Mega Thread The Questions Thread - Part II

Can you buy mint ice cream without chocolate (either chips or coated) ?
probably.

i need this

Bulla-Creamy-Classics-Mint-Choc-Chip-Ice-Cream-2L.jpg

A friend of ours has a farm and started his own butcher’s business. His food is soo much nicer than store bought and really well priced. Reckon his snags are only 11-12$ kg

Going to Tassie for a holiday in March.

Any things to do/see people have enjoyed?

Basing ourselves in Hobart but hired car so can check out whole island

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

You'll want to spend part of your trip on the road.

On your way out of Hobart, visit Richmond. The maze is ok if that's your kind of the thing. The bakery right next to the bridge is one of the best and oldest in Australia.

From Richmond you go to Port Arthur. Spend at least 24 hours there, and make sure you do the boat tour.

Then, head up to Coles Bay to the Freycinet National Park. It's a vey easy walk to the peak of the mountain, I first did it as a 6yo with very overweight parents. You'll also want to visit the beach at Wineglass Bay. So I'd spend a night here as well. (Make sure your car has a national parks pass!)

From Wineglass Bay, travel to Launceston through Campbeltown. Not cos there's necessarily anything to see on that route - there isn't, although there's a really good Banjo's Campbelltown - but because I wouldn't recommend any tourist head north to St Mary's Pass or Elephant Pass, it's too intimidating if its raining/foggy/misty.

In Launceston, spend an afternoon looking around the Cataract Gorge. Eat at the Gorge restaurant. You might also like to try and do a tour of Boags Brewery. Go visit the hepatitis monkeys in City Park.

Then back in Hobart you'll want to make sure you're there on the Saturday morning for Salamanca market - looking at my list, this is the only thing that's time critical. Salamanca is only worth doing on Saturday (keep an eye out for the bratwursts or the crepes). You'll want to head up Mt Wellington just for the views. Choose any one of the seafood restaurants around the dock - they all get their seafood straight off the boat. (The Drunken Admiral was the last one I went to, and it was amazing... but I've been vegan for 10 years!) And you'll obviously want to do MONA.

There's more stuff in the northwest & west (the wilderness railway is incredible), but I'd strongly prioritise doing Hobart properly (as properly as you can), Port Arthur and Mt Freycinet - I don't think you're going to have time to go any further northwest than Launceston.

Another good day trip you can do from Hobart is Hastings Caves if you're into that. I think the Tahune Airwalk is down that way too (I don't know if it still exists, it was created as an attempt to astroturf Forestry Tasmania's old growth logging campaign in the late 90s.) Cascade is in Hobart. You might like to spend some time at the Winery next to MONA.

If you have any specific interests, let us know. I grew up there, and I was lucky enough to see almost all of it, except the inaccessible south west and the Bass Strait islands.

Going to Tassie for a holiday in March.

Any things to do/see people have enjoyed?

Basing ourselves in Hobart but hired car so can check out whole island

How long you there for ?.

Cradle mountain 🌄.
East coast bay of fires .wine glass bay ,Coles bay ..the spiky bridge..
Richmond..old town and bridge .
Mount Wellington.
Port Arthur..
Eagle hawk neck area..
Mount feild and strathgordon bridge ...
Red noll lookout .

Richmond not that far north of Hobart .hour maybe .
Port Arthur about an hour south of Hobart ..

Thank you for travelling...

Thanks

My GF has a slight disability so unfortunately we can't really do the big hikes.

But will still try and pack in as much as we can

Coles bay near bay of fires is easy flat ..
Tassie pretty hilly and not that flat .
But maybe check YouTube on something to with disability in Tassie.

I heard mount Hartz is pretty flat ...unsure if that suits ..

Russell falls at mount Feild is flat and easy.
But that's almost 2 hours ..prob needing more
Red knoll something different this picture does not give the place justice.

I'm sure you'll find something great to do together.

Attachments

• red knott.jpg
    red knott.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 10

You'll want to spend part of your trip on the road.

On your way out of Hobart, visit Richmond. The maze is ok if that's your kind of the thing. The bakery right next to the bridge is one of the best and oldest in Australia.

From Richmond you go to Port Arthur. Spend at least 24 hours there, and make sure you do the boat tour.

Then, head up to Coles Bay to the Freycinet National Park. It's a vey easy walk to the peak of the mountain, I first did it as a 6yo with very overweight parents. You'll also want to visit the beach at Wineglass Bay. So I'd spend a night here as well. (Make sure your car has a national parks pass!)

From Wineglass Bay, travel to Launceston through Campbeltown. Not cos there's necessarily anything to see on that route - there isn't, although there's a really good Banjo's Campbelltown - but because I wouldn't recommend any tourist head north to St Mary's Pass or Elephant Pass, it's too intimidating if its raining/foggy/misty.

In Launceston, spend an afternoon looking around the Cataract Gorge. Eat at the Gorge restaurant. You might also like to try and do a tour of Boags Brewery. Go visit the hepatitis monkeys in City Park.

Then back in Hobart you'll want to make sure you're there on the Saturday morning for Salamanca market - looking at my list, this is the only thing that's time critical. Salamanca is only worth doing on Saturday (keep an eye out for the bratwursts or the crepes). You'll want to head up Mt Wellington just for the views. Choose any one of the seafood restaurants around the dock - they all get their seafood straight off the boat. (The Drunken Admiral was the last one I went to, and it was amazing... but I've been vegan for 10 years!) And you'll obviously want to do MONA.

There's more stuff in the northwest & west (the wilderness railway is incredible), but I'd strongly prioritise doing Hobart properly (as properly as you can), Port Arthur and Mt Freycinet - I don't think you're going to have time to go any further northwest than Launceston.

Another good day trip you can do from Hobart is Hastings Caves if you're into that. I think the Tahune Airwalk is down that way too (I don't know if it still exists, it was created as an attempt to astroturf Forestry Tasmania's old growth logging campaign in the late 90s.) Cascade is in Hobart. You might like to spend some time at the Winery next to MONA.

If you have any specific interests, let us know. I grew up there, and I was lucky enough to see almost all of it, except the inaccessible south west and the Bass Strait islands.

How often do get back home
Do you miss the nature etc ?

They cheap AF imo .
Yep their business is booming as they’ve cut out the middle man. Just got marinated steaks $15kg . Bought a side of hogget the other month and it was great value. If you were in SA I’d give you the details.

I'm not live there .

But good on them .👍

Sometimes those type of business charge the earth ....it's local ,,,bah bah we want a week pay in one day .

Question for anyone with glass pool fencing. I know you can get coatings that allegedly resist staining/streaking. Sounds like a gullibility test to me. Anyone have any experiences with it?

No,sorry .

We were going to get a pool fence around the outside/spa area .
Going to get a wood fence made ...