Tom Mitchell signs

• Thread starter Thread starter kangle4

Question for those with the knowledge...

Since Mitchell is technically signed up, can he start training with us before he is drafted? or does he/ do we have to wait until then?

I'd just love to have him ready ASAP

Yes he can start training with us before he is drafted and i would imagine he will come to Swans training during the school holidays next year and train with the rest of the team.

Hopefully not. Hopefully Rohan (unless he plays more than 2 more games this year) and/or Reid and/or Johnston will give it a shake in 2011.

Too true Liz.

We've got so many potential Rising Star winners, when was the last time, we've had so many, that could win it in one year? Would be a long time.

It's no wonder outsiders are shitty with us, when our youngsters disproves their theory about us, not having any quality youngsters. :thumbsu:

Yes he can start training with us before he is drafted and i would imagine he will come to Swans training during the school holidays next year and train with the rest of the team.

With an assistant coach job opening up, I'm hoping we can lure over Mitchell Snr, and Tom can train with us and play regular ressies as a top-up!

will hopefully live up to the hype. Now, out of interest, I thought about some of his young teammates he will be playing with for the next 9-10 years (yes, some of these guys won't be around that long, but for the sake of the discussion)..

players 25 or younger at start of next season, correct my ages if wrong..

Barlow 23
Bird 21
Currie 21
Dennis-Lane 21
Gordon 20
Hannebry 19
Heath 19
Jack 23
Johnston 19
Kennedy 21
McGlynn 24
McVeigh 24
Meredith 21
Moore 24
Mumford 23
O'Dwyer 21
Reid 18
Rohan 18
Smith 21
Sumner 18
Thornton 22
Vez 20
White 22
McNeil and others in the ressies i know little about.

Add in a couple more picks this off season and we're doing ok for the future. I can't be bothered, but out of the above 24, someone want to mock up a team, with Mitchell of course!

+1 year for most

someone want to mock up a team, with Mitchell of course!

I'm still at work and bored shitless so I'll have a crack....

(You forgot Jetta)

B: Smith Reid Thornton
HB: Vez Rohan Sumner
C: Meredith McVeigh Jetta
HF: Kennedy Johnston McGlynn
F: Moore White TDL

R: Mumford Hannebery(VC) Jack (C)

Int: Currie, Heath, Gordon, Mitchell

Delisted: Barlol, MOD

Still amazes me that Smith and Kennedy are only 21. The future looks bright!!

That's a very young list.

I'm surprised McVeigh is only 24 next year, swore he was older though.

Think he's 25, but still very young for someone who has played 130 odd games and won a B and F. Bedders is right that if he was to be put up for trade we would get a lot for him...not advocating it necessarily but we would get a good deal from someone. Just sayin'.

(You forgot Jetta)

B: Smith Reid Thornton
HB: Vez Rohan Sumner
C: Meredith McVeigh Jetta

Int: Currie, Heath, Gordon, Mitchell

Delisted: Barlol, MOD

you missed grundy, but the future is looking really bright

(You forgot Jetta)

B: Smith Grundy Heath
HB: MOD Reid Meredith
C: Rohan McVeigh Jetta

Int: Currie, Meredith, Barlow, Mitchell
Emg: Gordon, , McNeil
Delisted: Thornton, Vez

i did forget Jetstar, he was on my paper draft too, s'ok, u forgot Reg..lol.. nice effort tho, I had a tinker..and I kept Barlow and MOD lost Thornton and Vez(attitude is all wrong and we would get at least a third rounder for him, and look where we got TDL at..)), really I think Barlow is worth keeping, he just needs the Jesselenko treatment, give him a spot and keep him there, why he hasn't been given a chance in defence like Reg is beyond me, you learn from the best, like Kizza, and I rekon if Reg was given a shot up forward in a year or two, he would dominate.....

that team above would've got us 10th at least this year if they stayed injury free i rekon, I mean, look at that spine, and the wings!! I can't wait for this finals series, I rekon we will give it a great shake, and the future is so bright, I gotta wear shades..and zinc..and a hat:cool:. And who knows what this offseason will bring, another first rounder or do we trade it and a seconder for more 20-22 year olds not getting a game somewhere..phew, rant over!:D

i did forget Jetstar, he was on my paper draft too, s'ok, u forgot Reg..lol.. nice effort tho, I had a tinker..and I kept Barlow and MOD lost Thornton and Vez(attitude is all wrong), really I think Barlow is worth keeping, he just needs the Jesselenko treatment, give him a spot and keep him there, why he hasn't been given a chance in defence like Reg is beyond me, you learn from the best, like Kizza, and I rekon if Reg was given a shot up forward in a year or two, he would dominate.....

that team above would've got us 10th at least this year if they stayed injury free i rekon, I mean, look at that spine, and the wings!! I can't wait for this finals series, I rekon we will give it a great shake, and the future is so bright, I gotta wear shades..and zinc..and a hat:cool:. And who knows what this offseason will bring, another first rounder or do we trade it and a seconder for more 20-22 year olds not getting a game somewhere..phew, rant over!:D

Might be hard to fit them over your rose colured glasses. Without totally panning your post i will say.

