This must stop.....

As we approach another grand final it is becoming increasingly apparent that the AFL is approaching yet another record corporate milestone .... the only problem being, the AFL is not meant to be an organisation in a traditional sense...it is merely a custodian of 'our' great game and should be run accordingly.

Let me explain.... I have just jumped off the age website and re-read another article announcing the allocation of tickets to fans. Suprise, Suprise, the average availability of public ticketing has decreased by 16% and remains at an all-time low of 11%. In conjunction, the premium tickets (the tickets which have been created from reduced public space) have increase in cost to $270 minimum....read here
http://www.theage.com.au/business/a...s-own-tickets-20100921-15lhb.html?autostart=1

However, what should be further highlighted by our Demetriou led administration is the increase in Profits taken home by the league every year. Did I not just read that the industry is now worth 1.6 billion???? So, what does this mean...well take a good look....

1. Gambling. Whilst i love a punt, why do i have to be subjected to a Sportsbet odd's report at every interval during the football? Why do every radio, tv and print outlet feel compelled to list repeated odds for every bet under the sun and why do the AFL allow this?

2. Gold Coast and GWS....ok, well fantastic that we can expand. However, do we really need to expand into non-traditional areas that are obviously aimed at media, marketing as opposed to football? These are nothing short of gimmicks and have serious repurcussions to the footballing community. Why should Tasmania be held at bay whilst others line their pockets through their own self-interests?

When Gary Ablett announces the inevitable and the game is robbed of the greatest father-son combination that highlights the roots of our game we will all understand what Gold Coast signifies.

3. Can someone please have a look at Demetriou's personal wage? Why should this CEO profit so much from a game that doesn't belong to him? I would suggest that CEO salaries have risen disproportionally under his administration!

Anyways, this is just a rant, but FFS can't we take some ownership of our game. It is not meant to be a corporate entity and yet it is exactly what its turning out to be. There must be some accountability from the AFL to extend every benefit of the game to the people who support and play it. The grand final ticket shenanigans are just the cherry on top and I just don't understand how they are getting away with this.
You are one hundred and ten percent CORRECT. The AFL are custodians of OUR GAME
and are bent on making huge money while the game goes down the drain.
Gambling on AFL will see us wind up like the world game of cricket , a cheaters paradise.
Australian rules football is not just a game as the song says its a huge Australian culture and its time that perhaps some politicians and law makers got involved in this disgraceful ruination of the best foot on ground sport in the world.
The two new clubs will be known as the "SUPERFLUOUS's" that is my official naming of two new plastic football teams.
Dimetriou is on a huge sum of money and should be removed . Along with his crew.
The rules committee needs to be changed so that every one can pick out a free kick instead of grey area guessing . Which tragically the umpires do know and have at last as predicted created a result of a game or games.
North Melbourne should have been forced to the Gold Coast and Hawks or Saints should be moved to Tassie. There that'll send some of you into a frenzy. Well Hawthorn have survived their disaster and have money and strength and members . So we're strong and will stay put, but less viable clubs should be forced to Tassie . We should have a team in that state.
The two new clubs the "superfluous's" should have never gotten off the ground.
Dim and his dollar signs have created this. Who the bloody hell is this individual that dictates what will happen instead of protects the game that he proffesses to love .Bullshit.
Well I've written to my president Kennett, what about the rest of you members of clubs writing to your clubs and lets rid our "OUR OUR!!!!!!!" sport of this damaging administration.
Come on write in . And Mr Kennett and others get of your arses save our game.

Yep, I whole heartedly agree but the main problem with getting something done about it is the AFL only looks at people voting with their feet and for some crazy reason many hundreds of thousands of people each year seem to be able to push through the financial pain barrier and pay whatever the AFL wants them to pay because they love the game so much.

I agree, however a product is worth what the purchaserwill pay. In this case thats alot

The gambling advertisements are getting way out of hand. Nothing can be discussed these days without attaching odds to it. I hate it.

Same. They've banned alcohol and tobacco sponsorship, but many would argue that gambling is just as destructive to society in its way. It's Betfair's (misnomer) and other agencies' aim to promote as much gambling as they can, which is counter to the community interest.

