Social Science The Overrated Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter r dub 19

Gone for up to 5 wherever possible.

ATHLETE: LeBron James (Cleveland Cavaliers, NBA), Alex Rodriguez (New York Yankees, MLB), Virender Sehwag (India/Dehli Daredevils, Cricket), Rafael Nadal (Tennis), Dale Earnhardt Jr (NASCAR), Williams Sisters (Tennis)

MOVIE: Batman Returns

MUSIC: P!nk, Gabriella Cilmi, P!nk, Rogue Traders, P!nk, Black Eyed Peas, P!nk, Nickelback and did I mention P!nk

SHOW: Border Security, Sunday Night, Sunrise, NRL Footy Show (Thursday Night, Sunday version's pretty good), Glee. For Radio Buffs...The Country Hour (especially during the Cricket)

EVENT: New Year's Eve Fireworks, Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival, Indian Premier League (and even Twenty20 Cricket in general), Lingerie/Tupperware parties, Commonwealth Games

LOCATION: Dinner Table, Roadhouses (Servo's on steroids selling overpriced dry greasy food), Sydney, Bed, USA

RESTAURANT: Unknown.......

FEMALES: No such thing really

MALE: John Howard (PM), Robbie Williams, The creators of Alpha Magazine's HOT or NOT list, David Gallop (NRL CEO),

UNDERRATED:
Bledisloe Cup (in Australia. Rugby Union's a good game once you understand the rules and intricacies which takes a while), Cricket on ABC Radio, Jumps Racing, MotoGP (plenty of passing, and great riders at the peak of their powers), Minnows in Cricket

Underrated: Delta Goodrem, The Wire, pearl jam, cale hooker, stephanie gilmore
Delta = Not sure if serious?
Pearl Jam = Really? Still selling out arenas all around the world, still selling records even when their output isn't what it used to be, and they're UNDERrated? I reckon they'd be one of the few bands who are right where they should be.

I agree very much with The Wire and Gilmore though.

Athlete: Nat (at this stage). Tim Cahill - not for his on field performance, just comes across as the most uninteresting bloke I've seen and possesses that monotonous drawl, yet is on my TV every night. Between Weetbix, Powerade and whoever else he does ads for..... it's just too much.
Movie: Borat - A guy talks in a funny voice and it's genius? Yeah nah; Avatar - Great visually, but I was bored shitless throughout big parts of it.
Music
: Pretty much anything on the charts.
Show: CSI, Law and Order and all their variants. Masterchef. Biggest Loser.
Event: Xmas/Birthday/Easter/any other times that mean seeing family. I don't talk to these people the rest of the year for a reason.
Female: Alba.
Male: Bono. Brand.
Underrated: The aforementioned; Most good musicians; Bogut - I reckon he got more publicity for falling over than he did the rest of the entire season, over the course of which he became one of the best 25 basketballers in the world.

Overrated= avatar

cards.jpg

+

atm.jpg

=

1748035_P.jpg

Ummmmm.................. without the special effects Avatar would be nothing. It has the most basic plot and you knew exactly what was going to happen from the start.

And WTF was up with the robot wielding a knife near the end. Just ****ing stupid, like what was the ****ing point.

Arrrrgggggggggghhh................... IT IS OVERRATED GET IT INTO YOUR HEAD!!!

It also had Michelle Rodriguez in it displaying her fine acting talents..... oh wait she can only play one role tough "hot" looking female :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ummmmm.................. without the special effects Avatar would be nothing. It has the most basic plot and you knew exactly what was going to happen from the start.

And WTF was up with the robot wielding a knife near the end. Just ****ing stupid, like what was the ****ing point.

It also had Michelle Rodriguez in it displaying her fine acting talents..... oh wait she can only play one role tough "hot" looking female :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Shit just got serious.

Athlete: Steven Bradbury
Movie: Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen
Music: Beyonce
Show: Family Guy
Event: Easter
Restaurant: Nandos
Experience: Watching grand final live at cinema
Female: Kim Kardashian (its not booty its fat - also located on her hips and thighs)
Male: Hugh Jackman - Done nothing outside Xmen
Underrated: Chuck, Man vs Wild, Survivor, Zombieland

Movie - Fight Club
Band - Coldplay
City - Sydney
Occasion - Christmas
Country - USA
Cuisine - Chinese
TV Show - Masterchef
Underrated - St. Petersburg

Athlete: Steven Bradbury
Movie: Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen
Music: Beyonce
Show: Family Guy
Event: Easter
Restaurant: Nandos
Experience: Watching grand final live at cinema
Female: Kim Kardashian (its not booty its fat - also located on her hips and thighs)
Male: Hugh Jackman - Done nothing outside Xmen
Underrated: Chuck, Man vs Wild, Survivor, Zombieland

Red cardable offence.

Who do you rate? Miranda stick Kerr?

Good post.:thumbsu:

The only reason its overrated is because your expectations of it was to high, if you were to sit down and watch it knowing nothing about it eg. high grossing movie, special effects) you would of enjoyed it thoroughly. And sure you can complain about every movie ever made there's always a scene you dislike. I could sit down and watch every movie ever made and sit there and say that's overrated because I didn't like a scene or a story line, its easy from your side of the court.

