Tommy Walsh - HATE thread

Why do you hate him so much for leaving if you don't actually rate him in the first place?

I'm extremely disappointed he left from a St Kilda perspective but I can't blame him for making that decision.

He left Ireland to be a professional footballer. If he was playing sport for the love of the game he'd still be in Ireland.

He hasn't been given a senior game for us and then you have an opposing club offer him triple the salary plus the chance of regular football.

Of course he was going to go!

Why do you hate him so much for leaving if you don't actually rate him in the first place?

I'm extremely disappointed he left from a St Kilda perspective but I can't blame him for making that decision.

He left Ireland to be a professional footballer. If he was playing sport for the love of the game he'd still be in Ireland.

He hasn't been given a senior game for us and then you have an opposing club offer him triple the salary plus the chance of regular football.

Of course he was going to go!

Yeah, he was going to go because we couldn't GIVE HIM a GO. And I mean a fair go. When the Australian way is to give everyone a fair go all he had to do was wait. Irish not known for being the most patient is all I'll say and

US not giving him a go? Did we give him a fair go? When we taught him almost everything he knows?

It's our fecking country. We decide who we give a fair go to I reckon.

If the shoe was on the other foot. I'm 20yo. Gaelic is the professional game and Australian Rules is the amateur sport. I move to Ireland to start a career and after two years with the one club learning Gaelic I leave and join another club. Is anyone at my original entitled to feel a little short changed with me leaving?

No. exactly. Because in Australia the game is professional and it's an Australian game. The Irish game is an amateur game played by amateurs.

Pick 35 -- Take it. Use it. The guy is an amateur.

cool thread. strange calling Walsh dumb (and Irish people to another extent but I guess you have people like that everywhere).

What I would consider dumb is a player staying at a club who hadnt given him a chance to play AFL footy, when his form showed otherwise and fans and media called for it, when he has the option of going to another club who will pay him three times as much and want to give him that chance to play. It'd be pretty dumb to stay in my opinion.

SF25 I'm confused.

Are you angry because he is 'shit' and left?

In your first couple of posts you said he was prone to do some stupid things on the field because he is a 'dumb Irish bastard' ... Seems like you never liked him ... why aren't you celebrating?!

Don't know why any Saints fans would hate Tommy Walsh ...

Saints didn't play him anywhere near enough that he should have been, the player has huge potential, he wasn't used anywhere near enough.

Fair play by the lad to look for opportunities elsewhere. The lad just wants to play :thumbsu:

Can we nominate this thread as Worst thread of the year ? It's a clear chance to win that title

For mine, plain and simple, I don't like that he left, but he did allow us to get something from him. If he had gone ala Luke Ball I would be completely dirty on him, but we did get two picks, so I guess we just have to accept his choice. Not happy with it, but what can we do...

As a half-Irishman I'll try not to be too offended by the undertones of this thread and just say, pull your head in and accept that he's gone to where he wants to go. We didn't force him in, you guys didn't force him out. He chose. At the end of the day, he was out of contract, and we offered him more than you guys were willing to offer, that's all there is to it. No need to descend into barb flinging.

Well half-Irishman (I do hope you don't take any offence to me referring to your ethnicity), it's not that we don't understand that Tommy Walsh (I do hope you don't take any offence to me mentioning the Irishman's name) wanted to seek greener pastures elsewhere. Tommy (I do hope you don't take any offence to me mentioning the Irishman's name) did all that was asked of him at St. Kilda. It's just that, I do hate you Sydney F*****s coming onto our board and rubbing our noses in it.:D

Just a little observation.

Don't really care about the bile & hate but the ignorance gets to me.

25, the term Fecking is actually an Irish one http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feck so you seem a regular devotee of at least some of their culture.

i can deal with it. we get pick 35. it's alright.
we bolster our department of kids and our kids are looking better and better.
however, what i cant handle is this. as i outlined earlier:

roles reversed.
australian football is the amateur game and gaelic football is professional (like that'd ever happen).
i move from australia to ireland to start my career in gaelic with kerry (because australia is a financial mess and i can earn a good dollar living in ireland)
i become a cult figure in kerry as an aussie but for two years i train hard only to not play a senior game as is apparently the case with many a rookie.

over a beer in cork with my fellow australian mate playing for cork he suggests i should seriously think about playing for cork if i'm unhappy.

cork offer me more money and the first thing i do when my contract expires with kerry is move to cork to play gaelic having had learnt the game in kerry.
the rivalry between kerry and cork is a strong one, an historical one. one that sometimes borders on bizarre.

is/are kerry entitled to feel at least a little pissed-off?
am i now just a dumb australian in the minds of kerry?
have i contributed to the long held believe that's it's okay for me to just up and leave to cork given that there is a history of players moving between the two clubs?
am i still a cult hero in cork or is the cork culture significantly more accommodating to the extent that i shall be happier in cork in the long run?
and do i care what kerry think?
is it all about me anyway?
and so what for having had been a rookie in kerry?

Let's do a real role reversal...

What if syndey had recruited him as an Int Rookie, and then we traded for him after he spent 2 years learning the craft at Sydney?

He came to us because of more money and an opportunity to play.

What would Tommy then be?

What if syndey had recruited him as an Int Rookie, and then we traded for him after he spent 2 years learning the craft at Sydney?

Someone who likes StKilda better than Swans = Legend.
Someone who likes Swans more than StKilda = bahhh
Thats simply how it is.

Next thing you'll be telling us Collingwood supporters are human too.

That's just it, if we had of poached Tadgh Kennelly after he'd done all his training and development at Sydney I bet Swans supporters wouldn't have been too happy.

Walsh probably deserved an opportunity to at least get a game or two at AFL level this year but people are naive to think that would have stopped him going to Sydney. I've got no doubt Kennelly would have been in his ear for the past couple of years about going up to Sydney when his contract expired The fact he was offered two or three times what he was getting paid at St Kilda would have helped sealed the deal regardless of whether he had got AFL games at St Kilda.

That's just it, if we had of poached Tadgh Kennelly after he'd done all his training and development at Sydney I bet Swans supporters wouldn't have been too happy.

Walsh probably deserved an opportunity to at least get a game or two at AFL level this year but people are naive to think that would have stopped him going to Sydney. I've got no doubt Kennelly would have been in his ear for the past couple of years about going up to Sydney when his contract expired The fact he was offered two or three times what he was getting paid at St Kilda would have helped sealed the deal regardless of whether he had got AFL games at St Kilda.

The BIG difference is we actually play our international recruits.