This years draft

• Thread starter Thread starter atcocc

He is one of the most underrated players on Big Footy.

Where do you reckon he'll end up going?
Any chance to slip to our second rounder? My mate is dead keen on us picking him up. Would he be a good fit for our side?

Cheers for the info, Cruiser and vlbl, by the way.

Craig specifically mentioned a replacement for Nathan Bassett - someone who can play on a KPP or a small forward, but if McGregor goes as expected then for team structure they could be looking at a Hurley/Lisle/Trengrove type to replace him in the balance of the list. It could be that they will look to take two defender types - someone who can play as a third tall and a more mobile 190cm approx as well as a more robust KPP.

We have one playing for Norwood at the mimute called Aron Kite 190cm and has some speed.

Some of you remember Porpy at last years draft camp with Neil and Rendell interviewing players. Can't find the pic anywhere, but this was reported on AFL.com.au:

Déjà vu for D-Mac
Adelaide went one step further in its quest to unearth the best characters at the camp with coach Neil Craig and recruiting manager Matt Rendell once again employing the services of a young Crow to sit in and offer a player’s perspective on the club’s interviews.

Emerging midfielder David ‘D-Mac’ Mackay, who was a participant at the NAB AFL Draft Camp just two years ago, was the only current-day player (besides impressive new afl.com.au star Nathan Foley) present at proceedings on day one.

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68537

Some of you remember Porpy at last years draft camp with Neil and Rendell interviewing players. Can't find the pic anywhere, but this was reported on AFL.com.au:

Brilliant two way move by the club. :thumbsu:

Having D-Mac at the interviews gets him far more involved in the club long-term as a true Crow, not just a player at the Crows.

From the interviewee's point of view having a young buck like D-Mac present might just put them at ease a bit.

This is a plea to Mr Rendell

Time to take a risk and draft Tom Swift. Kid is an absolute gun, was a question mark over his fitness due to some bad injuries, however he performed very well at the draft camp and looks to have put them behinde him. Injuries aside he is a top 5 pick for sure, classy and dominates his age bracket.

Anyone got any thoughts or comments?

It's been a common trait of our drafting that the top Crows picks have been amomgst the top 10 test results .......generally sprint, repeat sprint and endurance results.

The three names to regularly pop up:
Tom Swift
Chris Hall
Ryan Shoenmakers

Now I don't expect Hall to be a first round ......but gee I like the lad as a crumbing forwrd, brilliant around packs .......but as his test results show he can go in the midfield as well
Would we go with a second rounder .....if we do I'd suggest we would get him

Swift had great raps on him at U16 level ......and his testing shows no ill-effect from his injury
190cm midfielder with pace & endurance ......seems like a Crow type player

I like Trengove ......but you can't ignore Shoenmakers test results ......but surely not a first rounder and would he be there second rounder?

Sidebottom despite his grand final game must surely drop with his test results? ....... would still IMO be around at #10 ....but is he a Crow or should I say a Craig type of midfielder ? ......don't think so

It's getting interesting

This is a plea to Mr Rendell

Time to take a risk and draft Tom Swift. Kid is an absolute gun, was a question mark over his fitness due to some bad injuries, however he performed very well at the draft camp and looks to have put them behinde him. Injuries aside he is a top 5 pick for sure, classy and dominates his age bracket.

Anyone got any thoughts or comments?
BF hype aside, I'm curious for your thoughts. It sounds like you've seen him play before...

Now I don't expect Hall to be a first round ......but gee I like the lad as a crumbing forwrd, brilliant around packs .......but as his test results show he can go in the midfield as well
Would we go with a second rounder .....if we do I'd suggest we would get him

Swift had great raps on him at U16 level ......and his testing shows no ill-effect from his injury
190cm midfielder with pace & endurance ......seems like a Crow type player

I like Trengove ......but you can't ignore Shoenmakers test results ......but surely not a first rounder and would he be there second rounder?

Sidebottom despite his grand final game must surely drop with his test results? ....... would still IMO be around at #10 ....but is he a Crow or should I say a Craig type of midfielder ? ......don't think so

It's getting interesting
His test results show that Hall can play in the midfield, but does his body size? He is absolutely tiny. He wouldn't look out of place if he stayed out with the Auskick kids. He is a very good player, no doubt about that, but I'm not sure that he can really be an AFL midfielder with such a small frame. I'd more think he's suited to being a small forward - at best an outside mid. He'd break in half in a pack! I dunno...maybe I'm overstating it. I'd certainly be very happy if we got him though.