The only reason its overrated is because your expectations of it was to high.

The reason his expectations were so high because it got great reviews and was hyped so much.
But in the end it just wasn't THAT good.

Overrated is an opinion. And i agree with him/her.
Average film, with good special effects.

The only reason its overrated is because your expectations of it was to high, if you were to sit down and watch it knowing nothing about it eg. high grossing movie, special effects) you would of enjoyed it thoroughly. And sure you can complain about every movie ever made there's always a scene you dislike. I could sit down and watch every movie ever made and sit there and say that's overrated because I didn't like a scene or a story line, its easy from your side of the court.

Why are you going so hard to defend it? I loved the movie but some people don't, let it go already.

r dub 19's standards
twitter
australian movies rated by australian reviewers
Athlete: Le Bron
Event: Melbourne show
Underrated: big bang theory compared to two and a half men
Music: rock
Show: top gear
Female: jack watts
Male: dave hughes

Not sure if people are doing it right, they're kinda just listing things that they don't like in general. E.g. The Big Bang Theory, yeah I ****ing hate this show as well, but it's not overrated. I don't know anybody that likes it and I don't see it being advertised as the best.... you know what I mean??

Athlete: Chris Judd, the commentators jacking off over every little thing this guy does is ridiculous (they almost blew a load when he went up for a pack mark last week, it was nothing different to what every other player in the league does every week, yet they found it necessary to talk about how good he is overhead for the next 2 minutes and how he "almost" had the mark). Not saying he's not a good player, he's just not as good as he's made out to be. It's not his fault really.
Movie: Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon - the only movie I've ever walked out on. I'm pretty sure it got rave reviews/awards.
Music: This category's totally screwed up these days so I'm not even gonna bother.
Show: So You Think You Can Dance and shows like it. If I wanted to watch people do dance auditions I would go to the theatre itself. If I wanted to see people cry I'd kick them in the throat. A lot of people think it's the best watching ever.
Event: Birthdays. It means nothing.
Location: The beach. Even though I don't mind it and go every now and then, it's definitely overrated. I can only stay for a couple of hours at the most. Plenty of reasons to make you hate it and I don't blame anyone for not liking it.
Restaurant: Hog's Breath Cafe. Not only does the name put you off but it was one of the shittest meals I've had to this day.
Experience: "Going out" and clubs n shit. How people can routinely pay $30 to get inside a crowded room with repetitive beats so loud you can't talk to anyone - letalone save yourself from permanent ear damage - and stay there for hours on end is beyond me. I don't see the appeal at all unless you're a drug dealer.
Female: I'll go with the flow and say Jessica Alba too. Same as the Judd thing really, everyone hypes her up but she's not THAT good (keep in mind if she walked into the room you'd probably cream your pants though. I shake my head at these people being so critical of someone who would most likely be more attractive than anyone they've ever seen in person.)
Male: Dare I say it: Muhammed Ali. Not that he's isn't one of the greatest boxers of all time, but he's praised as a hero - and in some ways he might be - but he was also extremely loud-mouthed and disrespectful. People who have never actually seen him in action or know nothing about boxing get told he's the greatest of all time, and believe it without second guessing it at all. Joe Frazier had just as good a career, and was one of the few to beat Ali, but gets no recognition at all compared to Ali. Not trying to rag on him, but it's overrated if you get THAT much recognition compared to others of your era who were just as good.
Underrated: Emanuel Augustus, Dj Quik, Nate Dogg, Stanislav Medvedenko

Not sure if people are doing it right, they're kinda just listing things that they don't like in general. E.g. The Big Bang Theory, yeah I ****ing hate this show as well, but it's not overrated. I don't know anybody that likes it and I don't see it being advertised as the best.... you know what I mean??

Show: So You Think You Can Dance and shows like it. If I wanted to watch people do dance auditions I would go to the theatre itself. If I wanted to see people cry I'd kick them in the throat. A lot of people think it's the best watching ever.

Bit of a contradiction there.

not sure if you're quoting me or not but i Underrated it. top show.

"Underrated: big bang theory compared to two and a half men"
as in its closer to two and a half men as people think.

Athlete: Amon Sullivan (during the olympics)
Movie: Back Door ****s 9
Music: Justin Bieber
Show: Two and a half men
Event: Birthdays
Restaurant: Gordan Ramsey's new one in Melbourne
Experience: Theme parks
Female: Miley Cyrus?
Underrated: me

Anal for sure, it's good, but it's over hyped.

Just to qualify and get inb4 smartass comments, I do mean with women...

Opposite for me, I reckon anal is underrated.

Anyway,
Overrated:
- Muse/Radiohead/U2
- Seinfeld
- Family Guy (not only is it overrated, it's completely and utterly shit)
- The Outsider/Stranger by Camus
- Alcohol/Parties
- Angelina Jolie
- Dessert in general
- Soccer

I'll have to return later. There's too many.