There's one difference between gambling and alcohol and tobacco. Even one cigarette is harmful, gambling and alcohol in moderation, as most of the general populous consumes them, is perfectly fine and enjoyable.

Exercise personal responsibility, dont expect the government to legislate to protect you if you cant be trusted not to gamble or drink responsibly.

Interestingly enough if you read the Age report (which may or may not be accurate ) the NRL is trending the other way and giving more availability of GF seats back to the fans....

The NRL isnt subject to the same difficulties in obtaining a seat like the AFL is. They dont have an MCC and grand finals rarely sell out until a couple of days beforehand.

I have a mate, not a club member, not an NRL member, who hasnt missed the last ten grand finals. Just walks down to ticketek on the Monday and buys one. It's a completely different environment.

On any actual, tangible, criterion, the AFL is in the healthiest and best state ever. So I'm guessing you've got your rose-coloured glasses on and want a return to the 70s.

Gambling on AFL will see us wind up like the world game of cricket , a cheaters paradise.
Australian rules football is not just a game as the song says its a huge Australian culture and its time that perhaps some politicians and law makers got involved in this disgraceful ruination of the best foot on ground sport in the world.
The two new clubs will be known as the "SUPERFLUOUS's" that is my official naming of two new plastic football teams.
Dimetriou is on a huge sum of money and should be removed . Along with his crew.
The rules committee needs to be changed so that every one can pick out a free kick instead of grey area guessing . Which tragically the umpires do know and have at last as predicted created a result of a game or games.
North Melbourne should have been forced to the Gold Coast and Hawks or Saints should be moved to Tassie. There that'll send some of you into a frenzy. Well Hawthorn have survived their disaster and have money and strength and members . So we're strong and will stay put, but less viable clubs should be forced to Tassie . We should have a team in that state.
The two new clubs the "superfluous's" should have never gotten off the ground.
Dim and his dollar signs have created this. Who the bloody hell is this individual that dictates what will happen instead of protects the game that he proffesses to love .Bullshit.
Well I've written to my president Kennett, what about the rest of you members of clubs writing to your clubs and lets rid our "OUR OUR!!!!!!!" sport of this damaging administration.
Come on write in . And Mr Kennett and others get of your arses save our game.
Yeah ever since Dimetriou has taken over the game has gone backwards. :eek: Lol.

I love how people get on here and criticise the administration for ruining our great game, as they clearly know better. Plus Im sure their interests are only for the greater good of the game and nothing to do with seeing their own team do well. :rolleyes:

For god sake, grow up and stop being so god damn selfish and short sited.

Our game is in better shape than ever before is only going to get stronger. :thumbsu:

No Demetriou has not ruined anything....however it is concerning the level to which the AFL has progressed down a certain path and people should feel like they have a say in how the AFL progresses, after all we are more than just mere shareholders, we helped create this 'product'.

The AFL has done some great things, but introducing excessive levels of gambling promotion, writing off public grand final seats to corporate packages, and introducing 'franchises' to the system is not part of them. I see the AFL as getting further and further privatised, when it should be becoming more of a public entity....reading the initial age article which showed how the NRL is moving to accommodate more fans at its grand final is something to take note of.

The level to which the AFL is profiting off the back of 'our' game is concerning. After all, is it not the 150+ years of footballing support through all communities which have lead to this game getting to this level? I just find it disappointing, and believe there needs to be some level of distinction between a private entity and a sporting body.

while it doesnt affect me as im under 18 so am not tempted by gambling ads, it shits me to see sportsbet live betting, then 2 minutes later a government ad about how gambling rips apart families, rids people of their livelihoods etc..
why cant they place a ban on it ala smoking. same goes for alcohol while we're at it

the supporters are the ones who fill out the stadiums for 184 matches of the year....................but when it comes to the big one, the fans are shafted.

without supporters, the AFL have nothing.

from that, i think it's obvious how fans can make themselves heard.

It seems the only one who can scalp GF tickets is the AFL.

$1200 for a corporate ticket with lunch.....F*ck that!

If that isn't scalping, what is.

