Thoughts/Changes v Kangaroos

• Thread starter Thread starter pjcrows

Neither!

As hard as it is for me to say this, and I have been a HUGE fan of his, I think Torney is not having a great season and at that age, the end might not be too far away! :(

He has been a VERY VERY good player for us though. Courage personified and has been a favourite of mine since the first time he pulled on the hoops

yep - Torney was probably my "last picked" ....he seems to be struggling physically atm.

Hey nets going pretty slow today so I can't really search too much, what happened to Goodwin he is in my dreamteam (caused me to fall to 82nd now..) how long is he going to be out for or will he be right for this week?

Just decided to not be lazy, looked down the page and saw he is out for a while....don't think my bencher morton would be up to it, bad luck with the injuries guys, good luck for the rest of the season

this thread is pretty funny, once again bigfooty fans want to shoot the messenger.

we kicked 9.6 - a pretty good conversion rate. The simple fact is that our disposal into the forward line sucked arse.

you can bitch and moan about Jericho and Welsh but the simple fact is if you give the a better than even chance to score a goal they are going to do just that. Both had horror games this week, along with Bock however as I have mentioned in other posts, if you can't get the ball delivered to you in a semi-resonable manner then its going to be tough to do anything.

I'm not argueing that Jericho did nothing off the ball, there were times when even I wanted to slap him in the face and say "chase the damn defender FFS" however this doesn't alter the fact that our forwards are constantly hamstrung by poor delivery.

It will take 1 article by some nut brain Journo to stick up for the forward line and bag our forward entries before people start realising this.....

this thread is pretty funny, once again bigfooty fans want to shoot the messenger.

we kicked 9.6 - a pretty good conversion rate. The simple fact is that our disposal into the forward line sucked arse.

you can bitch and moan about Jericho and Welsh but the simple fact is if you give the a better than even chance to score a goal they are going to do just that. Both had horror games this week, along with Bock however as I have mentioned in other posts, if you can't get the ball delivered to you in a semi-resonable manner then its going to be tough to do anything.

I'm not argueing that Jericho did nothing off the ball, there were times when even I wanted to slap him in the face and say "chase the damn defender FFS" however this doesn't alter the fact that our forwards are constantly hamstrung by poor delivery.

It will take 1 article by some nut brain Journo to stick up for the forward line and bag our forward entries before people start realising this.....

Agree entirely with this assessment caps and have been saying this about our midfield since half way through last year.

Exactly right on the money. Every one from the middle through to the CHB line didn't deliver the ball very well. It's just one skill that has deserted us this year.

With Goody likely to miss, good to hear Roo is keen on spending some time in the midfield. He gave us some grunt last week until collected high by Rooke. For those who thought his career was over, his vision was OK 1 hour after the game.

Torney is a dead set gun. I have been watching him for years yet every time I see him play I still marvel at how good a player he is.

You can kick him the ball in pretty much any situation and he will still mark it. If you need him to keep his feet in a contest, he will. If we need him to subtley take the ball out of bounds without making it look deliberate, he does. He automatically shepherds after giving off a handball rather than realising a split second late that that is what he should have done. If you need him to take the ball first time, he does. He knows when to leave his man to cover for a team mate. He instinctively knows how to slow play up just enough without giving away a fifty metre penalty. He does all this with a minimum of fuss week in week out.

I mentioned last week that Torney has a case of Mark Waugh syndrome, in that he makes the very difficult look ridiculously easy. At times players like this can get criticised for not putting in or, in Torney's case, being below 100% fitness. The real tragedy is that because he makes it look so easy people don't appreciate the sheer quality of what they are seeing. Everybody has got eyes but not everyone can see.

Torney is a dead set gun. I have been watching him for years yet every time I see him play I still marvel at how good a player he is.

You can kick him the ball in pretty much any situation and he will still mark it. If you need him to keep his feet in a contest, he will. If we need him to subtley take the ball out of bounds without making it look deliberate, he does. He automatically shepherds after giving off a handball rather than realising a split second late that that is what he should have done. If you need him to take the ball first time, he does. He knows when to leave his man to cover for a team mate. He instinctively knows how to slow play up just enough without giving away a fifty metre penalty. He does all this with a minimum of fuss week in week out.

