Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Yes Healy brought us up at every possible opportunity last night. He is very bullish on where we are headed.

The love for Brayshaw has come from everywhere. Am I correct in assuming our Sunday arvo game went FTA in Victoria?

During the call Eddie Maguire said it was the primetime sunday game but he says a lot of things. Definitely seems like a lot more pundits watched this week than some of our other home games

I'm guessing it's more to do with the fact that it was either going to be Richmond's resurgence game or their end of an era game.

AB, Youngy and a new NGA

The comment re Brayshaw taking the game on was so obvious this week. There was at least 7 or 8 times where I thought he was about to get into trouble and therefore handball (as he would've up until this week) but he took the tackler on and more often than not he broke through.
Was clearly an instruction pre-game.

I'm pretty sure the late Sunday game is a Fox exclusive timeselot

Always has been i have never understood people complaining about his commentary he always give us a fair go. I reckon his disappointment and frustation comes across from having higher expectations of us and wanting the battler in freo to succeed

Unlike most other commentators he would always make the trip over west and commentate before covid and know our players better then most other analysts

And how many Freo supporters haven’t been frustrated with their team from time to time?

Eddie McGuire just loves his own voice.

How unlucky have we been in our history that he has been commentating some of our most memorable wins.

Not including the weekend his voice appears in

JL goal after the siren in 2005
Dave mundy goal after the siren in 2017
Dave mundy last minute goal against richmond in 2015.

How unlucky have we been in our history that he has been commentating some of our most memorable wins.

Total Flog !! I turned the sound off the other night . When he called Parkers goal before he kicked it ( And missed) that was the final straw . Jeez he grates on me.

I'll never forget i think it was 2013 he was on 360. It was a week out from finals and eddie went on there and demanded freo's home semi final get moved to MCG because the rugby was on at subiaco during the 2nd week of the finals on the saturday night.

At the time freo were 3rd and collingwood were 6th so if results obivously went as expected freo would have had to play collingwood week 2 on the friday night and poor old collingwood who were given a sunday game in the final round would have been forced back to back 6 day breaks.

Karmas a bitch freo beat geelong in geelong and port adelaide knocked out collingwood on the same day.

He did those moments justice, whatever your thoughts on his character. Look at Hilly's goal down in Geelong and Basil's call to see how much worse it could have been.

Yep. For as annoying as he is, when it comes to calling big moments in games, he is one of the best.

Always has been i have never understood people complaining about his commentary he always give us a fair go. I reckon his disappointment and frustation comes across from having higher expectations of us and wanting the battler in freo to succeed

Unlike most other commentators he would always make the trip over west and commentate before covid and know our players better then most other analysts

I agree with your first paragraph. But I don't think he makes the choice to fly over to call our games, more that he does the late Sunday game for Foxtel and we seem to fill that slot quite frequently.

I think I heard Gerard regularly comes to WA to surf.

Agree. Not the biggest fan of Eddie but he shits all over Basil. I just can’t fathom what Channel 7 (and the numpties in the CoP) see in him. He’s a limp lettuce leaf.
Can't believe I'm saying this but I thought Eddie the Hutt's commentary on Sunday wasn't that bad.

Maybe not but i reckon he has called 75% of our home games in the past 10 years. For a senior commentator in Healy who has done it longer then most he must enjoy the frequent flyers at least. You would expect the new and youngers ones to get sent to Perth a bit more.

Before covid he would be in Perth on the sunday for our game and back in Melbourne for the couch on monday night.