Sidebottom dropping because of his test results? There's nothing new really. Everyone knows that he's not quick and that was reflected with his 20m time, but his endurance results were very impressive (and I think that's what NC is more about). I think he had the best or second best beep test and was in the top few for the 3km time trial. I don't think his DC hindered, unfortunately. :o

If we took Schoenmakers with Pick 10 he'd be a bolter, but I would applaud the decision. It would be a bit out there, but I don't see why not quite frankly. He's a good player with elite athleticism and a THUMPING left foot. Pretty handy on his opposite shoe as well.

Duo seeks end to uncertainty
Emma Quayle | October 4, 2008

JACKSON Trengove is a key defender of the future, with speed, spring and a fondness for making big, thumping spoils. Last year, he played on Matthew Kreuzer during the TAC Cup finals, and made him work very hard. A few weeks earlier, he took on Ben McEvoy, and frustrated the normally unflappable player who would later become the No. 9 draft pick.

Tom Swift is a smart, smooth midfielder, who can dance through the centre square, feed the ball out or run it away himself. He's quick, too, and at some stage in his career will wind up in an AFL team's leadership group.

Early this year, both Trengove and Swift were seen as two of the brightest prospects in the 2008 draft. Both should still be chosen high; Trengove is still a likely top-10 pick, and the rumour mill has Swift in Geelong's sights.

But Trengove hasn't played football for five months and Swift has played only a handful of matches in the past two seasons. They are the two big mysteries of this year's draft.

Swift's first problem arose in April last year: the day before his Australian Institute of Sport-AFL Academy group left for its tour of South Africa, the group played a game against Perth at Subiaco Oval.

Early in the game, he twisted the wrong way, fell and found out not long afterwards that he had ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee.

At the time — even though he was too young for the draft and had another year up his sleeve — he felt certain his chance was gone.

"I thought the clubs wouldn't look too positively on it, that it was over for me, but then I started to be more positive," he said.

Swift took it easy through the pre-season, came back in round four and played four games for the Claremont Colts before joining the under-18 West Australian state team.

He felt like he was getting better but in the final trial game before the national championships he landed awkwardly. This time, he injured the ligament running down the side of his right knee.

"At the time, I thought I'd done my knee again," Swift said. "I think once you've done one, you have that fear. But the left knee actually took a bit of impact on the landing, and it stayed strong when my right knee buckled. So it was disappointing, especially so close to the carnival, but I still felt like it was good signs for my left knee."

Trengove was injured while training with the Vic Metro team, the day before it flew to Tasmania to play its second game of the carnival. He was running with the ball and wasn't expecting the smother that crashed across his right knee.

As he hobbled off the track, he told himself he would be fine but the following morning, he was in pain, lots of it, and found out he had torn his hamstring from the top of his fibula bone. He watched Metro win the carnival while taking stats in the coach's box. He's had to learn some patience as he has worked through his rehab program, but he's not let himself worry about what the injury might mean come draft day.

"It was a bit hard because I'm the sort of person who just likes to jump in and do everything at once, but it's been OK. The clubs don't seem too worried about it, so that's a good sign," Trengove said.

"I just tried not to think of the draft and the camp … I thought whatever happened would happen and a part of me wanted to think about it and wonder about it, but I knew I couldn't change it. I wasn't able to play, so there was nothing I could do. I just had to do what I could do, and wait to get better."

Swift feels similarly. Had he re-injured himself in his first or second game back, he suspects he would be feeling a lot of uncertainty now. But he will be ready to go when he joins his new team for pre-season training, and the fact he had begun to find some form has made him believe he will belong, wherever he ends up.

"The best thing was that I was improving with every game. That was the most positive thing. And everyone always said it would happen that way, but you don't really agree with it until it actually happens," said Swift, who used his right knee injury to work on his left-foot kick and worked to build up his core strength.

"I was feeling really confident going into that last game, and I've tried to hold on to that.

"It was unfortunate and disappointing, and the last two years haven't been great. But I was able to prove to myself that I could get back and play some good footy even after the adversity I had the year before and that's been good for me.

"I probably still have a lot to prove, and it messed with my head a bit, but I feel like I've been able to put it all in the past now.

"If I'm lucky enough to be drafted by a club, I feel like I can go there and be just like any other player on the list. That's what I'm looking forward to."

Certainly would be happy with both at pick 10

Great post mate!!! Damn shame a talent like swift is being held back by injury. Saying that looks like he has put it behind him and would be a risk to take at 10, but also could be a MASSIVE steal. Get him before Geelong do.

