gocats88

geelong,cats,gfc,pivots
How come people are waiting for him to fall over. he has done his job and more 23 goals in 10 games after just playing 5-6 to last games three years. hopefully he can turn out to be our thrid tall over the next couple of with hawkins and mooney. he leads well and is 197cm 97kgs what more could you ask out if him.

Re: Tom lornegan

How come people are waiting for him to fall over. he has done his job and more 23 goals in 10 games after just playing 5-6 to last games three years. hopefully he can turn out to be our thrid tall over the next couple of with hawkins and mooney. he leads well and is 197cm 97kgs what more could you ask out if him.

Couldn't agree with you more gc88.
He still hasn't played more than 20 games, yet because he has been around for a while people expect more from him at this stage in his career.
He will remain in the 22 for his football nous and I am confident he will get better with every game. I magine having your kidney obliterated and then have the courage to come back and play. That in itself shows the character of this young man and that is what Geelong relishes.
His job is to get 1 -3 goals per game which he is doing at the moment and as his confidence grows so will his performances. Have a look at the improvement in his kicking since ha came back.
Go Tommy.

not waiting for him to fall over but like prismall, waiting for him to present when we are struggling or the game is tight.

yeah, he looks okay kicking 3-4 against the likes of melbourne and richmond but he couldnt buy a mark against the hawks.

not waiting for him to fall over but like prismall, waiting for him to present when we are struggling or the game is tight.

yeah, he looks okay kicking 3-4 against the likes of melbourne and richmond but he couldnt buy a mark against the hawks.

Prepare for people to drill you for this. I even got a 2 day ban on this topic.

People do not like you having an opinion if it is not that sames as theirs. Be careful. You'll find that people have a sook to mods when you disagree with them over this topic.

For the record, i completely agree with you. I firmly believe that Hawkins is a better option when fit and firing, however if Lonners continues to kick 3-4 each week, then he stays in the side and hopefully becomes a premiership player at senior level.

Well you couldnt ask him for a spare kidney could you ........ :p

Prepare for people to drill you for this. I even got a 2 day ban on this topic.

People do not like you having an opinion if it is not that sames as theirs. Be careful. You'll find that people have a sook to mods when you disagree with them over this topic.

I said the same thing about Prismall recently (in regards to performing against the top teams) and copped a flogging.

Mods wont ban you for presenting an opinion about player good or bagging if that is your thing. But it is when opinions turn into sniping other posters that really gets hard to handle. That is when people start complaining to the mods. Differences in opinion are fine as far as I am concerned, but sniping turns a thread into a bay 13 style train wreck and that is not what we want on this board

Hey, like Prismall I want to see him perform in the tight games.

It's not I want anyone to fall over, I want them all to step up. I think most people are genuine in this. If you rate our list then the guys at the bottom end of most peoples ratings are the fringe players that are 80% of this forum.

Lonners has football smarts that I rate higher than Hawkins potential right now.

The problem we create through our dominance is that we get a couple of tight games a year, if a fringe player doesn't star in those games then some will question that.

which frustrated me, because Gilham got away with anything and everything against him in that game. Was manhandled from start to finish.

As others have already stated, I too just want him to take a game on that hasn't already been won before the first bounce.

If theres one thing hat i think he needs to improve its his marking he leads alot but i see him drop alot of gettable marks but still hes improving heaps by every game a very hard match up for the opposition at almost 200cm and can play down back as well so handy player:)

I agree that he has some improvements to make, but he is doing that game by game. It's consistency that I think is lacking, somewhat the same predicament to Prismall.

I don't agree with the down back comment though, was recently shown he has a lot to learn on playing in that position in the AFL. Sure it may work in the VFL, however he is shown up in that position in the seniors.

Just keep on improving, make it hard for both Ablett or Hawkins to come in. Therefore they will have to work bloody hard to get in.

All the better for us and the team.

Full credit to Lonners, he has worked his way into the side and justified his selection. I would love to see him take a role in defense though for half a match here or there in the rest of the Home and Aways. Having seen him play some good VFL footy at CHB, i really think he has the ability to be a multi-dimensioned player - much like Mooney back in 2004/05.

I really look forward to seeing Hawkins, Nablet, Mooney and Lonergan in the same team and some point in time - i think this could be an extremely damaging setup, especially if Lonergan develops his versatility.

Mooney did crap all against hawthorn too. Maybe we should drop him :p In all seriousness, Loners is still inexperienced but at the moment he is a massive asset to the team and there is simply no reason to dfrop him. he positions himself well, is a good kick at goal, and functions wlel in the forward line with everyone else.

I reckon some blokes are marking him pretty hard considering he's a young bloke with not even 20 senior games under his belt. Sure, he'll fade in and out and sometimes he'll struggle against quality opposition, but what youngster doesn't? I can't complain too much about his output thus far.

Finals will be a different kettle of fish but I am hoping he'll pull out a big game and cement his spot. He's worked bloody hard to get where he is after that terrible injury and all power to him for that.

