Tom Boyd

Bulldog fans sook and whinge more than any other fans on bigfooty when posters criticise their players. Is it a product of a small town team with no flags since the 60s? Strange.
No, it's a product of fans of opposition clubs and the media telling us we need to sell the farm for the likes of a retiring Justin Koschitzke and Tyrone Vickery to fix the fact that we don't have any key forwards and when we not only do what they suggest but go even better by recruiting one of the most promising young key forwards in the league those very same opposition fans and media week after week irrationally slam the deal and the player for being terrible.

Their is Weitering now, who has been excellent thus far, but if he doesn't become a Matthew Scarlett type full back he will probably get criticized soon enough
McCartin too. But funnily enough they only need one in Vic. Really they've had 3 which they have picked on - Goddard (his early years), Watts (conveniently when St Kilda hits premiership contention) and now Boyd (right when Watts hits career best form). There were other Pick 1s but it's avoiding that 'shitty pick 1' target. I would argue Kreuzer deserved just as much scrutiny with his injury woes. I think both McCartin and Weitering will escape it - but not this year's due to the even nature of the top 5 picks this year.

No, it's a product of fans of opposition clubs and the media telling us we need to sell the farm for the likes of a retiring Justin Koschitzke and Tyrone Vickery to fix the fact that we don't have any key forwards and when we not only do what they suggest but go even better by recruiting one of the most promising young key forwards in the league those very same opposition fans and media week after week irrationally slam the deal and the player for being terrible.
I'm not talking about this week, I'm talking about every week. Chips on every Footscray shoulder. I know that if someone criticises the dogs or one of their players, without fail there will be a throng of angry bulldog supporters taking the bait.

I think Boyd cops the criticism because of the size of his contract relative to performance. No matter how the Bulldogs manage the payment, he is still getting megabucks compared to players of far greater ability in that same team. Not his fault, but just questions the wisdom of that decision. Dogs still struggling to score. At least Buddy was a proven champion when Sydney lured him up north.

Boyd may yet become a star. I hope so for the Dog's sake as well as his own.

I'm not talking about this week, I'm talking about every week. Chips on every Footscray shoulder. I know that if someone criticises the dogs or one of their players, without fail there will be a throng of angry bulldog supporters taking the bait.

This is bigfooty.... What else would you expect?

On Footywire u can compare Boyd to McCartin from the same age:

McCartin 7.8 disposals and 1.1 goals per game
Boyd 8.2 disposals and 1.1 goals per game

Career:
McCartin: 8.4 disposals and .9 goals per game
Boyd: 8.0 disposals and 1 goal per game

Yet you look here and McCartin is a future superstar and Boyd is the worste player ever. McCartin has never kicked more than 2 goals in a game before and he's a safe bet ... but Boyd is a dud ...

I think McCartin will be a star ... but its harsh for people to just dismiss Boyd entirely
You do realise Paddys stats are bought down significantly by the 4 games he was knocked out in?

I think Boyd cops the criticism because of the size of his contract relative to performance. No matter how the Bulldogs manage the payment, he is still getting megabucks compared to players of far greater ability in that same team. Not his fault, but just questions the wisdom of that decision. Dogs still struggling to score. At least Buddy was a proven champion when Sydney lured him up north.

Boyd may yet become a star. I hope so for the Dog's sake as well as his own.
If you are on the big deal you get slammed more thats a fact in sports, Boyd and the dogs knew the risks and have to put up with it.

Anthony Martial was singed by Man Unted in a similar sort of way and the transfer got slammed in the press even more harder then the Boyd deal but Martial made the press shut up.

Shock horror, fans stick up for their player.

I know that if a thread is posted about the Dogs, without fail there will be a throng of Crows fans potting the club because they're still cut up over a loss.

I suppose Pyke and Fagan really set the standard in that regard.

Paddy McCartin is 20 and shows heaps more promise than Boyd.

Matter of opinion, that one.

There is nothing you can say at this stage that would constitute "proof" for your opinion.

You watch McCartin, we'll watch Boyd and let's hope they both fulfil their potential.

Did I say that peanut? All I'm suggesting is that Paddy McCartin in his second year is showing more promise than Tom Boyd is in his third. Nor is Paddy on a long term multi million dollar deal. There is a significant disconnect between the terms of Boyd's contract and his performance.

You have to ask how is this situation going to affect contract negotiations with Bontempelli, Stringer et al in the near future. Will they be happy to accept less money than they would get elsewhere, just to prop up Boyd's contract?
Bontempelli and Stringer have already signed long term peanut.
Did I say that peanut? All I'm suggesting is that Paddy McCartin in his second year is showing more promise than Tom Boyd is in his third. Nor is Paddy on a long term multi million dollar deal. There is a significant disconnect between the terms of Boyd's contract and his performance.

