MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension

We need to challenge simply on principle. I'd rather Tom miss 2 than us just lie down and take it. This is blatant hypocrisy which time and time and time again has gone against us.

Commentators should not be allowed to highlight potential MRP incidents, if Richo and BT didn't flog themselves raw over 18 replays of the incident on live TV he doesn't go, the broadcasters are the real ones running the show, because the MRP are too ****ing lazy to make their own decisions, let's just let the commentators who have inherent biases do it for us. I am ****ing filthy at this

Wonder when the AFL will finally succeed in legislating all form of physical contact from the game?
In the minute before the punch Hawkins was brilliant. Slamming into players, wrestling. "Flying the flag" if you like.
Plenty of physical stuff.
But punching crosses the line.

Surely you'd be fine with your son wrestling / pushing in the school yard or in the neighbourhood and receiving the same back?
But once a punch is thrown its too much. Or would you be ok with your kid punching or being punched?

"It's ok mate, you were just being physical".

**** you MRP and **** you AFL.

Park a line in the sand here you pricks.

GO Catters

I don't have a problem with Hawk being suspended. It's just the fact that other players do the same thing, it's a fine. He does it and they make an example of him with a suspension. Then it reverts back to fines. Oh and this is a story from last year.

If other players are suspended from now on, which isn't what happened last year, then his suspension will be much easier to swallow this time. But right now, I doubt they will be. And that's more than a little frustrating.

That they don't take precedence into account is absolutely baffling.
Yeah .......it's a conspiracy :rolleyes:
The amount of blokes jumping at shadows in here is laughable.

Hawkins is the only player to get done for it......must be a technique problem. More likely he has the wrong jumper on.....
In the lead up to this week it was clear to every literate man, woman and dog that the first decent jumper punch this weekend would cop a week. The moment it happened, he was gawwwwn... the commentators knew it, his girlfriend knew it and I reckon he knew it, too - especially given that he hit the bloke in the jaw. Jumper has nothing to do with it.

A week for being stupid, cant really argue. Yeah previous indiscretions have gone unpunished but there was a clear focus to cut them out, especially after Cotchin so the next person was always going to cop it. Silly boy.

**** you MRP and **** you AFL.

Park a line in the sand here you pricks.

GO Catters
Should probably throw a **** YOU HAWKINS in as well

He is 100% responsible for his own actions, and knowing the talk about it of late there is no excuse

In the minute before the punch Hawkins was brilliant. Slamming into players, wrestling. "Flying the flag" if you like.
Plenty of physical stuff.
But punching crosses the line.

Surely you'd be fine with your son wrestling / pushing in the school yard or in the neighbourhood and receiving the same back?
But once a punch is thrown its too much. Or would you be ok with your kid punching or being punched?

"It's ok mate, you were just being physical".

We'll have a hybrid game of soccer or touch footy soon........you can't take their legs, you can't get them high, you can't touch their backs, you can't chop their arms - can you even use a hip and shoulder any more? - and you certainly can't shove them........if you do, guys will start flopping around like a fish out of water to.....oh, wait

A week for being stupid, cant really argue. Yeah previous indiscretions have gone unpunished but there was a clear focus to cut them out, especially after Cotchin so the next person was always going to cop it. Silly boy.
No probs with the prognosis but geelong once again crucified by the mrp. Lets give gws a free run at it si mclaughlin and his cronies can live off the meat. Disgusting prejudice. Afl are bigots. Bring them to my face so i can tell them directly

Use precedence and watch the qc's come running.
No precedence used and they've got zip.
I don't disagree

But I don't think it is right,

of course doing it this way also allows them to make it up on the run and change the 'interpretation' depending on the public mood

-That isn't me complaining about this suspension by the way, i fully expected it

In the lead up to this week it was clear to every literate man, woman and dog that the first decent jumper punch this weekend would cop a week. The moment it happened, he was gawwwwn... the commentators knew it, his girlfriend knew it and I reckon he knew it, too - especially given that he hit the bloke in the jaw. Jumper has nothing to do with it.

The problem is he is not being suspended because of what he's done but because they have decided to have a sook about 'image of the game' and change the rules mid season. Numerous players have done the same and worse this year and not been suspended. You can't legislate on the run like that no business would get away with it. I would challenge it all the way to court if needs be but i doubt the club will they will take the week (clubs are soft at challenging now).

