Trades - Round 5

• Thread starter Thread starter Spartan

Hey Guys

Its my first year on supercoach and the time has come to seek some answers from non performing players. Your advise would be really handy as i take on my best 2 mates in the next 2 rounds. A little insight into the situation, they both support essendon, and my team is called bomber bashers, so i kinda need to beat em.

This what my team looks like now:

B: Shaw,Bock,Kennely,Osborne,Thornton,Waters,Brown(pies) with the Scott Thompson and L Hansen as reserves

M: Cross,Ling,Swan,Stanton,Mitchell,Van Berlo with Tuck and Palmer reserves

R: Cox,Kreuzer,Leunberger,Goldstien

F: Fevola,Buddy,Didak,Burton,J Hill,Rioli,Mooney with Tippet and Gamble reserves

I lost to another of my good mates first up before which i was flying high. Now i am thinking of the following scenarios:

1) Trade Van Berlo out for Black/Harvey/Judd and get Bradshaw forward for Mooney or at the back instead of Waters, leaving me with 80k to 100k for next week
2) Trade Mooney for O'keefe up forward and get Bradshaw for Waters, which leaves me with about 110k for next round, where i could possibly get rid of Tuck instead of a cheap mid and Upgrade Van Berlo to a Gun midfielder that keeps his place for the rest of the season
3) Picking up Chad cornes for the midfield/back and put Bradshaw forward, leaving me with 50-60k
4) Get J Mcveigh for VanBerlo, and getting O'keefe up forward for Mooney(leaves me with 60k) or a Mattner for Waters(leaves me with over a 100k)

I have used up 6 of my trades already, but will not be making any after i finish 10.

Any help would be appreciated, its been doing my head in.

got 383 for a midfielder cant decide weather to go 4 callan @ 208 gibbs @ 380 or boak @354 i like gibbs but ialready have judd/stevens/fev/pfeiffer/kruezer/hampson from carlton dont want 2 many incase they have a bad day. callan is cheaper and has had a ripper start to the year but can he sustain it? and boak seems to be getting around 75 mark consitantly who do i go 4?

At this stage you shouldn't really looking to be buying a mid-priced player. All players you bring in during the season should be either rookies or keepers. Your aim should be to have a team of 22 premiums by about Round 16.

I'd say you can achieve a better overall result by downgrading to a rookie, if all you have to spend is $383,000. Use your upgrades to get to elites, not solid 70-80 ppg players like Boak and Gibbs. Masten, Palmer, Callan, Jack, Houli or Tuck wouldbe worth a look. Use the balance of the money elsewhere.

I need to replace Hall and Lonergan (Essendon) this week unfortunately. I will have 684k for a forward and a midfielder. Midfielder will be straight on to the bench once Priddis and or Coughlan return to seniors though so I'm not sure I will need to spend too much there.

At this stage you shouldn't really looking to be buying a mid-priced player. All players you bring in during the season should be either rookies or keepers. Your aim should be to have a team of 22 premiums by about Round 16.

Why Round 16?
And how many trades should you idealy have left by then?

Quick note on Callan; He has been playing very well this year but only had a shot due to the injury of Higgins/Everitt/Williams/Ray but he does add some toughness in the mid/back area. But when in particular Everitt/Williams/Ray come back, his spot although unjust if he loses it would not be garanteed.

In saying that I agree with the other posts at that price if you snap up a rookie (Wonameeri (Spelling??) from Melbourne is avg 67 @ only 84k) let them jump up a few weeks in cash and upgrade to a gun mid. If you take gibbs/boak at their price they may or may increase enough for u to swap over to a gun whereas with a rookie your score may suffer a bit more now but better for overall.

Heath shaw is in an elite backman top 4 in my opinion so its no surprise his average is where it is........... anyone having bowden hold on to the bloke as he start lousy last year and came back and ended up with a credit next to his name. He is just too important to the running out of the backline for the tigers. have some faith fella's.

burton for mckiniley??
alowing rioli on teh floor and freeing up cash

I was thinking along similar lines. I have virtually no cash in the kitty (20K-ish), so I'm gonna have to do some interesting juggling come cash cow cashin time.

One of the main things that has been sending up red flags against this trade is the Crows' draw over the next few weeks. Freo, Blues, North and Demons next 4, all bar Carlton at home.

Hard to know from last years' games against the next few, but he was on fire in 2006 against all of them, and given the way those teams are travelling he should be a chance to post some decent scores, and add a bit more value.

3) Picking up Chad cornes for the midfield/back and put Bradshaw forward, leaving me with 50-60k

I'd do that.

Note that it's only my first year of SuperCoach as well, so don't take too much notice of what I say, but getting Cornes in to your team has to be a good thing.

hey guys this is what ive come up with so far

in: joel mc, bradshaw
out: m.johnson, hall

thoughts????????