Good ol' Demetriou will get another pay raise after the GF. From $1.8 million to $2 million. Ironic that he started 10 years ago on less than $200,000 a year. I wish I could determine KPI's and then link them to my work performance. :rolleyes:

N
The AFL has done some great things, but introducing excessive levels of gambling promotion, writing off public grand final seats to corporate packages, and introducing 'franchises' to the system is not part of them. I see the AFL as getting further and further privatised, when it should be becoming more of a public entity....reading the initial age article which showed how the NRL is moving to accommodate more fans at its grand final is something to take note of.

Huh, Where are the franchises? When did the GF become corporatised?

With regards to the GF, i think it started in 92 when they gave out too many AFL member passes (of which I had one) But it isn't in the past 5 years.

Look out buddy, there may be a truck up your butt that you didn't see coming.

the supporters are the ones who fill out the stadiums for 184 matches of the year....................but when it comes to the big one, the fans are shafted.

without supporters, the AFL have nothing.

from that, i think it's obvious how fans can make themselves heard.

Spot on.

The fans get trod on like ants by Mein Fuhrer at AFL Headquarters.

i find it quite hard to believe that people in here actually defend the AFL.

the AFL has done so much wrong since demetriu's reign began that it's no longer as funny as it once was.

The tribunal is a joke - they took something that was terrible and inconsistent, and found a way to make it worse. now it's pretty much a lottery.

The rules change time and time again, they've become so reactive it's not funny. we have ONE interchange infringement, and that has resulted in an extreme rule change where a free kick and 50m is awarded when someone steps over the wrong line.. it's just become so petty.

the hands in the back rule was introduced and they went gung ho on it for a season or 2, and now it's faded into oblivion.

The "simulation" rule - is this anything but a PR stunt to get the media thinking something is being done? they mean to tell us that no player has simulated at all during season 2010?

The rushed behind rule - something was probably needed here, but it was poorly implemented. took over half a season for players to actually have any idea of what the rule actually is, and til this day, almost 2 full seasons later, it's clear that some players still do not understand this rule. most of the crowd sure as hell don't.

tanking - the afl clearly either had their head in the sand on this one, or they were just trying to piss on our backs and tell us it was raining. it was clear as daylight for everyone to see and they were just in denial.

standard of umpiring - probably at an all time low. umpires collectively refuse to take responsibility for mistakes (led by their propaganda officer gieschen). The ambiguity around some of the rules probably doesnt help them though

integrity of the game - in my opinion this is the biggest issue. i no longer have confidence that the AFL has the integrity of the game in their intentions. If buddy or riewoldt got 3 strikes for drugs (hypothetically, despite what some may have read), i'm not confident that the AFL would reveal this. they would be more worried about what impact of having the biggest name in the game tarnished would have on the image of the game and the bottom dollar. likewise if another salary cap breach occured, i'm pretty sure the AFL would sweep it under the carpet, unless of course it suited their agenda to come down hard on the club (north melbourne should be very careful here - the AFL would love a chance to take them down).

Gambling in the game - this has reached epic proportions. just goes to show how irresponsible the current administration is. gambling obviously tears families apart, and to support it in such a big way, to the point where i could not watch the brownlow without having odds displayed every 10 minutes, and I can't go to a game without seeing the odd's appear repeatedly, along with constant commercials, clearly shows that the AFL is happy to profit on an industry that destroys lives, and contribute to the destroying of lives while doing so.

Personally I'm finding this game less and less appealing as the years go by. The only thing that keeps me interested is my passion for the collingwood football club. if the AFL didn't have their "customers" tied up in such a way, they would have been in serious trouble by now.

I agree with most of the AFL bashing going on here.

But there is nothing we can do until Demetriou decides he's had enough of the job and moves on, but they will probably just groom another mini-Andy to take his place

The current AFL is a body that evolved from the rebadged VFL that set up a commission to run a specific competition becasue the club pursuit of self interest was deemed not to maximise that competition. The fact that it took over the code and even re branded it as AFL is another matter.

That said, the annual finals ticket scam/farce/fiasco/official sanctioned scalp fest SHOULD be dealth with by the clubs but they don't have the balls to do it. All it takes is for them to get together and say at least 50,000 tickets must go to competing club members or the clubs will act against the commission.

It won't happen. For some clubs it's one of their biggest, if not the biggest fundraiser of the year.

Huh, Where are the franchises? When did the GF become corporatised?