He is 100% responsible for his own actions, and knowing the talk about it of late there is no excuse

Dont disagree.

But if the clubs dont start challenging afl crap they will never change.

nope...

Im ****ing melting on this... and when I wanna melt.. im gonna ****ing melt my way...

Tommy had a hand full of jumper and pushed him away. Can't prove intent and thats that.

My melt will not include a FU Tommy....

well at least tonight anyway...

maybe later..

but not now...

Melty continues...

FU MRP!!

GO Catters

But he wasn't the next to digress was he? Wouldn't that have been Cotchin?

100% correct - when is a crackdown not a crackdown ?
The week after players were put on notice Cotchin and Jones transgress and zero action
Leaves the whole thing open to interpretation , very poor implementation which can lead to boundaries being pushed
I've seen junior footballers emulate what their heroes do with thing like sling tackles and gut punches - not good for long term viability
AFL needs to be firmer and clearer and cut out the grey to ease frustration all round IMO

It saddens me how much we've sanitised this game.

They've eliminated the thuggery, and outright violence, but they've swung too far the other way imo.

We ask grown men to compete relentlessly, we roar at them over the fence, but expect choir boys?

Asking athletes to compete on the edge, with their testosterone and white line fever at its peak, but control themselves in a clinical, cold manner seems a contradiction.

We have a guy vomiting on the sidelines a week or two ago from a blatant punch to the stomach, but everyone wants to make an example of Hawkins love tap?? Sheesh
I'd argue we're more lenient than we used to be on this kind of thing. Pre-trial by video days if an umpire saw the Hawkins thing he'd probably get a couple of weeks. The umpires now don't really have to make that call. Neville Crowe got 4 weeks and missed a grand final without even connecting!! There's been a few others over the years where the impact hasn't been all that forceful and the player gets rubbed out.

Jumper punches feel relatively new, though. The players are too smart for their own good. Amazingly they are able to push their competitive spirit down just enough to jumper punch, but not actually punch.

I feel bad for Tom and us that he is the one who cops it (the others this year should have been suspended), but it seems fair enough.

I love the physical side of the game, but I hate jumper scragging. A lot of faux-tough playersseem to love it. Pay a free against the guy who first grabs on or who won't let go, and if necessary suspend people who use the jumper grab to disguise sly punches.

The problem is he is not being suspended because of what he's done but because they have decided to have a sook about 'image of the game' and change the rules mid season. Numerous players have done the same and worse this year and not been suspended. You can't legislate on the run like that no business would get away with it. I would challenge it all the way to court if needs be but i doubt the club will they will take the week (clubs are soft at challenging now).
Adrian Anderson was no fool. Can tell he is a lawyer by trade.
Early pleas see sanction reductions. No precedents allowed.

Both stop tribunal appearances in nearly all cases. Just what the AFL wanted.
Now he's implemented a similar system at Cricket Australia.

Yeah .......it's a conspiracy :rolleyes:
The amount of blokes jumping at shadows in here is laughable.
I would find it laughable if it wasn't so disappointing that there are a number of posters on this forum who refuse to engage in polite discourse or express a difference of opinion without resorting to a saracastic or belligerent tone.

Until everyone's voice is treated with respect, there will be countless would-be posters on this forum choosing to remain silent in the shadows, all too aware that their opinion will be met with childish ridicule.

I'm just glad I'm not a kid nowadays who's desperate to discuss all things Geelong, because this board would've turned me right off.

Stupid and deserved a week as had form on this exact type of incident.

But on the other hand I am literally fuming that again a Geelong incident is graded 'intentional'. No doubt it is intentional but nearly EVERY ####ing time I see a high hit made by someone else that is no less 'intentional' they get 'reckless'. Rarely even negligent. Just reckless. Then we get 'intentional' or at the least negligent (rare).

This is the difference between getting a fine and two weeks. Would really like someone at the club to compile a list of footage and then a please explain from the AFL. Am absolutely fed up.

I didn't ask for an echo chamber. I don't need the validation of others. Merely the ability to express differing opinions with a basic level of respect.

Last edited by a moderator:

MRP / Trib. Tom Hawkins "made an example of" - accepts 1 match suspension