I don't agree with the down back comment though, was recently shown he has a lot to learn on playing in that position in the AFL. Sure it may work in the VFL, however he is shown up in that position in the seniors.

Wasn't Lonergan playing down back the day he was injured and doing well? I think in the early days his potential down back was more apparent than his forward work. I hope he does develop this versatility because neither Tom nor Nathan have that side to them.

Mooney did crap all against hawthorn too. Maybe we should drop him :p In all seriousness, Loners is still inexperienced but at the moment he is a massive asset to the team and there is simply no reason to dfrop him. he positions himself well, is a good kick at goal, and functions wlel in the forward line with everyone else.

That is exactly the point. Lonners is doing well. You can't pick on him just because he (and Mooney) had a quiet one against Hawthorn. The great thing about our forward line is that unlike Hawthorn, we don't rely on two key forwards to kick the bulk of our goals. Every week we get contributions from SJ, Moons, Lonners, Chappy, Stokes, Ablett, Bartel (plus midfielders), so many options it's not funny. Everyone has role to play and Lonners is doing his bit. I can't imagine Hawthorn getting within miles of us if Buddy and Roughhead kicked only one goal between them (as our 2 keys did and we still won).

i was making the point that against good defences, where he is still getting the 3rd best defender he has not played well and cited the hawthorn game as an example as it was the freshest.

i reckon his kicking is a lil hot'n'cold.

like ottens - there is this constant idea they're great kicks - but ottens doesn't inspire faith in me at all.

in the end it's awfully hard to assess any of the fringe players while the team dominates as a whole. y'know: what's cherry pickin' and what's reward for hard work?

sometimes you gotta measure when the going gets tough.

lornegan?

Lol... and Fox had him as Longergan. >_<

Then I was watching the Eagles v Bombers game and they had Lloyd as a Docker. Maybe they're getting in early with some more Bombers heading west? ;p

i was making the point that against good defences, where he is still getting the 3rd best defender he has not played well and cited the hawthorn game as an example as it was the freshest.

:confused: Really, have you been watching Geelong the last couple of years? We don't rely on forwards to kick bags every week ffs! So he was not great against Hawthorn? Because of their zone big forwards often struggle against them. Brown barely got near it last week against them! Tom still had 10 disposals anyway so it's not like he was completely invisible.

Where else has he not been serviceable? The match against the Dogs was considered a big game and kicked one and had 15 disposals and 8 marks. I don't understand this stuff about him not having produced against good defenses and in games we have not romped in.

:confused: Really, have you been watching Geelong the last couple of years? We don't rely on forwards to kick bags every week ffs! So he was not great against Hawthorn? Because of their zone big forwards often struggle against them. Brown barely got near it last week against them! Tom still had 10 disposals anyway so it's not like he was completely invisible.

Where else has he not been serviceable? The match against the Dogs was considered a big game and kicked one and had 15 disposals and 8 marks. I don't understand this stuff about him not having produced against good defenses and in games we have not romped in.

i didnt say he hadnt been serviceable nor am i knocking him or suggesting he be dropped.

but what tough games have we had since he came into the squad for the carlton game. the hawks and roos games being 2 that come to mind, and maybe the bulldogs game for the first 2 quarters.

we have smashed all other teams, that is why we will find out more in the next 2 weeks.

i didnt say he hadnt been serviceable nor am i knocking him or suggesting he be dropped.

but what tough games have we had since he came into the squad for the carlton game. the hawks and roos games being 2 that come to mind, and maybe the bulldogs game for the first 2 quarters.

we have smashed all other teams, that is why we will find out more in the next 2 weeks.

That's fair enough. Was just saying it's hard for him to be impress in big close games when they are occurring pretty rarely. In our big wins he has often been very good early, kicking goals before the result was beyond doubt too.

For the record, i completely agree with you. I firmly believe that Hawkins is a better option when fit and firing, however if Lonners continues to kick 3-4 each week, then he stays in the side and hopefully becomes a premiership player at senior level.
Agree 100%. I think we can all agree that Hawkins has the potential to be one of the best forwards in the league for the next 10 years.

However, at the moment he is not going well and is injured, and I am more than happy for Lonergon to continue playing and he has been a great part of our side for the past month or two. However, in the long run Hawkins will take his spot unless we play three talls or Lonergon shifts to defence when Scarlett/Harley/Milburn retire.

If Lonergon kicks 30 goals this year, and kicks another 30 from 15 games next year and it then looks like he will hardly get a sniff during the next year with Hawkins starting to impose himself, he may look elsewhere, but he may stay on knowing Mooney would not be far away from retirement in 4 years time. (Thats all looking into the future a fair way however)

I'll look forward to the game against the Swans and the Roo's. It will be interesting to see how he goes. He has done pretty good so far but I think most of his marks have either been out on the lead (not a bad thing) or uncontested. Once he takes a few more contested pack marks, I think he will cement his place in the team.... Go Tommy.... Lonergan that is.