Injury Tom Hawkins - foot soreness

• Thread starter Thread starter hamG

The way Ch 9 reported it, the club will sit down with Hawk, his manager and family to decide what course of action to take in the short term. He can have surgery that will effectively end his season or play on with the knowledge that he can develop stress fractures that could be career threatening.

Will be interesting to see what the decision is. Hopefully with a month or so rest the hot spot will die down and he'll be back before the finals.

Either way, JPod looks like he has booked a finals spot

If this is the case, and given Tom's history, he needs to go in for surgery. No other option. His presence is needed in 5 years from now, not this year.

Doesn't look or sound too good right now, but hopefully time and more medical info will reveal all is not as bad as it seems..........

This short-term uncertainty raises an interesting scenario though...........if we were to lose Hawkins for the mid / long term, and Mooney were to retire at seasons end, how would we re-structure the forward line for next season? Who do you think would replace them?

Doesn't look or sound too good right now, but hopefully time and more medical info will reveal all is not as bad as it seems..........

This short-term uncertainty raises an interesting scenario though...........if we were to lose Hawkins for the mid / long term, and Mooney were to retire at seasons end, how would we re-structure the forward line for next season? Who do you think would replace them?

Mooney has indicated that he may play next year if he's travelling ok.
But surely if Hawkins has the op he would be ready next year? That would be the whole point of not playing this year.
Hawkins should absolutely not risk his career.
He is already a Premiership player who played a significant role in that win. He has another 150-200 games in him if he gets himself right.
But hopefully it settles down over the next month and it's a moot point.
Funny how a month ago we were all saying we had too many talls in the forward line!

Mooney has indicated that he may play next year if he's travelling ok.
But surely if Hawkins has the op he would be ready next year? That would be the whole point of not playing this year.
Hawkins should absolutely not risk his career.
He is already a Premiership player who played a significant role in that win. He has another 150-200 games in him if he gets himself right.
But hopefully it settles down over the next month and it's a moot point.
Funny how a month ago we were all saying we had too many talls in the forward line!

Agree. But I am interested in how you'd see the forward line being re-structured in the hypothetical event that both Hawkins and Mooney were unavailable (for whatever reason) next year.

Should've explained my scenario more clearly :o

Agree. But I am interested in how you'd see the forward line being re-structured in the hypothetical event that both Hawkins and Mooney were unavailable (for whatever reason) next year.

Should've explained my scenario more clearly :o

It would be "interesting" to say the least!
Obviously we would find out pretty quick whether Pods was a flash in the pan. In fact we'll get a sneak peek on Saturday when Fletcher lines up on him..although I wouldn't be surprised if they tried to let Fletcher free-wheel a bit rather than a lock-down role on our only tall forward. That is of course if Pods plays!
I doubt Mitch Brown would be up to it all of next year, given his body type. I would think either we'd have to try Ben Johnson? Has the bulk.
I really reckon, though, that Moons would give us another year, if that were the scenario we were facing. Plus Wells might be putting Plan C into action as we speak!

It would be "interesting" to say the least!
Obviously we would find out pretty quick whether Pods was a flash in the pan. In fact we'll get a sneak peek on Saturday when Fletcher lines up on him..although I wouldn't be surprised if they tried to let Fletcher free-wheel a bit rather than a lock-down role on our only tall forward. That is of course if Pods plays!
I doubt Mitch Brown would be up to it all of next year, given his body type. I would think either we'd have to try Ben Johnson? Has the bulk.
I really reckon, though, that Moons would give us another year, if that were the scenario we were facing. Plus Wells might be putting Plan C into action as we speak!

I know its easy to get caught up in the hype and excitement, but I truly believe that Pods has the ability, both mental and physical, to play a leading role in the forward line for the next few years, barring injury.

I know nothing of Mitch Brown, nor Ben Johnson, other than the evaluations submitted to this forum by people better qualified and informed than I. Given Mitch in particular has had so little game time, I sometimes wonder if they're being a little too early and optimistic in their opinion, but then they obviously see some raw potential to make that call.

Ben Johnson sounds interesting - I have no opportunity to see him play but again, informed observers suggest he has some ability. Is it good enough to get him to the seniors?

What about Trent West - is he able to re-invent himself and find a permanent position in the Cats forward line?

Kudos to Stephen Wells - the guy has proven himself over the years hasn't he? Not sure what Plan C would be, but I'm comfortable leaving it in his hands!

Geelong, pick 26

Without a hint of consideration, Stephen Wells delares "Player 140625 ............Nick Sautner- Sandringham Dragons" :D

I am more worried that we have a huge gap between Pods/Moons and our young forward in Brown if Hawkins always has extended stints on the sidelines.

We'll be back at square one with zero forwardline!!

Eh, this sounds a bit shit, but I suppose the club will hopefully take the long term view with the boy unless they can be certain he'll be able to be eased back in without risking stress fractures. Must be frustrating for him considering he'd begun to adapt well to his new role.

