Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Beerfish

I can get that it's probably not a great idea in Australia but there's certainly a time and place approach to enforcing it which is good.

Plenty of people head down to those markets on South Beach for example on weekends and take a six pack or a bottle of wine and because it's a nice afternoon and a pretty middle class crowd there aren't issues therefore the cops don't bother. I see heaps of people with a drink at the beach when the sun is setting. One day they're going to go down there and bust every backpacker, homeless, and family down there though I'm sure.

But Australians and street drinking free for alls sound dumb. Imagine Skyworks or Australia Day, you'd just end up with people sitting around destination areas having a king brown between pubs. It's not like Europe where the drinking age is 16 and there's a more respectable approach, or the UK where everyone heads out for 75p cans of Stella in parks... imagine open containers on the ****in Butler line heading to the city on a Saturday night?

Being from SA (and old) I was so use to being able to have a glass of wine at a picnic or a beach, walking to the shops with a beer and even drinking a beer whilst driving on a hot summers day.

I was pulled over by the cops at a breathalyser and they asked if I had anything to drink and how much. I simply held up the stubbie three quarters full and they had a heart attack. I don't know if the rules have changed now in SA but the drink driving laws were based on blood alcohol % and not the concept if "actual" have a drink whilst driving.

I've been asked to tip out our beers by cops walking from home into Northbridge but lucky enough not to be fined. However, how nuts is it that you can't enjoy a drink whilst walking with mates to the pub? Seriously, what is the worst that can happen other than tripping and cutting one's self? The reality is, this is an anticoon law. Yes I wrote a racist term but is is intended on highlighting the mentality of the state, behind the law, rather than expressing a dispersion on our indigenous friends.
I don't see as being racially based, just something they can pull out when they see fit. Have never been fined for it, but have been made to tip beers out when walking/drinking with mates or having a few in the park. It is good they can use their discretion, as you want people to be able to have a quet beer/wine when having a BBQ somewhere. Drinking a beer while driving is probably pushing the envelope!

I don't really see whats wrong with drinking a beer while driving, as long as you aren't over the limit

I don't like our street drinking laws but I think Australians are generally irresponsible and disrespectful when it comes to boozing so I can see why they exist

I don't really see whats wrong with drinking a beer while driving, as long as you aren't over the limit

I don't like our street drinking laws but I think Australians are generally irresponsible and disrespectful when it comes to boozing so I can see why they exist
I guess the problem is how many people only have one beer when driving? I occasionally do it when driving home to Perf, stop in at some country bottlo and grab a carton, have a cheeky one while driving...tut tut..

As a kiddie always thought drink driving meant driving while having a drink in your hand, even a Fanta or Pinto haha

I don't see as being racially based, just something they can pull out when they see fit. Have never been fined for it, but have been made to tip beers out when walking/drinking with mates or having a few in the park. It is good they can use their discretion, as you want people to be able to have a quet beer/wine when having a BBQ somewhere. Drinking a beer while driving is probably pushing the envelope!

the one that made me smile was Lisa Scaffidi wanting to close down a bottle shop on Wellington Square that was serving the indigenous people who were drinking in the park. They were a little messy but generally kept to themselves.

The bottle shop after much resistance caved in serving the indigenous folk to retain their licence. so the indigenous folk went around the corner to vintage cellars and drank in victoria gardens (a park in east perth) which was literally 10m from Lisa's living room.

Suddenly Lisa changed her mind about the Wellington Square bottle shops restrictions.

Perhaps this wasn't racially motivated but it was interesting the bottle shop was forced to stop serving blacks as opposed to stop selling to people in the park.

I've never personally known anyone get done for street drinking, I think if you aren't being a dick head you are generally alright, they just make you pour it out. If you were say walking your dog at the park drinking a stubby at 4pm on a Saturday arvo quietly minding you own business very few cops I think would even care.

I have near the WACA after a one day game. Brother got picked up by his missus and she had a full esky in the car. Couldn't say no. Cops made me pour it down the drain and knew I was in the bad. They're going to have a crack at people drinking in the park having a BBQ or anything unless those drinking are being dicks.

I had to pour my bottle of water out before going into Optus Stadium on Sunday, apparently only sealed bottles of water are allowed in.

I'm not sure why unsealed bottles of water are a problem, if they think it might be vodka or gin they could just take off the lid and smell it rather than forcing people to tip them out but I guess that would be too sensible.

I had to pour my bottle of water out before going into Optus Stadium on Sunday, apparently only sealed bottles of water are allowed in.

I'm not sure why unsealed bottles of water are a problem, if they think it might be vodka or gin they could just take off the lid and smell it rather than forcing people to tip it out but I guess that would be too sensible.
its the same here at metricon. I bought a 24 pack of bottle for $6 from supermarket which is my 2 bottles per home game supply I need for the season.
I keep it (the case of bottles) with my suns gear in cupboard so I don't forget and have to pay $6 for 1 bottle (rather than a seasons worth!)

I'm not sure why unsealed bottles of water are a problem, if they think it might be vodka or gin they could just take off the lid and smell it rather than forcing people to tip them out but I guess that would be too sensible.
I reckon it's because you are a kiwi who constantly complains about umpires. I wouldn't have let you in at all.:rainbow:

Probably because it's easier to make you tip it out than have to smell everyone's water which sounds just as bad to say as it does to do if it's your job. Not being able to take opened bottles of anything into stadium situations is nothing new.

