Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

- Eat with my hands instead of fork and knife
- Play cricket with anything I can find eg sandle, stick
- Load up my chips with soo much Chicken salt, the chips are floating in chicken salt.
- Panty sniffing

I don't do this, but if I start playing Tetris too much I'll have Tetris patterns running through my head when I try to sleep that night.

Yes sir. All through terms one and two in year 11, went to bed and immediately started playing Tetris. And I wouldn't always get the shapes I wanted either.

Ha you guys should check out http://www.reddit.com/r/DoesAnybodyElse if you want to reaffirm the fact that most of our quirky behaviours are employed by many others.

I'll add one here: when you're just about to doze off but you suddenly sort of shake, or jerk. It's called a hypnic jerk and it's a very common phenomena.

I eat the spinkle side last

donut.jpg

I'll get the ball rolling

- Have a set of scales in the bathroom, so sometimes I weigh myself before and after a shit, just for that extra sense of accomplishment.
- Must have the TV volume on an even number.
- Sleep with a pillow between my legs.
- When I was younger (still do it every now and then), used to position my arms/hands in the shower so it looked like water was running out of each of my fingertips.*

* Weirdest one.

My volume needs to be on a number I like and it must go up to that number.

Usually its goes 17,23,26,27,31,32,36,37,41,45

When I watch an old TV show or movie set in New York City, I still find myself looking for the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center.

A couple of friends I spoke to about this said they also did the same thing, but this was years ago when the September 11 disaster was still relatively recent, so I am not sure if people still do this, or if I am largely on my own nearly a decade after the event.

Did the raindrop thing as a kid, did the shower one at times, and regularly do the rectangles with the mouse

Every time I see my alarm clock hit 11.34 I say the word hell because that's what it reads flipped upside down
Every time I throw something in the recycling bin I recite paper in the front bottles in the back, initially I started that because it helped me remember which compartment paper/bottle went in, but instead of memorising it I always repeat the phrase in my head
When I was younger, I used to dribble a ball along the hallway pretending to be a NBA player and dunk it on top of the door frame, I used to play games in my head
Now when I shoot hoops in my backyard I give myself a set amount of shots, ie 20 field goals & 10 free frows and set a benchmark score, then provide commentary in my head as I pile on a 40 point game to win game 1 of the playoffs, if I don't reach the benchmark we lose the game and so on and so forth
If I'm eating a meal, I tend to eat things in combination eg I'll take a bite of the burger then put some chips in my mouth. I bight a piece of pork, I put some rice in my mouth. Also, with sandwiches/burgers, I always like the content to be equal, so if there's a part with alot of meat, I'll bite a bit of the bread/bun so that the meat/bread ratio is consistent

[/LIST]
Once I was walking down the street with a pizza, and some guy from a car yelled at me: "Nice pizza, jackass!"
Massive WTF moment

Sorry to quote something epic old, but ****ing hell I nearly passed out laughing. That's the most random thing I've ever heard.

[/list]
Once I was walking down the street with a pizza, and some guy from a car yelled at me: "Nice pizza, jackass!"
Massive WTF moment
****ing lol. I remember laughing at this when I first read it months ago and it still cracks me up.

At school when I was bored I would try make up footy teams of players from a certain category. For example, players with a last name starting with 'W' or players who have a first name as a surname, etc.

I do so many of the things in this thread. Reading the first 5 pages, I probably did 90% of the things people said.

Also, I have a thing for powers of 2. If I'm eating chips or chocolates, etc, I have to have 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc. It's also often the same for kissing my gf, knocking on a door, clicking a pen, etc.

When drinking from a bubbler, I usually have to sing a verse from a song (whichever comes to mind, usually I have a song stuck in my head already so I use that) while I drink. Have to finish the verse before I can leave, or draw breath.

I sometimes imagine delivering a eulogy for myself or others. What I'd say, etc.

I can't stand being in a room with the door open.

I can't stand people using my computer. I have nothing to hide (pr0n is on an external HD), it's totally irrational, but if somebody uses my computer, I have to be there, in the room, watching them, and I'm constantly edgy. No idea what it is.

The same touchiness with my computer also applies to my bedroom. I can barely even leave my GF in there alone, and if I do it's not for any period of time. I'm fine if I'm there with them, I'm fine falling asleep while people are there, and again, I have nothing to hide. Just a weird personal space thing I guess.

I hate having the car windows rolled down.

I have a noticeable nose twitch.

I compulsively lick my fingers after eating anything that leaves residue on my hands. This is because I cannot stand having sticky/greasy hands. It distresses me in a way that is indescribable. I also have to wash my hands immediately. I don't mind having dirty hands, it's not a germ thing, it's just the feeling of stickiness or greasiness on my hands is unbearable.

When reading, I lightly but firmly grip the front of the base of my neck with the hand that isn't holding the book. I do this without realising it.

I love eating frozen peas.

I'm sure there are plenty more. Yeah, I have a bit of OCD.... :eek:

Crazy how many of these things it sounds like everybody does.

A real strange one of mine is as a kid and even now I've always walked around at home (by myself, obviously) giving pretend sporting interviews to phantom questions. It's stupid, but it's become habitual.

inb4mentalinstitution

Crazy how many of these things it sounds like everybody does.

A real strange one of mine is as a kid and even now I've always walked around at home (by myself, obviously) giving pretend sporting interviews to phantom questions. It's stupid, but it's become habitual.

inb4mentalinstitution

Yep, I do that to. Also occasionally do one side of imaginary dialogues, often in an accent (Irish is a favourite, though I've been doing NY ones lately).

I also often find myself acting out little things I read while reading a book. Can be really awkward when you forget somebody else is in the room, and the action makes a sound which attracts attention.

These are some of the weird, random things I do (probably heaps of others which I can't think of at the moment)

When I'm listening to music on my ipod, if I want to pause/turn the ipod off, the amount of time the song has been playing for has to be paused on a palindromic number, e.g 3:13.

Before I eat my chips I organise them into a row such that the shortest chip is on the left and each chip to its right increasingly gets longer.

I don't chew peas or corn I only swallow them.

I used to play dice cricket all the time in primary school. Basically you just write 11 names down on a piece of paper, roll the dice and whatever number comes up is what the player (on the paper) scores for that roll. Roll a five and the player is out.

If I've just got new cheese from the shops, I can't eat the first slice because it looks like plastic.

I like to get stop watches and try to get the time to stop exactly on 1 second.

just had an english mate staying on my couch through january and in his last couple of days i found out he has a crazy phobia of styrofoam.... if only i had known earlier :(