Things that please me - Part 6

I've always wanted to stand in front of a pro bowler or pitcher to see if I could do it. In my head I reckon I can, but I believe that's because I've never even seen it live, let alone be on the receiving end.

I faced a guy in the nets who had played grade cricket in NSW and got Brad Haddin out. But he wasn't playing at that level at the time and wasn't off a full run up. Would've been low 100s I'm guessing maybe 120 tops and was still noticeably quicker onto the bat than any of the rest of us could bowl at full pace.

I find it funny when they call anyone who doesn't bowl over 140 km/h 'medium' on TV. So often when a footballer or some TV personality tries to face a quick bowler the only time they get bat on it is when they accidentally hit it on the backswing. When you watch sports like cricket and tennis close up you see just how fast everything moves at the elite level. I reckon if I played a set of tennis against a big serving pro it would be 6-0 and their 4 points on serve would be all aces. The gap going up level to level is huge.

Treat yourself to a pedi, it's so nice
my strange addiction tlc GIF by absurdnoise

I faced a guy in the nets who had played grade cricket in NSW and got Brad Haddin out. But he wasn't playing at that level at the time and wasn't off a full run up. Would've been low 100s I'm guessing maybe 120 tops and was still noticeably quicker onto the bat than any of the rest of us could bowl at full pace.

I find it funny when they call anyone who doesn't bowl over 140 km/h 'medium' on TV. So often when a footballer or some TV personality tries to face a quick bowler the only time they get bat on it is when they accidentally hit it on the backswing. When you watch sports like cricket and tennis close up you see just how fast everything moves at the elite level. I reckon if I played a set of tennis against a big serving pro it would be 6-0 and their 4 points on serve would be all aces. The gap going up level to level is huge.

I had a friend from school that played a bit of FC cricket and their opinion was that it was much harder to face a guy like Stuart Clark than it was Brett Lee. Granted if you get to FC cricket you have better hand eye coordination than an average joe to handle the extra pace.

There were guys playing first grade cricket in Sydney in the early 2000s who could get to 140km. I worked with a guy who played a fair bit in NSW and he even did a small stint in the UK. He maintained that Sydney first grade and county cricket were on roughly on par. I was surprised.

Certainly not me, I was a hack as a junior.

I had a friend from school that played a bit of FC cricket and their opinion was that it was much harder to face a guy like Stuart Clark than it was Brett Lee. Granted if you get to FC cricket you have better hand eye coordination than an average joe to handle the extra pace.

One time we had an afternoon of friendly cricket with the guys in the office. When I came in to bat there was a Sri Lankan guy bowling who had played at a good standard. First couple of balls he dollied it up and I tonked it for four. Third ball he had had enough. He took a decent run up so I braced myself. The ball wasn't super fast but it started on middle before swinging to take out my off stump.

Can believe that. Lee, Johnson, Tait all went for limited overs economy rates playing tests when their radars were off. Even in the mighty 2013/14 Ashes Johnson started 6 overs 0/32 and we were all thinking oh feck not this again while Harris was 7 overs 1/12 and Siddle was 3 overs 0/6. Then he got Trott down the leg side and ended up with 4/61 and 5/42 in the second dig for his first of three MOTM performances. By the second test even the top order didn't want to face him let alone poor old Monty at number 11.

Really crafty bowlers will figure out your stance, footwork etc. and put the ball where they want it. At lower grades if you can bowl fast you are just going to aim for the stumps, aim for just outside off and hope for a nick or try and bounce them out.

One thing I noticed having a kick with footballers (Aussie rules and soccer) much more talented than I ever was is how much power they have kicking the ball. I don't think I could ever kick a footy 50m (Maybe on a good day. At York Park..) but 30 or 40 was no problem. Kicking to a mate who played WAFL colts I would kick it 40 and it would land in his lap (or 5m away), he would kick it back and each time would sting the palms. Similarly I could score a penalty or have a crack at a free kick from 20m but guys with real talent will just take one step and kick from 20-30m and put a hole in the net. Where the hell does the power come from?

One time we had an afternoon of friendly cricket with the guys in the office. When I came in to bat there was a Sri Lankan guy bowling who had played at a good standard. First couple of balls he dollied it up and I tonked it for four. Third ball he had had enough. He took a decent run up so I braced myself. The ball wasn't super fast but it started on middle before swinging to take out my off stump.
Some of ex cat players coaches play lower level.
I got Wojo out then I run into him down Torquay one-day he came up to me and said still taking wickets mate .
Really nice bloke .

Some of ex cat players coaches play lower level.
I got Wojo out then I run into him down Torquay one-day he came up to me and said still taking wickets mate .
Really nice bloke .
Simon Tregenza played for SHOC here for years, he was a good player too.

I played country town softball as a catcher. Pitcher was number one state rep

My mask caught that ball quite a few times and I’ve had some amazing bruises when the pitch has gone astray

I can comfortably say, that I didn’t enjoy a single moment when they were pitching

Simon Tregenza played for SHOC here for years, he was a good player too.
The old mayor and former big brother Darren Lyon played for city.
Got he was a flog and very passionate about his cricket.
I got hit in the leg stopping a drive stopped four but almost a broken leg.
Stopped play I was bowling vs opp skipper he goes lets have drinks..Lyon goes stuff him.
Oppo skip goes are ok mate, yep ready to go thanks.
Then first ball back middle peg out of the ground 😂.Op skip goes well played.
Lyon was kicking the dirt 😂.

Good times.

I played country town softball as a catcher. Pitcher was number one state rep

My mask caught that ball quite a few times and I’ve had some amazing bruises when the pitch has gone astray

I can comfortably say, that I didn’t enjoy a single moment when they were pitching
I copped a few in the face as goalie in indoor soccer stopped goals but copped a few nasty ones.

I got upgraded from 100/25 to 500/50 also. ISP sent me an email saying everything will work but my mode is not capable of achieving the full speeds of the upgrade. Clicked on the button saying 'send me a modem' and the response is 'thanks, we will send it you ASAP'.

That's it. No change to plan, to requirement to Zach Merrett myself into a long term contract I don't want, no 20 questions and needing to remember which password the account has. Maybe TPG can run MyGov.

I’ve got a surgery coming up in the next couple of weeks and after a bullshit busy 6 months of work, I am very excited for that sweet sweet general anaesthesia sleep. Best sleep ever, nothing beats it.
Had surgery yesterday.

Was talking to the surgical team about my allergy to chicken.

Blinked.

Woke up in post-op, fresh as a daisy.
Spewing though, as I had a late operation and just missed the dinner cut off, the menu was like a 5 star hotel, so made sure to get my moneys worth at breakfast!

Things that please me - Part 6