Society & Culture Things you do/did that you probably think no one else does

I actually prefer watching games by myself. Too frustrating hearing "comments"

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
My mates, being Queenslanders don't understand the game that well. So if they're watching with me it will be constant questions.

Me:

1664326313946.png

Yeah every time we go to my mates place and Eagles are playing we seem to lose.

Whenever we are going up there I check the fixture and if we are playing in my head it's an instant loss

This was when we were good as well not just lately.

I want to keep going to break the hoodoo one day

I actually prefer watching games by myself. Too frustrating hearing "comments"

I’ve got a mate that’s a Geelong supporter and he watched 2 games at my place years ago. The 2008 granny and the Saints game they lost in 2009 when they were both 13-0. Safe to say he’s never watched footy at my place since

This was pre covid too.
More often than not cant see the tv well, or you get a spot and the sun reflects through a window onto the screen as the game goes on, all sorts of stuff like that meaning it’s usually never enjoyable.

I'm quite the same about footy, generally. If I can't see/hear properly, I'd rather just be at home watching.

My boss invited me to a work dinner with clients the night of the Richmond v Brisbane final. I said that I couldn't go and told him why. Our director said "oh there'll be a TV at the pub, you'll be right". I said with the language I'm likely to use you probably don't want to put me in front of customers that night.

And with the outcome of that game it's a good thing I reckon!

My boss invited me to a work dinner with clients the night of the Richmond v Brisbane final. I said that I couldn't go and told him why. Our director said "oh there'll be a TV at the pub, you'll be right". I said with the language I'm likely to use you probably don't want to put me in front of customers that night.

And with the outcome of that game it's a good thing I reckon!
The last few minutes of that game with noise at a pub would have been utterly confusing.

You’ve got to laugh at the narcissism people have that they can influence a sporting result just by doing something/not doing something.
It's more about not wanting to make a twat of yourself in public.

You’ve got to laugh at the narcissism people have that they can influence a sporting result just by doing something/not doing something.

Similar could maybe be said about people in the nose bleeds bellowing witty jokes or abuse at players such as boourns.

100%, and particularly in front of customers and workmates.

During the 2020 Grand Final i was abusing GAJ for playing injured and taking someone else's spot, I mean why would I care about that? Was watching with the neighbours and they thought i was a dickhead (or moreso I guess)

I’m referring to people who think that if I don’t wear my lucky red jumper then my team will lose etc. or that you went to a mates twice and both times your team lost so therefore you must have had an influence On the result.

Similar could maybe be said about people in the nose bleeds bellowing witty jokes or abuse at players such as boourns.
Well you would potentially have more chance to influence the game if you got into a players head but yes it would be unlikely they heard it from the nose bleeds.

I’m referring to people who think that if I don’t wear my lucky red jumper then my team will lose etc. or that you went to a mates twice and both times your team lost so therefore you must have had an influence On the result.
More stupid superstition between mates, not a shift in the space time continuum Doc Brown. 🤦🏼‍♂️

My mother in law supports Collingwood (although she laments the demise of the VFL and swear footy was better in the 80s) anyway...

Wont watch a game cause shes convinced shes a bad omen and they always lose when she does.

She genuinely hasnt watched a pies game in 20 years.

Oh man back in the day at Adelaide Oval before the TV screens you could have $1.01 odds that there will be a wicket when I popped to the loo or grab a drink/food

I remember once we batted for like 5hrs Mark Taylor/Steve Waugh blocking v Sri Lanka or someone then like clockwork wicket. Aaarrrgh

Wonder I that soccer riot in Indonesia that killed 127 people would be bigger news than it should be.

Hardly heard anything. Had to search for it on twitter.

Need there to be an Australian involved or dash cam footage to make the commercial news.