• Barlow? really?
  • That team finishing 10th, mate they would struggle to win a game.
The future is bright, but keep it in your pants

Might be hard to fit them over your rose colured glasses. Without totally panning your post i will say.

• Barlow? really?
  • That team finishing 10th, mate they would struggle to win a game.
The future is bright, but keep it in your pants

yes, Barlow, really. He will come good. Because of his athletic ability and size, too much was expected too soon by us fans. He is young, cheap and def worth keeping, more than Thornton at least. And your telling me that this side is worse than WC? And I'll open my pants whenever I chose, thankyou.:)

Yes WCE would belt that team. And Barlow is shit

lol:)..well, being firm in your convictions is good, but the time will tell about Cheesey, feel free to bring these threads up at a later date, as will I...:thumbsu:

I will, in about 3-4 weeks when he is delisted.

and your probably right..but I rekon his potential will keep him on, or the lack of trade value, but don't drop the Cheese (geddit?). Big men sometimes take longer to develop. Thornton is a lesser loss. So is Vez, he is not a Blood, pure and simple. At least Cheese works hard..and what happened to Kirky, I think he was delisted once..or twice..

Figured I'll give it a shot. I'm entering Malceski in as well, he's 26 so a little over, but playing his best footy yet :P

B: Smith - Grundy - Rohan
HB: Malceski - Reid - Heath
C: Jetta - Kennedy - Sumner
HF: Meredith - White - McVeigh
F: TDL - Johnston - McGlynn

Int: Currie, Bird, McNeill, Mitchell
Emg: Gordon,
Delisted: Thornton, Vez, Barlow

That's a very young list.

I'm surprised McVeigh is only 24 next year, swore he was older though.

Well, you tend to look a lot older when you start balding.:p Chris Judd is the same age as myself, but for some reason I always see him as being around 40 due to his baldness.

That list is a damn good one. Can't wait to see how we go in the next few years.

I have to admit, I didn't know who Tom Mitchell was until the story broke, and I have to say, I'm overjoyed that he decided to join the club that he 'belongs' to. :D Not sure why some are saying we 'stole' him from GWS, etc, he was rightfully ours to begin with. :p

About time we had a little luck when it came to the father-son rule.

BarLOL is a goner. Thank god for that.

Vez will be kept. Roos still had high hopes for him and Johnston in that interview on fox the other day.

MOD borderline but i would love to keep him as he has shown the ability in the seniors when needed to.

Thornton has ability but injuries have destroyed his progress (If only he didn't do his knee against Port in that pre-season match, he would of made the HBF his own that year). Gone.

Swans supporters,
never you worry about the future of tom mitchell at your football club
this kid is an absolute gun. I used to be good mates with him before he moved to perth, ripper bloke and an unbelieveable footballer, his work ethic and ability to win the football continuously amazed the crowd. Won every award possible at junior level including a BOG in the div 1 grand final in a losing 10 goal side
Now reading about him at Claremont and playing for WA, it seems as he has improved out of sight, if that was even possible
comments provided by the workers at the AIS/AFL Academy praise him for his clearance and hard ball gets, does not stop winning the footy.
Was always going to go to Sydney, even when Barry was coaching at Carlton and Hawthorn, always had a soft spot for the swans.
Hope this clears a few things up. ( was definatly going to go top 10 if he didnt get father/son)

Swans supporters,
this kid is an absolute gun. I used to be good mates with him before he moved to perth, ripper bloke and an unbelieveable footballer, his work ethic and ability to win the football continuously amazed the crowd. Won every award possible at junior level including a BOG in the div 1 grand final in a losing 10 goal side
Now reading about him at Claremont and playing for WA, it seems as he has improved out of sight, if that was even possible
comments provided by the workers at the AIS/AFL Academy praise him for his clearance and hard ball gets, does not stop winning the footy.
Was always going to go to Sydney, even when Barry was coaching at Carlton and Hawthorn, always had a soft spot for the swans.
Hope this clears a few things up. ( was definatly going to go top 10 if he didnt get father/son)

Thanks mate, good to know!:thumbsu:

Swans supporters,

*Starts Drooling*