Lucky I did a search. I thought you blokes were going on about Jack Trengove from Sturt, who is still too young for the draft. This bloke is a gun and hopefully one of the Adelaide clubs get him in next year's.

His test results show that Hall can play in the midfield, but does his body size? He is absolutely tiny. He wouldn't look out of place if he stayed out with the Auskick kids. He is a very good player, no doubt about that, but I'm not sure that he can really be an AFL midfielder with such a small frame. I'd more think he's suited to being a small forward - at best an outside mid. He'd break in half in a pack! I dunno...maybe I'm overstating it. I'd certainly be very happy if we got him though.

Agree tht he is far too small for the midfield and possibly too small to play AFL at all at the moment. For me he would be a rookie selection to see how his body develops. He seems much smaller than Matty Stokes for example.

I made a 3 round mock draft today; had to go to Nanas ... so I was pretty bored.

I have us getting.

1. Tom Swift (Tall Midfielder [everyone on this board seems to be keen on him])
2. Ryan Schoenmakers (Medium forward)
3. Mitch Browne (Tall KP player)

There was some interesting results from the SA state screening sessions held on 11 October.

Agility
1 - Peter Rolfe, South, 8.22sec
2 - Charlie Sharples, Sturt, 8.25sec
3 - Scott Blessing, West Adelaide, 8.36sec

Vertical Jump
1 - Tyler Bricacombe, Sturt, 77cm
2 - Alex Kinal, Sturt, 75cm
3 - Peter Rolfe, South Adelaide, 74cm

20m Sprint
1 - Glen Dawson, Eagles, 2.75sec
2 - Peter Rolfe, South, 2.94sec
2 - Tyler Bricacombe, Sturt, 2.94sec

Beep test
1 - Alex Stopp, Norwood 14.10
2 - Jack Redden, Glenelg, 14.1
3 - Cameron Hitchcock, Glenelg 13.7