You have to ask how is this situation going to affect contract negotiations with Bontempelli, Stringer et al in the near future. Will they be happy to accept less money than they would get elsewhere, just to prop up Boyd's contract?
Bulldog fans sook and whinge more than any other fans on bigfooty when posters criticise their players. Is it a product of a small town team with no flags since the 60s? Strange.
No we only sook about umpires like Troy Parnell and have a thread with 50,000 posts on it calling umpires cheats because we cant accept being beaten by a better side.

Just watch the dogs push Bob Murphy to the kerb with the captaincy and hand it too bonti quick smart. Clubs like the blues will swoop like vultures asap. Leaves their other headache in waiting Stringer, just watch them throw money at him when the time comes. This has nothing to do with hurley. How the **** are going to afford him. Secondly hurly is so overpriced, he has a clever Manager. This is the media along with the bulldogs attempting to manipulate a young player and gullible public. Stuff the dogs, they made their bed now they can sleep in it

Yer Paddy has really on the set on fire so far. Hes dominated and won games of his own boot. Thats what we expect from key forwards in their third seasons. They should be winning games for their club otherwise they are crap and should be let go.

No he hasn't because he has had two interrupted seasons. So nice injury troll.
He is also not getting 1 mill a season for the next 7 either.
He is also two years younger than Boyd.

And with all that going against him, he has still shown more than Boyd.

Just watch the dogs push Bob Murphy to the kerb with the captaincy and hand it too bonti quick smart. Clubs like the blues will swoop like vultures asap. Leaves their other headache in waiting Stringer, just watch them throw money at him when the time comes. This has nothing to do with hurley. How the **** are going to afford him. Secondly hurly is so overpriced, he has a clever Manager. This is the media along with the bulldogs attempting to manipulate a young player and gullible public. Stuff the dogs, they made their bed now they can sleep in it

What.Are.You.Talking.About?

Hahahaha

My team's better'n yours.

So there!! :p

This.

Media sticks to it's stories despite the facts in most cases.

Dogs members know that the reason we paid much of Griffen's salary was because it was the way to pay 92.5% of the salary cap (after the movements of Griff, Higgins and Cooney who were on pretty good cash). We were way under.

Boyd's salary is being heavily front loaded (again, salary cap room), and will drop substantially when other young stars are ready for renewal.

Can anyone believe that the club hadn't worked this out in advance?

Well, the media doesn't get it - or chooses to ignore it.

Never let the truth stand in the way of a sensationalist article.

Why wouldnt the club bump up players contracts instead of giving it to GWS?

Is there an AFL rule that you cant redo contracts?

Hahahaha

My team's better'n yours.

So there!! :p
WTF? What a child like response.

What has it to do with teams? You are better than us even if you were pretty well beaten on Saturday. But this was in response to a silly post about McCartin

Care to respond like a grown up?

WTF? What a child like response.

Care to respond like a grown up?

That, my good man, was my understanding of the intent of your post.

No-one's as good as my club's players. An' dat's da troof!

That is what you're saying - even if you don't realise it! :eek::oops:

Now, let's try to understand who the childlike posters are ...sonny.

That, my good man, was my understanding of the intent of your post.

No-one's as good as my club's players. An' dat's da troof!

That is what you're saying - even if you don't realise it! :eek::oops:

Now, let's try to understand who the childlike posters are ...sonny.
Wow. What a terrible lack of understanding. Obviously pointless trying to reason with someone as silly and childlike as you.

Embarrassing for you, but it is apparent that is a modis operandi for precious Bulldog supporter
Goodbye peanut

Okay. Here's my objective response:

Boyd has had just the one pre-season. GWS let him bulk up, for some reason, so he started way back with the Dogs.

His contract is irrelevant.

He is not 21 yet. McCartin is not 18.

McCartin is a diabetic. Who knows how that may affect his future in the game (hopefully not, though).

Whether or not he is showing "more than Boyd" is your opinion, nothing more.

My opinion is that Boyd is going okay at this stage, and will improve in the coming years.

...and my team is better than yours!

Wow. What a terrible lack of understanding. Obviously pointless trying to reason with someone as silly and childlike as you.

Embarrassing for you, but it is apparent that is a modis operandi for precious Bulldog supporter
Goodbye peanut

Quoted for irony.

Huge irony at that!

It is your opinion that he shows more promise, which your entitled to. You cannot judge either player now, it is far too early in the.

Matter of opinion

You do realise Paddys stats are bought down significantly by the 4 games he was knocked out in?

With all of those concussions, I'd say his future in the game isn't looking too good.

Wouldn't you?

Bulldogs supporters just going to embarrassing lengths now to defend Boyd.

What was his excuse for having another shocker against us on Saturday night? I'm sure Bulldogs supporters here will find something to defend it.

Wouldn't surprise me if he gets dropped again this week, although the injury to Redpath might save him.

No we only sook when we lose and because we cannot accept when are beaten by a better side. Then we question the integrity of umpires and create a thread calling an umpire a cheat that receives about 50000 posts from ferals across the border and goes on and on and on and on and on.
You sound ridiculous mate.