' after less than half a dozen games is the height of absurdity, but all too common on BF, and certainly not just with Melbourne players, of course.

When exactly did I mention the Bulldogs? Exactly how did you extrapolate all of that, from this?

Apparently that's what intelligent, unbiased and credible posting is all about mate. Well, Testekill tells me it is anyway :thumbsu:

Just on Melbourne, check out the thread entitled:

"If Jim Stynes didn't have cancer, this Melbourne team would have give him cancer"

By [user]Calotto Ham[/user]