Tom Boyd

Competed well, took a couple of strong grabs, for once was paid a few chopping of the arms.

Any other 20 year old kicking 3 wit 18 touches would be praised. But need to keep trolling boyd because he's boyd and no matter what we need to keep talking about his money.

You're complaining about trolling? Bit rich.

Didn't see the game, stats look reasonable though.

Anyone who says Boyd was no good last night was not watching the game.
Three goals return was not bad. Was not dominant but doesnt deserve the critisism he is getting.
Conversely I dont think there is any cause for Bulldog supporters to be too excited. He wasnt a physical force up forward and need to learn how to impact the game by using his body.
I have been critical of Boyd but have always said he will probably turn out to be a Hawkins type forward which will have the Bulldogs with a good FF.
Still way overs in pay, but that will always be the case.

Some continuity in Boyd's game will really help.

Still has the tools to be the player the doggies need him to be. Keep the faith I think.

Overrated season - had some very good games but also some nondescript games. Not the season of player around the $700k a season mark. Is there much scope for improvement in him, seeing as he has been in the system for a number of years now, is a one-paced mid with questionable disposal and decision-making skills, and still sits behind the likes of Kennedy, Hanneberry and Jack as key mids for the Swans? Would he be able to carry his team's midfield (together with Hanneberry) when Kennedy and Jack finish up? Perhaps, but there's a lower ceiling of improvement than there is for Boyd - the challenge for Boyd is to actually improve which is very much yet to be determined, but there's no denying he has the capacity to improve and do so significantly due to his age and body size/position.
Haha Tom Mitchell on 700k? Looks like boyds contract has got your head spinning mate, delusional

There are many players in the league earning well above their output.

But onto Boyd, he was brought into the club as a long term prospect. Why don't most of you see that? Judge him in 2 - 3 years time.

There are many players in the league earning well above their output.

But onto Boyd, he was brought into the club as a long term prospect. Why don't most of you see that? Judge him in 2 - 3 years time.

It's called jealousy.

Boyd is tall, strong, earns a million a year to do something enjoyable and most importantly has awesome hair.

What do his sad, bitter, keyboard warrior, flog, trolling critics have to look forward to?

image.jpg

Didn't see the game, stats look reasonable though.

Kicked more goals, had more disposals and took more marks than Hawkins.

Would have had a few more marks too but had his arms chopped and got frees instead.

More impressive was his ability below his knees. Kept his feet a lot and got some good releasing handballs

Would have had a few more marks too but had his arms chopped and got frees instead.

More impressive was his ability below his knees. Kept his feet a lot and got some good releasing handballs

Hawkins wasn't left fifty meters clear with 30 seconds to go in junk time either. Stanley kicked 5 though who is more comparable to Boyd as they played the same role.

Stanley wasn't the primary fwd against Geelong's top line backline.

He was playing as a second fwd against a Dogs backline missing 4 or 5 of its best six.

Boyd wasn't playing against 2 key defenders who's combined age is 41 and total games is 15 ...

Lots of excuses. Boyd was ok not great as many have said. Got lucky with some umpires call and goaled. He shouldn't have to ruck.

He was good, justified selection. Reminds me of Hawkins early a lot, same jumping too early and timing issue. One thing he could learn from Hawkins is intensity at the contest, Hawkins isn't quick but he attacks the ball with intent. Very nice foot skills.

Lots of excuses. Boyd was ok not great as many have said. Got lucky with some umpires call and goaled. He shouldn't have to ruck.

I'd argue he was better than ok but not great. I'm running with good. And I'll take that performance every week. But at 20 and being forced to play ruck - you'd think he will have far better games in his career.

He was good, justified selection. Reminds me of Hawkins early a lot, same jumping too early and timing issue. One thing he could learn from Hawkins is intensity at the contest, Hawkins isn't quick but he attacks the ball with intent. Very nice foot skills.

