Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Beerfish

Yeah, we used to have a share house that cost $200-something a week between 3 people. These days it's more like $150-200 for a room. My mate had a little 2 bed unit near uni that cost $150/wk then his missus moved in with him and they split it $75 each.
I used to go out drinking early 2000s maybe once a fortnight as a student then as an apprentice on $5 an hour but yeah it was just so much cheaper then and my flatmate on decent coin would usually even generously cover the taxi for me.

Even though I can afford it I just can't justify the cost of going to the pub much these days, it's a shame really.

To go out in Perth on a proper bender would cost hundreds. I'm not really interested in having more than 5 or 6 pints tops any more. Occasionally nights escalate but I've got zero interest in going out with the express purpose of drinking everything in sight until I pass out in a gutter.

I remember when all bars were cash only the sign of a big night was waking up with half a kilo of coins in your pocket. These days everything is PayPass so after a couple you just tap away, then shamefully read your bank statement the next morning.

To go out in Perth on a proper bender would cost hundreds. I'm not really interested in having more than 5 or 6 pints tops any more. Occasionally nights escalate but I've got zero interest in going out with the express purpose of drinking everything in sight until I pass out in a gutter.

I remember when all bars were cash only the sign of a big night was waking up with half a kilo of coins in your pocket. These days everything is PayPass so after a couple you just tap away, then shamefully read your bank statement the next morning.
If you are young and want a good night out better off drinking a few at home, a couple more when out and then take a couple of Es to finish off. Probably cost half as much, twice as much fun and don't get a massive headache in the morning.

I only go out when there's a sporting event I am attending these days. Mainly the soccer as I have not touched a drop of booze in the last four Freo home games.

I spent about 60 bucks for 6 beers at the Freo v St Kilda game this year which wasn't too unreasonable apart from the fact they were bloody mid strength.

Should've just snuck in a flask of bourbon like I used to do at Subi, I was worried the security at Optus would be tougher but it was easy as getting in.

Yeah I remember the days of shaking out your jeans after a big night out and finding about 50 bucks worth of gold coins in your pocket, it was like hitting the jackpot until you realised you'd still blown well over a hundred bucks when you checked your bank statement and saw the atm withdrawals.

It was always the nightclubs that were the killer, you could spend more going to them with cover charges and a few drinks for an hour or two than you would spend drinking in a pub for 5 or 6 hours and you would usually have a much worse time in them with all the blaring loud club music and dickheads there.

Not surprised, most people I've talked to haven't had great dealings with them.

Kambo’s started off with good intentions and were very good but he then just tried to grow too fast and his product became too expensive.

Know guys who work for kambo’s and none of them would of seen this coming and they’ve just bought new homes so it’s going to be tough on them

If you are young and want a good night out better off drinking a few at home, a couple more when out and then take a couple of Es to finish off. Probably cost half as much, twice as much fun and don't get a massive headache in the morning.
Yeah don't throw up and have a headache the next day, but you'll have about four days of depression and blankness. Can't really take pills three times a week either.

People who don't go out because it's cheaper in a carton are scrooges. It's shit. If you have a job and like a drink, then don't be a tight arse. Seriously it costs 10 bucks a pint but so what, what else are you going to do on a Friday after work?

These days my favourite combo is like 4-5 down the pub then going back to someone's with a carton sitting there. If you want to call it you can but if you want to head out, well do that too. First few pints down the pub are way funner than being really pissed, whereas it's funner being pissed at home then starting to settle in.

What else am I to do on a Friday after work? Seriously?

You're gonna turn out to be a major alcoholic at this rate SA, the type who stops at the bottle shop on the way home from work to grab one bottle to drink during the drive.

Yeah don't throw up and have a headache the next day, but you'll have about four days of depression and blankness. Can't really take pills three times a week either.
I hear you on the E and you are correct but I found when I got a bit older that booze actually does this far, far worse after a binge.

I've always had this to a degree: shame, regret, embarrassment, intense introspection and it isn't nice but it's a less intense than MDMA. Piss wears off as the hangover does whereas the lingering feeling from MD is pretty confusing not to mention the general... oddness you feel too, sort of a dissociation.

As I get older I realise alcohol just makes me absolutely knackered the next day, more than anything. I get less hangovers as my drinking isn't as intense but I wake up so tired. I might as well stay up all night because I'd feel the same.

I've always had this to a degree: shame, regret, embarrassment, intense introspection and it isn't nice but it's a less intense than MDMA. Piss wears off as the hangover does whereas the lingering feeling from MD is pretty confusing not to mention the general... oddness you feel too, sort of a dissociation.

As I get older I realise alcohol just makes me absolutely knackered the next day, more than anything. I get less hangovers as my drinking isn't as intense but I wake up so tired. I might as well stay up all night because I'd feel the same.

maybe don't do either of them then

What else am I to do on a Friday after work? Seriously?

You're gonna turn out to be a major alcoholic at this rate SA, the type who stops at the bottle shop on the way home from work to grab one bottle to drink during the drive.
Probably but every single person has a vice... I work with a woman who spends $200 a week on online shopping, plenty of people who come into work and scarf a pack and a half of Allens a day, there are people with weird sexual proclivities like the poo jogger, some people have a sexual thing that overrides normality, and there's smokers and over eaters and drug addicts and whatever else. Everyone is flawed and has something they go back to.

I was referring more to people who work 9-5 and want to relax and the idea of shirking some down the pub because of cost. That's just tight. Enjoy yourself and see it as no different to going to the footy or going to see a movie.

maybe don't do either of them then
I don't take any drugs anymore and haven't for years now because I'm far too neurotic and sensitive to all of them.

Piss is too fun and too intwined with my good times, so nah.

What, is life supposed to be flat and grey and beige?

I was referring more to people who work 9-5 and want to relax and the idea of shirking some down the pub because of cost. That's just tight. Enjoy yourself and see it as no different to going to the footy or going to see a movie.
There hits a tipping point though, 5 pints is like $60 where I am. It's too much over every weekend. As much as I miss it prefer to put cash elsewhere.

The biggest tightarses on BF are people crying about not being able to get footy all on FTA and I can't afford $10 a week for Foxtel.

I don't take any drugs anymore and haven't for years now because I'm far too neurotic and sensitive to all of them.

Piss is too fun and too intwined with my good times, so nah.

What, is life supposed to be flat and grey and beige?

Seems you may already have issues if you think that’s the case. Life can be interesting and colourful without drugs and excessive alcohol.

I don't drink anymore and I have as much of a good time when I go out with my mates as I did when I would have a couple of drinks. It is what you make of it.
Sure, but do your mates :p

If drinking or drugs made me sad or depressed, I don't think I would have done either more than a few times. I enjoy them because they are fun, but then I don't really have any underlying issues with sadness or depression. Any kind of come down is likely to exacerbate those issues if you have them.