Looks good. However be wary that Drummond has been on the sidelines and him coming back may affect Joel Macs scores.

need some help, what should i do with travis cloke?

Not sure. I'm not a big fan. Depending on his price movements give him another week or two and then bugger him off for a gun.

As SJ has already indicated, this really isn't the time to be picking up mid ranged players, unless you have a raging suspicision that they will become a premium gun. Callan's output will drop when the likes of Ray return, Squibbsy is going to score 60s and 70s with the odd 100 and Boak isn't going to set the world on fire.

burton for mckiniley??
alowing rioli on teh floor and freeing up cash

Negative. Waste of a trade IMO. Birdman hasn't been playing bad. Gave away a couple of frees and a 50 last week if not he would have scored a respectable 80+. Considering you paid mid 300s for him he's more than worth it to hang onto for awhile.

I need to replace Hall and Lonergan (Essendon) this week unfortunately. I will have 684k for a forward and a midfielder. Midfielder will be straight on to the bench once Priddis and or Coughlan return to seniors though so I'm not sure I will need to spend too much there.

Depending on where there are better rookie options available get one premium gun and one rookie. However since you're saying the rookie will go to the bench when Priddis returns you can look at Masten, Selwood, Ebert and Woenamerri and use the rest to get a Chapman or Riewoldt.

I'm trading gram out for kenelly this thursday if h.taylor doesnt get dropped (he's my seventh defender) and I have no playing emergencies on the bench. If taylor gets dropped I will get pfiffer from the blues by trading l.hansen the spud from my emergency bench.

I'm pretty happy with my defence, all it really needs is maybe h.shaw and I'm set. My defence is -

C.Cornes, Mattner, Newman, Jones, Bradshaw, Gram > kenelly,Taylor

Next week if Riewolt drops further I could pick him up by trading out a mid range forward and using the cash from tippet or gamble to upgrade him and then downgrade tippet/gamlbe to mckinnley.

I already have Pavlich, BJ.Brown and franklin in my forward line who I consider all premiums. Could upgrade porps and buton to premiums in coming weeks too.

Good ideas?

I'd do that.

Note that it's only my first year of SuperCoach as well, so don't take too much notice of what I say, but getting Cornes in to your team has to be a good thing.
Haha Thanks for that man, at least i got my first and only(looks like) reply.

Yeah Cornes is looking good, The only downside with that being i wouldn't have enough money for next week's trades.

Hope they increase the limit to 3 trades next year..

I have a few possibilities, my backline is the main problem but with some work can be real good it consists of:
Shaw, Cornes, Gilbee, Milburn, Gram, Barlow, Brown... (Proud, Thompson)

Gram is sitting awkwardly in the midrange and i'd like to get him up to a gun sometime soon, but with Nathan Brown starting and no backline emergencies depth is a bit of a concern as well.

1) With a bit of maneovering I would be able to upgrade Thompson with a budget of around $480 000. Someone like Birchall, Bradshaw etc, This would cost two trades and leave me with basically no cash in the bank but with Brown on the bench and an emergency. The cheaper the better as I like to leave myself some cash so I have options when it comes to later upgrades.

2) I have enough cash to upgrade Gram to anyone I want, and could upgrade him now and wait for the money from my cows to upgrade one of bench players to a mid ranger. This would only cost one trade, but would be higher risk.

Or I could wait it out and save my trades. Any thoughts?

I'd upgrade gram to kenelly or mcdonald ASAP. Grams average at best and hasnt even gotten over 100 yet. Very up and down so far and doesn't look like being consistant. I'm thinking of getting rid of him thursday for kenelly before his price goes upo again. On form kenelly could be considered a premium defender IMO and a keeper.

Just my 2c but I've done a couple of lousy trades so far so best to make your own mind up. However getting rid oh brad johnson for buddy franklin I reckon I did it just in the nick of time this week as you wont be able to afford a bag of mixed lollies soon with johnsons worth when he plummets down further and further in the coming weeks. He's finished this year as a top supercoach player I reckon, scott welsh is recking his game too. :(

Robert Murphy and Travis Cloke - both due to go down this week.

Murphy because his 166 from round 2 will no longer be in the running average (early peak?), and Cloke because he was a bad pickup (expected much better - although only four rounds in).

Im thinking to bring in Buddy and McKinnley for these two. Im thinking Murphy and Cloke will go down by a combined $20,000 this week, and McKinnley will obviously go up heaps (and will probably play most of the year, or at least a few more weeks). Buddy's breakeven of about 75 should be acheived and his price shouldnt fall this week, and will go up in the long run. Wil give me about $250,000 in the bank, and will upgrade Hill (price will go up this week) to Roo (down this week) the week after, along with downgrading Dew.

Is this fair thinking? This is my first crack at Supercoach. Preciate the help.

Why is everyone jumping on Bradshaw?

Surely won't keep up his form?..

Anyway, Should I do Gram for Kennely or ... Bradshaw? :D