Do whatever it takes to hopefully secure his long-term viability; if its surgery now so be it. Would be shattering for him though, far and away his best and most consistent period of footy to date.
And for those sooking about "dont play him in the ruck" it looked to me like it was the contested mark in the forward line that caused the injury. Just bloody bad luck.

I am more worried that we have a huge gap between Pods/Moons and our young forward in Brown if Hawkins always has extended stints on the sidelines.

We'll be back at square one with zero forwardline!!

Sadly that's just damn bad luck.
We banked on N Ablett and that went to shit. Then Hawkins...
Like I said earlier...Moons is in good form and shape...throw some money at him to stay another season! If Gaz leaves any, that is...

Watching bombers presser nothing was ever mentioned by him about surgery... if it's just a "hot spot", as we've all been led to believe it is, how would surgery fix that anyway? Hopefully just a beat up by ch9 and a few weeks lay off should sort out the problem as first thought and the club just want to make sure hawk and his family are informed of all the possibilities/outcomes...

The hot spot may have been followed up with a CT scan which could give more detailed info about the severity of that hot spot. That could reveal what sort of bone injury there is, and if a small fracture is detected, then is the issue of what to do-6 weeks non weight bearing with cast, or screw fixation with rest. This is all speculation, but in reality that is what happens after a "hot spot" is found.

Hoping CT scan in Tomahawk's case is normal.

His previous hot spots have been treated with the moonboot option, and he's done well. Egan's situation was entirely different- a real fracture, not just a hot spot, and the screw option didn't work, which can happen.

The club, stating the obvious, just needs to get it right. Hopefully that doesn't involve surgery.

It certainly means now that Ottens return is no longer controversial in terms of whom he replaces. Assuming that Mooney and Pods stay fit we would be one tall short anyway with Hawkins fit assuming that both Ottens and Blake stay in the team.

It's not the end of the world from the team perspective. But it is a real blow to Hawkins himself who looked to have found some real form over the past month.

The way Ch 9 reported it, the club will sit down with Hawk, his manager and family to decide what course of action to take in the short term. He can have surgery that will effectively end his season or play on with the knowledge that he can develop stress fractures that could be career threatening.

Hang on - I thought it was just a hot spot. He hasn't broken or fractured anything. Why would you have surgery if there's no break in the first place???

I'm surprised people are concerned to be honest, half this board has been advocating resting players all season - well you've got your wish.

Hang on - I thought it was just a hot spot. He hasn't broken or fractured anything. Why would you have surgery if there's no break in the first place???

I'm surprised people are concerned to be honest, half this board has been advocating resting players all season - well you've got your wish.

Did you have a wry smile on your face when you typed that?

Its a worry, Hawkins has been troubled by Hot Spots, Stress Fractures since joining the AFL.

July 10th, 2009 - A stress fracture in his leg marred his first pre-season (2006/2007) and the fragility of his feet first became evident as hot spots developed as the year wore on. The spots flared midway through the 2008 season, forcing him to the sidelines for a month, and he spent the bulk of the `09 pre-season in a moon-boot.
But now those problems are seemingly behind him.

Source: http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2009/07/10/83765_gfc.html

Does he need to lose more weight to so there is less impact on his feet / legs?

Its not a severe blow to our top team but Hawkins is great backup to the Ruck as well as Tall forwards, we could cover injuries to either position without much loss of talent.

Its a worry, Hawkins has been troubled by Hot Spots, Stress Fractures since joining the AFL.

Does he need to lose more weight to so there is less impact on his feet / legs?

l was thinking the same thing,slim down like how goose did but look what happened to him. l hate hearing about these foot injury's they are the devils curse

Hopefully it isn't as serious as Dr. Larkins was suggesting on the news where he stated something along the line of potentially ending his career if they get it wrong.

I'm sure they'll treat it correctly and make sure he is right for the long term even if it means some short term pain.

Career ending is getting a bit carried away. It's probably the same problem he has had before - in the second half of the 08 season and the 09 pre season. Moonboot for a month or two is the typical treatment for hot spots isn't it? No point in surgery - there is nothing to repair yet. Plus, foot surgery hasn't worked out too well for Geelong before.

Just send him to that crazy kraut doctor for some unicorn blood injections.

I don't think it's anywhere near career threatening-YET.

I just think the way Bomber was talking, was simply a club that is still emotionally scarred by, and has learnt the lessons of what happened to Matty Egan, so is determined to be conservative with these types of foot injuries from here on in.

So I really don't want to see Tomahawk before about round 18, and that may be the course of action we take. Get him right for when it counts and lower the risk of re-injury.

Thank goodness we have Pods to cover for him while he's out-at the risk of sounding like a broken record-thankyou Wells, outstanding job you do.

Questions have to be asked whether his body can stand up to the roll he plays in the team. I doubt his big frame is able to do the amount of running he has been doing.