Preview The ultimate test: Round 5 Adelaide @ Hawthorn - MCG

Apart from the lack of research on Milera being unavailable this week and Cameron likely coming in.
Did anyone here Ruccis pronunciation in the above presser?

I am sure he said it Mil-error

You get annoyed when people consider a longer history than the (short) start to this season?

Do you also get annoyed when people try to suggest that there will be a summer next year because it's not hot today?

Look no offense but thats the stupidest analogy. That would only apply if the Hawks were permanently the best team in the competition. How about thinking a little harder and try and come up with an actual analogy that applies.

David King having to completely eat humble pie on AFL360 and he is doing so.
His pain in doing so was palpable. Even then he had to say yeah but "roos opened them up through the centre bla bla bla" as if Crows were slaughtered by them.
I can't wait to get them here in round 14.

And Pyke has the best answer for Rucci about games overseas. Also feenix67 Pyke agrees with you.

"Nah, I haven't given it any significant thought Michelangelo...." (looks for next question). Classic!

Loved his comments about working with Cheney (and all players) about their options and accuracy of disposal. This is the major difference that I see in us from last year - we don't always take the first option (handballing to a player under pressure, or worse, at their feet) and disposal efficiency - our kicks are actually hitting their targets. I'm really quite impressed with Don. I also think his approach looks very similar to Walshy's (no nonsense, team first, elite standards) with the added bonus of ability to switch it up on match day.

Hawthorn and unsociable football. I don't care if Hawks supporters don't like the term. Its true. Its also true its helped them win. I hope we have a few players prepared to do something. Not just jumper wrestle and say naughty things. have a crack and hurt them if they want to play that way. make a stand and say we wont accept that.

grr
Matty Crouch is our new unsociable lad. He needs to watch it though and not cross the line (seems to be easily lead down that path, and Hawks will do all they can to drag him there).

Is there any idea of attendance for Friday?

Hey mate,

If the weather is kind ( a bit iffy atm ), I would say there will be 45-50k. The Eagles game round 2 in a shocking time slot (3:20 sunday ) had 45k so you would be confident that we will beat that on a Friday night given the weather is ok. Our average home attendance since 2008 hovers around 41-42k ( take tassie out and its a fair whack higher ), I'd expect no less than 45 but no more than 50k.

Come the finals, I totally agree with you. I know that it only takes small variables to drastically alter games, but all things being equal. We are in a totally different place to Hawthorn ATM. Its very rich culturally when you get jobs like this done. This is a job that should get done. We have a hard draw and here is an opportunity to alleviate that. Their reputation should mean nothing to the club and its supporters.
This is a great opportunity for Adelaide to benchmark themselves against the best team in the competition. And make no bones about it, Hawthorn are still the best team in the competition.

Playing them now, early in the season, maximises our chances of beating them for the first time in years. Hawthorn have a history of starting the season slowly, before building towards the finals. They're still in slow-burn mode, as we saw last week against St Kilda. That's good for us.

That said, this is a big game - even for them. It's Friday night, against a team who are currently 1 position ahead of them on the ladder, and who are fast developing into a genuine finals contender. Hawthorn should be highly motivated for this game, and when that happens they're very, very dangerous.

You'd think it should be a bigger crowd then that? I'll guess another 10k on top of that. Should reach 50k, Friday night footy, big blockbuster sides in Hawks and Crows and believe it or not but the Crows have a big following in VIC. Was basically level (in terms of supporters at the ground) with North and Rich the previous weeks at Etihad

I don't think it'll break 50k, weather permitted it'll push that mark. Hawthorn has a lot of "white collar" corporate supporters who will stay in town after work and go to the game so our Friday nights are always good in regards to crowd figures so it may surprise and push past 50k, although I wouldnt be overly confident.

