Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Doctor Feel

558670_357560851014913_1087224343_n.png

Just had my first double quarter pounder in years and years and now I remember why I haven't had one for years and years. :(

Im watching a foxfooty flashback game at the moment between Bombers and Cats from 1993 and Kenny Hinkley is getting a hiding from Hird.

I assume that was the Ablett 14 vs Salmon 10 goal game?? I doubt a defender for either side beat his man that day.

Just had my first double quarter pounder in years and years and now I remember why I haven't had one for years and years. :(
Can hear your arteries hardening from here!

Just watching the end of Cronulla v West in the NRL and there must be all of 12 people there. Is there ever any talk of attendances at NRL games or is it just accepted Sydneysiders don't go to actual matches?

Different culture. If you are a Wests fan in Campbelltown it's a 30km+ drive and probably 90 minutes on a couple of trains. People are used to watching games at the footy teams licensed/leagues club, pubs and RSL clubs. There would have been Cronulla fans less a couple of kms away who would have watched the game live on TV inside a pub or licensed club. Sharkies - the clubs licensed club was probably full - half watching thru the glass screen and half on TV.

Also the fact you don't have one or two centralised venues with great public transport like in Melbourne makes a difference. Penrith - Manly - Cronulla are all a good 50kms drive between all 3 venues and that would be fighting Sydney traffic.

Just saw that the game was a Wests home game at the Sydney Football Stadium in Moore park. Well those people I said were in Sharkies watching the game live thru the glass, I have to change to live on TV.

The old Balmain supporters ie part of the Wests fan base would have ventured to the SFS, but the Campbelltown base would have stayed home. The turn off from the Hume highway to Campbelltown says Sydney - 52 Kms.

Mate you want to hear the excuses. One legitimate excuse they have is that with Rugby and Rugby League you don't miss any of the action watching at home or at the pub on tv. Aussie rules is a game best watched live and it shows in our crowds. The Tigers are terrible at the moment and every RL team has a higher proportion of bandwagoners than any AFL side except probably the Broncos.

Just saw that the game was a Wests home game at the Sydney Football Stadium in Moore park. Well those people I said were in Sharkies watching the game live thru the glass, I have to change to live on TV.

The old Balmain supporters ie part of the Wests fan base would have ventured to the SFS, but the Campbelltown base would have stayed home. The turn off from the Hume highway to Campbelltown says Sydney - 52 Kms.

It felt like they were all at my local sooking... Got offered a ticket in a box by an old RL legend at the pub yesterday arvo and I said no because I thought watching Geelong play Essendon would have been better.

I was right.

So let me get this right. It's Mother's Day on Sunday and Port are playing a home game on Saturday. Has someone been sacked at AFL House for the oversight?

Ah the good old half pounder that really feels like 2 stone.

South Sydney v North Queensland Cowboys @ ANZ Stadium (Homebush) 15972

Cronulla Sharks v Wests Tigers @ Allianz (next to SCG) 9858.

The AFL must be terrified.

(Yes it is hard to get in and out of the city RussellEbertHandball but Geelong supporters managed it last night.)

Music bores the crap out of me on the whole. I like a nice sing along or a funky beat but most of it is absolute pants, particularly by fingey bands, white noise to me. Unfortunately that means I listen to 5AA in the car more than a sane person should.

Dustholian at home enjoying his silence:

slotho.gif
Amazing use of gif here, I lolled, I lolled hard.

Arjuna Ranatunga's favourite song is Kokomo, by the Beach Boys.