You are right - his low aggression has been criticised by many. But last night I thought was his most aggressive game for us. We are hoping aggression comes as his body gets stronger and his confidence grows.

I see a lot of posts on here similar to when West Coast gave Naitanui a pay rise. Some don't appreciate a players complete worth.

There is more to a player than their immediate output on the field, although that holds the strongest weight. The doggies have invested upfront a lot in Boyd to get him into their team, they are hoping for that investment to pay off later in his career as his wage normalises and he matures and his output increases.

Despite some of his off field indiscretions he can still be a poster boy for the club and I'm sure a lot of supporters bought into the club off the back of the Boyd signing, they were crying out for a forward and the club did what they had to do to get their man. You've just got to hope that by front loading his contact they can now keep the rest of their stars as well.

I won't judge Boyd for another few years, but I'm sure most teams would love to have him, even if they had to pay overs initially.

Complain about excuses ... then give your own :o

I don't see people here saying he was great ... but anyone who is not flat out hoping he fails should be able to see it was a promising game

You are right - his low aggression has been criticised by many. But last night I thought was his most aggressive game for us. We are hoping aggression comes as his body gets stronger and his confidence grows.

He's aggressive when the ball or an opponent is within reach, what he doesn't do is run hard at the ball or the player when it isn't. Will come in time.

Two other observations, one, he's got into a habit of trying to mark the ball with his palms facing almost vertically upward, which is why a lot of the time it hits them and flies up in the air.

And two, gawd he's huge, bigger frame than Hawkins.

Had a good first half, pretty much unsighted after half time apart from the junk time goal. Peter Wright has had 5 better games this year than Boyd's game last night.

True and when Peter Wright played against our defence this year he had five touches and didn't score.

He's aggressive when the ball or an opponent is within reach, what he doesn't do is run hard at the ball or the player when it isn't. Will come in time.

Two other observations, one, he's got into a habit of trying to mark the ball with his palms facing almost vertically upward, which is why a lot of the time it hits them and flies up in the air.

And two, gawd he's huge, bigger frame than Hawkins.

Yeah his marking technique has also been questioned. You'd hope he and the club are onto it.

Big frame. Big arse. Going to be a hard unit to shift once the strength comes. Scarily not sure he goes to the gym much as tank building has been the priority.

Was good last night.
He'll be an ok player and be servicable for the dogs. Dont see the star quality because of his angles and ground work.

Like Stanley last night. Great game he marks runs and kicks beautifully in a straight line, but again stanleys angles, turning, field footy smarts and ground work is terrible at best.

And before people get their back up Im not saying boyd and stanley arent needed players they serve a very high need. But youll never see them dominate a game/seasons like roughead, franklin, pavlich, reiwoldt etc

For Dogs fans let's be honest here, if we had signed Tom Boyd to the same contract you would mock him just as much in return for all the 1 possession games and not give him much credit either for a 3 goal, 18 touch performance, which is fair enough, you would obviously want more games like that then 1 possession lacklustre efforts, but until the consistency emerges he is gonna get trolled so live with it. You guys would do the same to us, I mean you mock Paddy on probably 1/5 of the same contract so you know it is true :p

And to my fellow Saints fans, leave the kid alone. It is the Western Bulldogs money, they can pay whoever the hell they want with it. Heck if they wanna bring back Liam Jones and give him $750,000 a year too let them :P As far as I know we are not responsible for paying their salary cap so who cares who they sign, it does not hurt us in any way at all, sure the Dogs could have signed a talented big man on the same money who was in his prime but given even the most ardent Dogs fans were not expecting such a meteoric rise for their team so fast it made sense for them to sign someone young for when they expected to be in their "window".

Tom Boyd could turn out to be a good player, a great one even for his career or even just a year, though good luck trying to get his manager to take less then his last contract if he does either of those things, or he could become a bust, in which case the Dogs offer him a lower salary or offload him and then retool and try again with their next big hope while continuing to fairly reward those who have proven their talents and loyalty.