With regards to the GF, i think it started in 92 when they gave out too many AFL member passes (of which I had one) But it isn't in the past 5 years.

Look out buddy, there may be a truck up your butt that you didn't see coming.

So your happy with only 11% of GF tickets being made available to the public and an increase of 16% of premium seating (at inflated prices) to couple with the ridiculous amount of corporate packages that the clubs themselves on-sell. I'm not happy about that, can't see how the Prelim final can be such a good event with a magnificent crowd ampitheatre that surely must profit well, can't be used as a model for the grand final? Surely its just greed?

As for the franchises - well, not by the letter of the law - but tell me if you think that GC and GWS are anything more than a revenue strategy where the AFL will get a chance to extend marketing, advertising and TV rights...quite frankly i hope it blows up in their face and they are left with a hefty bill cleaning up these weak excuses of clubs.

And what about the significant increase in exposure to gambling? I was at the prelim last week and a mates 11 year old son when asked who would win replied 'Well the pies are good value on 1.85, so i'm going to back them'....thats just not cool.

I have said I don't like the over exposure of gambling. We agree there.

The grand final tickets are not ideal, but anyone can 'attempt' to join the AFL or MCC.

By the way it would have been a piece of cake to join 18 years ago.
I said to my mates at the time that in the future if you aren't an AFL member you're going to have enormous trouble getting into the GF.

How many of the tickets are taken by MCC and AFL members?
Whatever the figure, it will be regarded as too many.

It was only 15 years ago that clubs only had 15,000 members, now many have over 40k.
What will that figure be in another 15 years?

The fact is that there will always be a shortage of tickets.

The people who committed their money to the MCC and the AFL benefit.
But without those 2 bodies the stadium would not be what it is today.

And with regards to the prelim, there will come a day when the corporates grow into those games as well.

As GF costs become excessive due to limited availability they will move to the 'next biggest' event.

Like I said, look out for the truck ;)

As for the franchises - well, not by the letter of the law - but tell me if you think that GC and GWS are anything more than a revenue strategy where the AFL will get a chance to extend marketing, advertising and TV rights...quite frankly i hope it blows up in their face and they are left with a hefty bill cleaning up these weak excuses of clubs.

And what about the significant increase in exposure to gambling? I was at the prelim last week and a mates 11 year old son when asked who would win replied 'Well the pies are good value on 1.85, so i'm going to back them'....thats just not cool.
GC and GWS are not revenue raising opportunities. Will they help raise revenue, well yes, but that isn't the purpose of them in my opinion.
As a competition at the moment the majority of our players originate from Victoria. Why? because it is the biggest sport in Victoria and young kids grow up wanting to be elite AFL players. To think that Queensland and NSW don't have just as much talent in their states as Victoria is pig headed. The reason we don't find that talent is because AFL is not the number one sport in those states and kids don't grow up playing AFL. If you want the best players possible playing our great sport then we need to expand into new areas and eventually become the number 1 sport in different areas to where we are now. Its the only way to increase the talent pool. Also the extra dollars created will flow onto the players and hence encourage more talented youngsters to choose our sport over others.

I agree with your gambling point, but unfortunately money sells and unless some fresh food company is going to pay more money to advertise than the gambling companies we will have to put up with it.

integrity of the game - in my opinion this is the biggest issue. i no longer have confidence that the AFL has the integrity of the game in their intentions. If buddy or riewoldt got 3 strikes for drugs (hypothetically, despite what some may have read), i'm not confident that the AFL would reveal this. they would be more worried about what impact of having the biggest name in the game tarnished would have on the image of the game and the bottom dollar. likewise if another salary cap breach occured, i'm pretty sure the AFL would sweep it under the carpet, unless of course it suited their agenda to come down hard on the club (north melbourne should be very careful here - the AFL would love a chance to take them down).

I agree with you there. I doubt the AFL would have dished out the same penalties that the NRL dished out to Melbourne.

In fact, werent the total sum of the breaches by Melbourne less than the salary concessions given to Brisbane by the AFL?

Gambling in the game - this has reached epic proportions. just goes to show how irresponsible the current administration is. gambling obviously tears families apart, and to support it in such a big way, to the point where i could not watch the brownlow without having odds displayed every 10 minutes, and I can't go to a game without seeing the odd's appear repeatedly, along with constant commercials, clearly shows that the AFL is happy to profit on an industry that destroys lives, and contribute to the destroying of lives while doing so.