Eh I live in a trendy/known/quiet part of Perth and regularly go down the beach/a local park to drink beers and nothing has ever happened. I've been fined for jaywalking though in Melbs and my attitude towards cops is cynical so I fully expect to one day get done on a Sunday night having literally one beer before a swim. I think if you're walking through Northbridge then that's idiotic and even walking from pub to pub on a strip isn't very smart which is why discretion is usually used, but it's just about common sense and being smart.

I dunno, having beers in Carlton Gardens and Princes Park have been some of the most fun times in my life. Me and my mates or girlfriend have knocked off a six pack each kicking the footy and having a laugh and after that you're generally cactus because it's 35 degrees and you're in the sun, so it sorts itself out. If anything dickheads are going to arise in normal venues and not parks... I've never seen anyone drink a can of Cougar in a park unless they were a bit down and out and even those sorts relax.

It is a bit of a joke though but that's our culture... quite often a group of aboriginals sit underneath a tree all day drinking, doing nothing but chatting to themselves and taking it easy, and they get moved on, yet a bunch of chubsters sitting on the back of a ute drinking Coronas, yelling out to chicks, and playing music and carrying on like a portable pub get a 'hey boys, maybe just be a bit quieter hey?' That's the thing that sucks about the laws in WA.

I’ve worked too long in the AOD field. Can’t wrap my head around the need to be having a drink while walking to a pub in Northbridge, or prior to going for a swim. Can’t you just wait until you’re at the pub/restaurant or home

One of my mates used to do the shopping with us after work and he'd walk around inside Woolies with a can of Jack Daniel's in a stubby holder.

Only in Kalgoorlie..
Not only in Kalgoorlie.

I see customers on a regular basis with an alcoholic beverage when they come into the shop.

I’ve worked too long in the AOD field. Can’t wrap my head around the need to be having a drink while walking to a pub in Northbridge, or prior to going for a swim. Can’t you just wait until you’re at the pub/restaurant or home
Eh if I start work at 6am and knock off at 3 on a Friday and feel like fanging a beer from the beach, which is a five minute walk away, seems like a good combo... like a more refreshing shower beer.

yes but on the other hand........why?

No doubt Australia does have an immature attitude to alcohol compared to much of Europe. but perhaps our immature regulatory approach that lead to issues like the 6 o'clock swill (blokes knocked off at 5 and the pubs closed at 6) was and continues to be the problem.

Perhaps we should look at our alcohol regulations and work out what regulations work and what regulations cause the problem. ie the small bar licence concept has worked in many ways and demonstrates deregulation could actually be a positive.

yes but on the other hand........why?

No doubt Australia does have an immature attitude to alcohol compared to much of Europe. but perhaps our immature regulatory approach that lead to issues like the 6 o'clock swill (blokes knocked off at 5 and the pubs closed at 6) was and continues to be the problem.

Perhaps we should look at our alcohol regulations and work out what regulations work and what regulations cause the problem. ie the small bar licence concept has worked in many ways and demonstrates deregulation could actually be a positive.

Been a while since those sort of regulations were in place. I know that liquor regulations are still pretty tough but I think that’s more the fault of our inability to “behave” responsibly around alcohol than anything else. I’m not a wowser, each to their own with their alcohol consumption but it’s the mindset anytime, anywhere that seems to exist that’s bemusing. I presume from your comments because I’ve never been, that alcohol consumption is allowed pretty much anywhere in Europe and that’s what’s led to a more “responsible” view towards it’s consumption.

I was also having wtf moments over the mid or full strength at the footy discussions - it headlined newspapers, like really!!!! Was it really that big a deal. Do they serve alcohol during the soccer and other sporting events across Europe?

Recent studies show that this generation of kids aren’t drinking as much so maybe this is the beginning of a new outlook in Australia around alcohol

Been a while since those sort of regulations were in place. I know that liquor regulations are still pretty tough but I think that’s more the fault of our inability to “behave” responsibly around alcohol than anything else. I’m not a wowser, each to their own with their alcohol consumption but it’s the mindset anytime, anywhere that seems to exist that’s bemusing. I presume from your comments because I’ve never been, that alcohol consumption is allowed pretty much anywhere in Europe and that’s what’s led to a more “responsible” view towards it’s consumption.

I was also having wtf moments over the mid or full strength at the footy discussions - it headlined newspapers, like really!!!! Was it really that big a deal. Do they serve alcohol during the soccer and other sporting events across Europe?

Recent studies show that this generation of kids aren’t drinking as much so maybe this is the beginning of a new outlook in Australia around alcohol

I hope your right Re a new outlook on alcohol.

I’m no wowser either but can’t help but look down at drunks. Being tipsy can feel nice but drunk is embarrassing for an adult, especially in public.

Different parts of Europe have different rules and the style of French wine allows for a different type of consumption. What is certain though, is the culture of alcohol is very different.

The culture itself is probably a product of the laws which build in the illicit nature of drinking. When it's actually 'allowed' people go overboard, kinda like all you can eat at Pizza Hut. Then there's the ones who push the boundaries, so the 'street drinking' is usually done by those with a skinful already.

Eh if I start work at 6am and knock off at 3 on a Friday and feel like fanging a beer from the beach, which is a five minute walk away, seems like a good combo... like a more refreshing shower beer.

But it’s ilkegal, so is it the rebellious side of you that goes **** it or something else.