I mentioned last week that Torney has a case of Mark Waugh syndrome, in that he makes the very difficult look ridiculously easy. At times players like this can get criticised for not putting in or, in Torney's case, being below 100% fitness. The real tragedy is that because he makes it look so easy people don't appreciate the sheer quality of what they are seeing. Everybody has got eyes but not everyone can see.

I totally agree...GUN :thumbsu::thumbsu:

I'd like to see Griffin rested in the forward lines when not second rucking to Huddo - he has a good pair of hands (normally) and is a good kick for goal. I'd like to see Johncock as crumber in the forward lines (perhaps Massie comes in to replace him). McLeod maybe needs to go on the ball for bursts(to fill the Goodwin void). Bock up back.

He is the guy I look for whenever it goes anywhere near the flanks to be there because I generally believe the guy will win the ball no matter what the hell is going on.
The other guy I often want about is mattner but he just doesn't have the same polish once he gets it hopefully he will get there.

I agree with jenny's scenario but I just would like someone to take Bock's spot I'm just not feelin the guy no more...

I'd like to see Griffin rested in the forward lines when not second rucking to Huddo - he has a good pair of hands (normally) and is a good kick for goal. I'd like to see Johncock as crumber in the forward lines (perhaps Massie comes in to replace him). McLeod maybe needs to go on the ball for bursts(to fill the Goodwin void). Bock up back.

Couldn't agree more about Griffen! I reckon he should've spent for time up there on the weekend. When he was up there he contested the ball, but unfortunately he wasn't given much of an opportunity to stay up there.

Now your talkin' :thumbsu:

Couldn't agree more about Griffen! I reckon he should've spent for time up there on the weekend. When he was up there he contested the ball, but unfortunately he wasn't given much of an opportunity to stay up there.

And agree with you, but we would have to bring in another player not in the best of form to replace him. Probably when and if we get a to near a full list we can afford that luxury.

I'm a big fan of resting ruckmen full stop. And I reckon we've now got a genuine resting ruckmen in Griff - the first for some time. He is quick on the lead and has a great grab and kick.

But I reckon he is struggling physically ATM. We saw a couple of weeks ago the lind of work he can produce up forward - but I get the feeling he is running out of puff at this stage of the season - and trying to nurse the ankle.

Long term I think he will be very dangerous up forward - particularly when he eats more...:D

I'm a big fan of resting ruckmen full stop. And I reckon we've now got a genuine resting ruckmen in Griff - the first for some time. He is quick on the lead and has a great grab and kick.

But I reckon he is struggling physically ATM. We saw a couple of weeks ago the lind of work he can produce up forward - but I get the feeling he is running out of puff at this stage of the season - and trying to nurse the ankle.

Long term I think he will be very dangerous up forward - particularly when he eats more...:D
I also wished Griffin had spent more time up forward the last 2 weeks when the forward line has struggled.

Given Griffin hasn't been the same since his ankle injury, I reckon it is time to give 2 weeks with Centrals (he will only miss 1 AFL with the break) & bring in Maric. We need to manage Grif to get him right for later in the year.

Get the Rolls Royce in the middle. :thumbsu:

That's something that's debatable Kane. A matter of opinion.

But what's not debatable is how he let's his team-mates down with his soft attack (wrong word for him) on the ball and the man. He was exposed once again and has to go.

My changes would be

Out: Jericho, Goodwin (inj)

Ins: From Massie, Hinge, Vince and Douglas depending on structure.

We are actually down 2 mid-fielders with Reilly and Goodwin out, so the Ins should be mid-fielders to maintain the balance.

I'd narrow it down to Massie and Vince, with Vince getting a run on the ball to see how he copes at this level in that role.

Both players are in top form in the Snaffle at the minute.

Agree with the out's, i think it's important that jericho relaises that he had a bad performance and he will have to step up a gear in intensity if he is to maintain good for in AFL. I still think Vince looks a bit premature out there, some will disagree, I reckon Douglas is a better option, He is like van Berlo but a year behind and the kid has played a fair bit of footy for his young age, got good skills but is a small frame, still i reckon get the gametime into him now and he'll pay dividens later on.

In: Massie
Out: Jericho

Emergencies: Vince, Douglas, Jericho

So who comes in for Goodwin?