The off topic thread 5.0

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Ardern shutting the travel bubble for 2 months. She has very little faith in state borders. Massive call with the winter ski season being wiped in half.

How is Bunnings and Officeworks still open to the public in NSW? Surprising.

Because people need to have access to essential services. I have a fuse that's blown in my unit, I need to be able to buy a new lightbulb and affect any repairs required. You can make the case for click and collect but if people need advice before making purchases or need to review products in person it's hard to argue that they should be closed entirely.

Click and collect surely during an outbreak is enough, especially especially HN. Bunnings makes more sense for home repairs

I wouldn't say click and collect is sufficient for Bunnings, but agree on the rest.

Why Bunnings makes sense to remain open is home repairs do need to get things right first time for something and some people will need to ask for help to do that.

But I don't think anything at Harvey Norman is essential or worthy enough of needing face to face asking for help and being in store.

If getting a take away coffee is essential surely bunnings is fine. Not that im complaining as its keeping me working.
Takeaway though. Everything should be open click & collect retail wise.

Some cases are coming from "fleeting contact" where standing around waiting could pass that on. But so far in Vic most the cases are coming from being in the same venue/shop for considerable amount of time together.

Here in UK spent 2 hours outside at a pub table with a relative who tested positive the next day. We distanced but seem OK according to flow tests /symptoms 6 days later (it was 4 days between his contact and four days for his home partner contracting it
He is vaccinated - mild symptoms for a short time - I am vaccinated and by 20yo daughter not vaccinated at the time.

I am spending time with daughter over here during her UK uni simmer break. Staying various Airbnb. What could get tricky is if we do contract covid all holiday rentals say you go home to isolate immediately - we have no home to speak of.

although apparently covid means you can get a refund

(I’m applying a strategy which will be official govt policy in august. Thy are already exempting ‘key workers’

Don't pretend you know how to change a fuse. Go buy them from Coles anyway. Bunnings shouldn't be open for anything but click and collect and tradies.

But I want to buy 34 new pot plants

I'm not pretending, I have NFI. I more meant other people in my situation who knew what they were doing might want to be able to go and get the things they need.

EDIT: Heh, reading back I did phrase it the wrong way. I definitely have no idea.

Pretty sure people could cope just fine with OW as click and collect.

Bunnings shouldn't be open to the public with the way things are at the moment.

Pretty sure you don't do any handiwork around your house, do you? ;)

I don't either, but come on mate.

If getting a take away coffee is essential surely bunnings is fine. Not that im complaining as its keeping me working.

Take away coffee is definitely essential. I cant operate without one in the morning.