Things bogans like

soupofficial

In a shameless nod to 'Stuff white people like', some colleagues and I have started writing a blog with more meaning to the average Australian, and those who dislike them.

http://thingsboganslike.wordpress.com/

Please do visit and pass the link on, because I actually think the site will become good enough to gain a bit of a following.

Merci

Also, a facebook fan group thing, that will tell you when there are updates, and what topics they're on.
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Things-Bogans-Like/155576651308?ref=mf

I like it. I'm an old-school bogan (yes-the flannellette shirt wearing, ute driving, AC/DC listening bogan). THese new bogans are shit!

Most of the people referred to as "Bogans" by posters on this board are not even close to being "Bogan"
But when posters feel all superior over someone else and want to put them down.It is very easy to brand them as "Bogan",even easier when "Bogan" is a freehit here.

that like a double negative bit?

Are aspirational bogans those who want Harvery Norman plasmas and Harvey Norman stock?

Or are aspirational bogans like Russel Crowe, who tries too hard to wear Rugby tops, flannelette shirts, and attempts to make out as if he is a regular Joe? The aspirational downwards?

edit: typos

that like a double negative bit?

Are aspirational bogans those who want Harvery Norman plasmas and Harvey Norman stock?

Or are aspirational bogans like Russel Crowe, who tries to hard to where Rugby tops, flannelette shirts, and attempts to make out as if he is a regular Joe? The aspirational downwards?

Traditional bogans are excellent. Blue singlet, mullet, ute and a pack of winne blues. Easy.

New bogans blow. Will sit on the back of the bus with a pair of dada trackpants, a shaved head with a fringe whilst blaring 'Criminal' by Eminem out of his stolen Sony Ericcsson.

The female version will wear a fox racing jersey that comes down to her knees, hair will be dyed reddish orange, and will steal stuff from target.

Anyone ever been on public transport and heard something like this?

"im gonna bash that fu*kin c*nt...c*cksucka owes me a f*ckin deal...weak f*ckin scammin dog"

"f*ckin oaf jason, dont f*ckin swear theres old people on ere"

Ok, I've been drinking for the last 5 hours on the clock, but allow me to try to clarify the definition of bogan for the purposes of the blog.
It's not the old school, Eric Bana's "Poida", with his intention to entrench himself indefinitely in the music, fashion, cars, and values of his youth. The new bogan in the blog WANTS to be up to date, wants to be cool, wants to be in some way connected with the world around them. However, they're just.... well.... clumsy and late. The increasing integration of the world means that they just can't isolate themselves like they used to, and they now believe that they don't want to, either.

To get academic for a moment, here's the "adoption curve", a principle from marketing.
adoption-curve-468px.jpg

The bogan generally fits into the "late majority". He's not cluey or connected enough to get on things early, but he jumps on something in a major way a bit further down the track. It's the reason why we've included Boost Juice on the site. With no offense to HFC director Janine Ellis, she's now the queen of the bogan late majority.

I like a man who spends his tuesday afternoon's getting shitfaced :thumbsu:

(Sure you're not a bogan yourself though? A self loathing bogan perhaps?)

Anyone ever been on public transport and heard something like this?

"im gonna bash that fu*kin c*nt...c*cksucka owes me a f*ckin deal...weak f*ckin scammin dog"

"f*ckin oaf jason, dont f*ckin swear theres old people on ere"

Yep. It's incredible how often you walk past a feral and they say something along the lines of

"I'm gonna smash that ****en feral c*nt".

You know you're a ****en feral **** when you refer to others as ****en feral *****.

Bogans are a very unique demographic.

Unfortunately, two far uglier newcomers tend to get parcelled up with the mighty bogan.

That is, the "flouro", which is distinguished by hair gel, flourescent T shirts of the Travesty type, bad tattoos and a complete inability to handle alcohol.

The other group is the ethnic group that I term the "fully sik crew", distinguished by powerful cars, ridiculous jewellery, massive egos and those silly cream colored fake snake skin pointed shoes.

A full blooded bogan wouldn't piss on these people.

Bogans are a very unique demographic.

Unfortunately, two far uglier newcomers tend to get parcelled up with the mighty bogan.

That is, the "flouro", which is distinguished by hair gel, flourescent T shirts of the Travesty type, bad tattoos and a complete inability to handle alcohol.

The other group is the ethnic crew that I term the "fully sik crew", distinguished by powerful cars, ridiculous jewellery, massive egos and those silly cream colored fake snake skin pointed shoes

Quoted for truth. Don't lump us bogans in with the rest of those w***ers.

Excellent blog!

Another thing bogans like: A Current Affair. They somehow feel superior to the bogans that appear on it.

Interesting Topic.

Goddamn, I hate the 'new age' bogan. Most of them are complete and utter tools. The stereotypical female bogan with 3 kids at 21, urrgh... Stereotypical 'tradie' bogan urrgh...

The traditional bogan (I will call them the ocker), while far away from my personality element, are generally decent people.

just my two cents.

Good blog, enjoyed reading that.

Like you Mario I think the bogan (both types mentioned in the blog) has been unfairly placed in the same category as the run of the mill muzza and white trash, when we are talking about entirely different beasts.

The classical or bonafide bogan comes without pretention or shame, and doesn't feel the need to seek status through the lifestyle they lead. The aspirational bogan is affected by these feelings.

For those unfamiliar with muzzas, here are a couple of videos that can shed some light on one of Melbourne's largest social issues.

Turn sound down - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MvmSCGHWfus

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEGRb5d9e1c&feature=related