The Official Matthew Pavlich Thread

Re: Craigy's Interview On Pavlich.

Craigy has almost written off trading anyone of quality. So Fremantle wont be getting what they wanted anyway. A couple of good draft picks may get the job done ?

Do you honestly think Pav will stitch a club that has helped him grow from a skinny kid that Adelaide didn't rate, to the best KPP in the comp and club captain. The guy will have far too much pride in his reputation to see that happen.
For all of those people who say Pav owes Freo nothing and vice versa, think again. Theres alot of mutual respect there.

By a couple of draft picks i assume you mean two x top 5 picks?

Yep. Something along those lines.

I wouldnt be too upset if my team did the same. I cant see that happening though, as it's well known that Adelaide would be Pav's club of choice.

Unless of course the Crows didnt come up with the goods, and didnt want him that badly, and Port managed to find a suitable deal. Thats the only way he'd end up at Alberton.

Do you honestly think Pav will stitch a club that has helped him grow from a skinny kid that Adelaide didn't rate, to the best KPP in the comp and club captain. The guy will have far too much pride in his reputation to see that happen.
For all of those people who say Pav owes Freo nothing and vice versa, think again. Theres alot of mutual respect there.

It happens......not very often with players such as Mathew Pavlich's stature, but it does happen.

Some kids get so homesick, family and home get in the way of nothing.

I'm not saying this is the case with Pav.......but it happens.

By a couple of draft picks i assume you mean two x top 5 picks?

dude you are starting to sound like a broken record, we get the point no need to repeat yourself over and over and over again

I think the point is that Pav has done 8 years good service at Freo and couldn't be slighted for his dedication to what was early on a basket case of a club. Its like the Kane Johnson deal and Stenglien Deal, they put in the hard yards while they were here and everyone respected that, all parties came to agreement and everyone was happy.

Pav would keep his pride intact if he left.

Definately ! even if he went to Adelaide :D

I'd be absolutely rapped to see him at Port, but if he makes the move to either Adelaide or us, good luck to him and whoever he plays for.

Let a champion finish his career in his home town, amongst family and friends.

If he decides to stick it out with the Dockers, much respect to him also......a tough decision to make.

dude you are starting to sound like a broken record, we get the point no need to repeat yourself over and over and over again

Doesnt matter anyway mate. If it happens at the end of the year anything we say means diddly squat.

I think both Craig and Williams are playing games in their own way.
Realistically the percentage odds of next year for Pavlich would be something along the lines of:
Freo 72%
AFC 16%
PAFC 8%
Decides to retire or goes elsewhere 4%

I think both Craig and Williams are playing games in their own way.
Realistically the percentage odds of next year for Pavlich would be something along the lines of:
Freo 72%
AFC 16%
PAFC 8%
Decides to retire or goes elsewhere 4%

My thoughts.

Fremantle 50 %
Adelaide 40 %
Port 10 %

Re: Pavlich - What would You Give Up For Him?

IMO

VB + top 10 pick + 1st rd pick

Little too much.

You'd get two first rounders and a mid-level player.

If you got VB, I'd expect it to be VB, first rounder and a third rounder.

You're talking about us trading a gun 10 year player for us, to get a gun player with about 3 years left, plus two more first rounders?

Too much.

VB is probably the most enticing player for Fremantle.

However he'll be going nowhere, I don't think we know just how highly regarded he is down at the footy club.

Little too much.

You'd get two first rounders and a mid-level player.

If you got VB, I'd expect it to be VB, first rounder and a third rounder.

You're talking about us trading a gun 10 year player for us, to get a gun player with about 3 years left, plus two more first rounders?

Too much.

1. Van Berlo is way overated.
2. Pav has at least 4-5 years left.
3. If we are to win a flag in the next 10 years, the next two maybe three years would be our best chance.

Not having a go, just my opinion.

Nathan van Berlo is a quality player, but most importantly a fantastic leader, a 10 year player and our future captain. He won't be on the trade table and rightly so.
[/quote]

Nathan van Berlo is a quality player, but most importantly a fantastic leader, a 10 year player and our future captain. He won't be on the trade table and rightly so.
[/QUOTE]

Fair enough. Captain:thumbsdown:

2. Pav has at least 4-5 years left.
3. If we are to win a flag in the next 10 years, the next two maybe three years would be our best chance.

Not having a go, just my opinion.

No worries mate, happy to hear another opinion as long it's justified :)

I cant actually see Pavlich moving to an SA club even if he does decide he wants to return to Adelaide.

If he does want to return to Adelaide the Crows will no doubt be his preferred club, but Freo will want quality and i just cant see the Crows releasing the types of players the Dockers will be after - combinations of Rutten/Van Berlo/Johncock/Reilly/Thompson/Douglas and early picks (not saying they'd want all those players but probably at least 2). I just cant see a deal happening given your coach's attitude to trading. I can see the Pavlich drama being the big story of the next trading period, but i reckon that no agreement will be made and he'll stay with the Dockers.

Van Berlo and a first round draft pick. Because Van Berlo will not win us games, Pavlich will. Who cares if the club regard him highly, Pavlich is way better then him, and if thats who freo want let them have him.

Two first round draft picks (one preferably in top 5 and certainly in top 10) and a good player.

We might be able to trade someone like Meesen and our 2nd round pick to St. Kilda for their first rounder.

Then send St. Kilda's 1st rounder, our 1st rounder and a good player to Freo. Who that player is, well thats debatable. It could be someone like van Berlo or Griffin or Stevens or Bock etc...

But I think that would be somewhere in the ball park and anyone else thinking of getting him for any lesser offer than that is kidding themselves.

EDIT: come to think of it, Freo might very well like someone like Mattner. His hard running and penetrating style would be suited well to subiaco.
I reckon you areound the mark Stiffy with your valuation of Pav.

The Official Matthew Pavlich Thread