I dont see it as an issue. Everyone I know enjoys gambling in moderation. If you have a problem you need to exclude yourself from the situation. If you have an addiction to pokies, you take the step of putting yourself on a self-exclusion program, you dont expect the community to stop gambling to help you.

And, if it comes down to gambling promos to ensure live AFL next broadcast agreements, then that's what it'll take.

The grand final tickets are not ideal, but anyone can 'attempt' to join the AFL or MCC.

If you take out the AFL and MCC sections of the ground you're left with something like 54 000 tickets. Not much.

the AFL and MCC memberships are not the issue with grand final tickets

the AFL and MCC members sections are there all year round, and that doesn't have much nothing to do with general public seats becoming scarce, except for the fact that the AFL members capacity is limited which causes some silver club members to flow on into their clubs membership allocation.

The main issue is that the amount of general public seats are heavily reduced.

disagree there.

The AFL has the opportunity to differentiate itself from a corporate entity, it isn't held accountable against its profits - this is a clear distinction from any business - it is held accountable to the successfull running of the competition and accomodation of its players and fans. Whether it does or not may depend on whether we go down the EPL path and start listing our clubs or perhaps just become the new BCCI, oops sorry, i meant ICC.....and we all no what a rort that is becoming.

I'm not saying things are bad. The AFL is booming now, can't be denied. However, what also can't be denied is the alarming rate at which the game is being devoured by financial interests - gambling, grand final tickets and franchise teams are 'some' evidence of this. If the trend continues, where do you see the game going in 20 years??? All i'm saying is it doesn't have to be like this and that is being largely steered in this direction by the current administration.

So your happy with only 11% of GF tickets being made available to the public and an increase of 16% of premium seating (at inflated prices) to couple with the ridiculous amount of corporate packages that the clubs themselves on-sell. I'm not happy about that, can't see how the Prelim final can be such a good event with a magnificent crowd ampitheatre that surely must profit well, can't be used as a model for the grand final? Surely its just greed?

Each club makes about $1M from their ticket allocation, that's serious cash, the clubs are reliant on it. The AFL claims that the money made allows them to keep H&A tickets at a reasonable price - have they not been to Etihad?

I agree with you on GC & GWS, GWS has a chance to succeed because it's in the right place and fans might stick. Puts pressure on Brisbane and Swans and non profitable Melbourne clubs - AFL will soon be forced to prop up a lot more clubs, if the cash ever drops off - trouble. After 25 years in Sydney & Brisbane, IMHO opinion the AFL still fails to understand the market and habits of people in both places. It's purely TV driven.

Gambling exposure is a major concern, The Brownlow was a disgrace. Governments should be regulating it like smoking and alcohol.

There is no sense of corporate social accountability in the AFL. Its clear desire is to increase revenue and there is no consideration for the bottom feeders - the fans. So long as opportunities to increase finances to continue to present themselves, then the same behaviour will continue. This year has seen a rapid rise in gambling advertisements and odds being discussed before and during games. I couldn't care less but it just shows that if there's cash to be made, the AFL will go for it. it embodies every characteristic of a corporation whose main responsibility and accountability are to those who put in the most money. That's the trend and it's unlikely to change.
Companies are necessarily nothing without the employees, like the AFL is nothing without the fans. But like employees, we will be treated with much disdain and will continue to be at the bottom of the market chain. Demetriou's crew won't change their ways. I loved football growing up, but the way it's played and conducted is a far cry to how it was in the 90s. I understand everyone has their opinions but as a young kid, I loved the free flowing nature of the AFL in the 90s. There were no ridiculous MRPs or Laws of the Game Committee, nor were their power struggles for TV rights which has eventuated into a state where there are no more live free-to-air games during the home and away season, bar one or two.
Prices go up like everything in society, but these ridiculous corporate packages, forcing many to spend $1200 for a grand final ticket because the public are hardly issued any, is just the unfortunate nature of the current game and how it has declined.
When money is the priority a lot will suffer. Maybe Demetriou should get "Greed is Good" tattooed across his chest

This must stop.....