compare these to the national testing listed below

REPEAT SPRINTS – 6 x 30 metres
This test involves players running 6 x 30 metres sprints with a 20-second time cycle. For example, if the player runs 30 metres in 4.30 seconds, he then has 15.30 seconds to recover, before starting his next 30-metre sprint.
1 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 24.82 seconds
2 – Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 24.97
Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 24.97
4 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 25.10
James Strauss (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 25.10
6 – Ashley Smith – (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – medium defender) – 25.14
7 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 25.44
Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 25.44
9 – Alistair Smith (Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 25.48
10 – Taylor Hunt (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 25.49
11 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 25.57
12 – Tom Lynch (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 25.67
13 – Chris Yarran (Swan Districts, WA – medium forward) – 25.74
HEIGHT – tallest players at the draft camp
1 – Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, VIC – ruckman) – 201.7cm
2 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 200.9cm
3 – Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide, SA – ruckman) – 200.4cm
4 – Tyrone Vickery (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – ruckman) – 200.0cm
5 – Jordan Roughead (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – ruckman) – 199.7cm
6 – Bart McCulloch (Tassie Mariners, TAS – ruckman) – 198.9cm
7 – Tom Hill (Northern Knights, VIC – ruckman) – 198.5cm
8 – Jackson Trengove (Calder Cannons, VIC – tall forward) – 196.5cm
9 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 196.0cm
10 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 195.8cm
WEIGHT – heaviest players at the draft camp
1 – Matthew Martin (West Adelaide, SA – tall defender) – 99.35kg
2 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 94.30kg
3 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 93.90kg
4 – Jordan Lisle (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – tall forward) – 92.75kg
5 – Micheal Hurley (Northern Knights, VIC – tall defender) – 91.80kg
6 – Jordan Roughead (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – ruckman) – 91.75kg
7 – Clancee Pearce (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 89.75kg
8 – Tyrone Vickery (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – ruckman) – 88.80kg
Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide, SA – ruckman) – 88.80kg
10 – Jackson Trengove (Calder Cannons, VIC – tall forward) – 88.50kg
AGILITY
This is a slalom-type course where players change directions. The specially-designed circuit, roughly 40 metres in total, is set out in a zig-zag pattern.
1 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 7.77 seconds – draft camp record
2 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 8.03
3 – James Strauss (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.18
4 – Nick Suban (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.25
5 – Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, VIC – ruckman) – 8.27
6 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 8.31
7 – Neville Jetta (Swan Districts, WA – medium forward) – 8.32
Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 8.32
9 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 8.34
10 – Liam Jones (Tassie Mariners, TAS – tall forward) – 8.35
THREE-KM TIME TRIAL
This is a straight out three-km time-trial held in racing conditions around the athletics track.
1 – Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 10min 17sec
2 – Steele Sidebottom (Murray Bushrangers, VIC – medium defender) – 10.32
3 – Sam McGarry (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 10.41
4 – Tyson Slattery (West Adelaide, SA – medium defender) – 10.42
5 – Chris Hall (Eagles, SA – small/medium midfielder) – 10.42
6 – Michael Gugliotta (Nightcliff, NT – tall defender) – 10.43
7 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 10.44
8 – Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 10.53
9 – Jarrad Blight (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 10.57
10 – Matthew Broadbent (Eagles, SA – tall defender) – 10.57
STANDING VERTICAL JUMP
This is a stand and jump test, with the best results from the three or four jumps recorded. To record the jump, a vertex machine is used. A player must slap the highest possible slat on this machine for the best jump to be recorded. Each slat is roughly a centimetre apart.
1 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 78cm
2 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 74cm
3 – Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 72cm
Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 72cm
5 – Jack Watts (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 70cm
Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 70cm
7 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 69cm
Nick Heyne (Gippsland Power, VIC – medium forward) – 69cm
Bryce Carroll (Western Jets, VIC – medium forward) – 69cm
10 – Michael Gugliotta (Nightcliff, NT – tall defender) – 67cm
Ashley Smith (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – medium defender) – 67cm
Alistair Smith (Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 67cm
RUNNING VERTICAL JUMP
Winner – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 1.02 metres
This record equalled Brisbane Lion Jared Brennan
20-METRE SPRINT
A straight out 20-metre sprint test, with the best time recorded from three attempts.
1 – Ashley Smith (Dandenong Stingrays, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 2.80 seconds – Just missed out on the record held by Port Adelaide's Danyle Pearce (2.79 sec)
2 – Jack Watts – (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 2.82
3 – Stephen Hill (West Perth, WA – small/medium midfielder) – 2.83
4 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 2.86
5 – Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 2.89
6 – Ryan Schoenmakers (Norwood, SA – medium forward) – 2.90
7 – Nick Heyne (Gippsland Power, VIC – medium forward) – 2.91
Sam Blease (Eastern Ranges, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 2.91
9 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 2.92
Taylor Hunt (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – medium defender) – 2.92
Matthew DeBoer (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 2.92
SHUTTLE RUN (AKA BEEP TEST)
The shuttle run is held on the basketball courts. Players must run 20 metres before hearing a beep. It starts off slowly and builds up rapidly, with players increasing their pace significantly. The beeps get quicker each time the players progress. It is a last man standing test. Each player gets one warning – if they miss one beep – they cannot afford to miss another one, as they will be disqualified from the shuttle run. An average draft camp run is level 13.3. A very good level is 14-plus and 15-plus is rare.
1 – Chris Hall (Eagles, SA – small/medium midfielder) – Level 14.6
2 – Rory Sloane (Eastern Ranges, VIC – medium defender) – 14.5
Steele Sidebottom (Murray Bushrangers, VIC – medium defender) – 14.5
4 – Luke Shuey (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – medium midfielder) – 14.4
5 – Jarrad Blight (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 14.3
Tyson Slattery (West Adelaide, SA – medium defender) – 14.3
7 – Dan Hannebery (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – small/medium midfielder) – 14.2
Ian Richardson (Claremont, WA – medium forward) – 14.2
9 – Tom Lynch (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – tall forward) – 14.1
Tom Swift (Claremont, WA – medium midfielder) – 14.1

at what pick would Shaun McKernan go? I actually rate him a fair bit, although I'm no AFL expert - but he looks agile and moves, leaps, kicks and looks just like his brother Corey.

I would say he would be up there? wouldn't mind picking him up, haven't had an athletic type of ruckman like that since Shaun Rehn.

betterthanu, I think you've seen as much of Swift as we all have. I'm pretty sure he doesn't exist, but would be happy taking him regardless.

J-Ro, McKernan could go anywhere between 6 and 20, he does remind you of Corey doesn't he, the leap, the hair, the kick, the height between KPP and ruck

and Asgardian i've never heard of Bocks brother, is he any good?

I take it he's a ruck?

Will the Crows target Bock's brother? (202 or 203 cm?)

204 cms to be exact.

IMo he'd be more likely to be a rookie selection as he'll be a 3 year project to get his body up to AFL standard.

I wouldn't be surprised to see either of the 2 Adelaide based clubs rookie him.