Hey mate,

If the weather is kind ( a bit iffy atm ), I would say there will be 45-50k. The Eagles game round 2 in a shocking time slot (3:20 sunday ) had 45k so you would be confident that we will beat that on a Friday night given the weather is ok. Our average home attendance since 2008 hovers around 41-42k ( take tassie out and its a fair whack higher ), I'd expect no less than 45 but no more than 50k.
Thanks, was being talked up over here of a bigger crowd, media hype I guess. Hope it's a good game.

Weather dictates so much of peoples thought processes if their 50/50, if the rain stays away then it could surprise. Whenever we play Sydney at the G it surpasses 50k, I think a few games where 60k+ but that has a lot to do with the fact we HATE the manufactured tossas and they have the South support.

Look no offense but thats the stupidest analogy. That would only apply if the Hawks were permanently the best team in the competition. How about thinking a little harder and try and come up with an actual analogy that applies.
It's not permanent, but Hawthorn have been the best team in the competition - by a wide margin - for the last 3 years. There are no indications that things will be any different in 2016. They started 2015 with a 2-2 record, 4-4 after 8 rounds. We all know what happened at the end of the season.

I suspect they were lacking a bit of motivation against St Kilda, a team who nobody expects to make the finals. They did enough to get over the line, albeit with significant help from the umpires. Don't read too much into that.

Of far more significance is their performance against the Weagles, where they smashed them like a bug on a windscreen. The Weagles are one of the best teams in the competition and a genuine contender for the title of 2nd best team in the AFL. Hawthorn were properly motivated for that game, and the result was inevitable. This is significant for 2 reasons. Firstly, it shows what Hawthorn are capable of when motivated (and they will be motivated against us). Secondly, the Weagles play a very similar game style to Adelaide, so it demonstrated Hawthorn's ability to take this game plan to pieces (something Sydney were unable to do).

Expecting Hawthorn to fall, based on the first 4 games of the season... that's one of the dumbest things I've heard of in a long time.

It's not permanent, but Hawthorn have been the best team in the competition - by a wide margin - for the last 3 years. There are no indications that things will be any different in 2016. They started 2015 with a 2-2 record, 4-4 after 8 rounds. We all know what happened at the end of the season.

Expecting Hawthorn to fall, based on the first 4 games of the season... that's one of the dumbest things I've heard of in a long time.

Vader, you used to post good analysis, what happened?

The odds of a team coming back year after year and winning the premiership is almost impossible. After 3 premierships they no longer have the overall talent on their list. They are relying on rookies to get their goal kicking done and their defence is lacking. If they can come back and play premiership winning football from here all credit to them. Signs suggest otherwise. Using win loss record is null and void as its no certainty. Lets see where they sit in 10 rounds time.

Vader, you used to post good analysis, what happened?

The odds of a team coming back year after year and winning the premiership is almost impossible. After 3 premierships they no longer have the overall talent on their list. They are relying on rookies to get their goal kicking done and their defence is lacking. If they can come back and play premiership winning football from here all credit to them. Signs suggest otherwise. Using win loss record is null and void as its no certainty. Lets see where they sit in 10 rounds time.
I really don't understand that analysis.

After losing R1 (big deal), they've won 3 on the trot. They smashed last years GF side, they beat WB at their Ethiad fortress, then did what was required last week.

Sides, no matter how good, don't go out and win by 20 goals every week. There is nothing in the last 3 weeks that suggests Hawks have fallen away.

I don't rate footscray, st kilda or Geelong. West coast traditionally have shockers in Melbourne from time to time.

Conversely, we had a narrow loss away to the only unbeaten team.

On their 4 games and on our 4 games. We should feel confident.

I really don't understand that analysis.

After losing R1 (big deal), they've won 3 on the trot. They smashed last years GF side, they beat WB at their Ethiad fortress, then did what was required last week.

Sides, no matter how good, don't go out and win by 20 goals every week. There is nothing in the last 3 weeks that suggests Hawks have fallen away.

OK you and Vader win, Hawthorn premiership favourites every year because they have the best recent history. This years form, statistics and overall player quality matters not.