Troy Broadbridge Missing

Re: Troy Broadbridge

******** me......they reckon the death toll could reach 60,000...... :( :( .....this is just to horrific to think about

My god what a horrible horrible event this has been. Could easily end up being the worst natural disaster ever with the threat of disease and difficulty of access to these poor poor countries.

I was watching the news and seeing images of fathers and mothers cradling the bodies of their lifeless children was enough to bring me to my knees with tears. :(

To hear that troy is now missing along with many other australians and thousands of people in general is heartbreaking in the truest sense. Let's all dig deep and donate what we can to help those affected. This is a human tragedy of the highest order.

Puts life right into perspective. Best wishes to troy and his family as well as to all those missing/deceased.

What a sad time.

has anything been said about the two boys from carlton? as an ex supporter, this is killing me, i followed them for 14 years and have just as of the past 9 months changed teams, when i did love the mighty blues, my man was ryan, oh i pray that they are found safe, and i hope troy is found alive, to leave this life after it just really starting is heart breaking, i feel for his family and his friends, his new wife and all that knew him.
i also pray for the families of lost ones, this is something you'd see on a crappy g rated movie, i cant believe its reality, my tears flow for ALL the lives lost in this tragic event.

Jaymin said:
Not great news at all. Once again it kind of annoys me that just because he is a footballer he gets put on a higher pedastool than the rest of the missing australians.

Thank god it wasn't Colin Sylvia. There would have been some mass tears on this board.

Poor form mate.

My thoughts are with Troys' family, friends and teammates. I sincerely hope he is found alive and well.

Sometimes Mother Nature shows us how fragile human life is, and how insignificant our own troubles are.....

This has nothing to do with 'Political Correctness'. To talk about a death of any-one in this way is BAD TASTE. Footballer or not, it is a tragedy and the situation should be respected.

I'm one angry Dee supporter who is hugely offended by such a comment. Sylvia or Broady, I do not give a sh**. It has brought tears to my eyes as it did with Bali.

My thoughts are with Troy, his family, friends and all who are currently in mourning for all the deaths in SE Asia.

Big Footy should take these wan**** off the site for such crap!

I just had two friends confirm they left phi phi island 5 hours before it went under. So I'm sensing an overwhelming feeling of relief. I hope everything turns out ok for Troy and his family.

A Recent report on teh news said he sacrificed himself to ensure his wife was safe on a balcony before he was taken out to sea.

the bit about going out to sea is what worries me. I really hope everything turns out fine.

It's weird how you hear of 26,000 being killed and it barely registers - I guess it's just too big to comprehend. But then you hear of someone who you don't even know, but know of, and it hits you like a truck.

We wish all Aussies come home safe - Troy, Houla and Clarkey included.

Official complaints are being made for such delusional socio-paths.

This site is not for the family it is for the mourning football public

This is a total tragedy. I'm sure all Collingwood supporters, no matter how maligned we are, and anyone else who would consider themselves a decent human being would send our best hopes and wishes that all parties are found safe an well, including Troy and the Carlton boys.

Anyone trying to argue this in a football context should take a good hard look at themselves. This is much bigger than any game, anywhere....

If he got swept out to Sea, hopefully he grabbed a bodyboard or something bouyant.
Resources over there are limited (and now stretched) and it could take a few days to find out what actually happened to him.
GL, hope your safe & sound mate.

outback jack said:
As sad as it is for someone so young to maybe killed, i really think that the family couldnt care less what was written on here, this is really quite pointless

It is isn't it. But it helps for all of us to say something about it. I know what you mean. I don't want to think of how many or who or where or whatever.

But my thoughts are with those who are missing and those who have gone.

On a positive side, if anyone is prepared to handle a physical challenge of being taken out to sea and having to swim back, you would tihnk an AFL footballer on break from preseason would be a good chance. Let's not get carried away, I know a few of my freinds overreacted when we heard about this (being we have freinds over there atm), Troy may very well be ok and just unable to contact anyone.

rick James said:
On a positive side, if anyone is prepared to handle a physical challenge of being taken out to sea and having to swim back, you would tihnk an AFL footballer on break from preseason would be a good chance. Let's not get carried away, I know a few of my freinds overreacted when we heard about this (being we have freinds over there atm), Troy may very well be ok and just unable to contact anyone.

Yea good point, a lot of the dead people unfortunately couldn't swim and were women and children.
An AFL footballer would have a good chance of surviving something like that.

Katthawk said:
It is isn't it. But it helps for all of us to say something about it. I know what you mean. I don't want to think of how many or who or where or whatever.

why does everyone say our best wishes with family? Ofcourse its sad, especially so young, what even worse is babies like they cant even walk thats sad, think this is a little poinless thats all.

Katthawk said:

why does everyone say our best wishes with family? Ofcourse its sad, especially so young, what even worse is babies like they cant even walk thats sad, think this is a little poinless thats all.

maybe hes alive though you never know, i'd imagion there would be alot of confusion at the moment

Jack, people say it because they mean it.

If you honestly haven't seen what's going on and for one second though about how awful it would be to be in that position or to know someone over there, tehn that's fine.

The rest of us say our thoughts are with them, becasue they are.

Without sounding like a heartless ass perhaps this is the event the world needed.

The world before now was in total disarray and was collapsing upon itself, here's hoping this can unify all nations together a bit more so that no matter what creed, colour, race or religion the people affected are, we can all work together to fix what is truly one of the most horrific natural disasters of all time.

To all the people affected, be they Sri Lankan, Indonesian, Thai or otherwise. My heart, hopes and prayers go out to you. To Troy Broadbridge (of whom I can honestly say I was not a fan but who has been elevated tenfold in my eyes) I pray that you may be safe mate, but if not, you shall live on forever in the football public's hearts and minds for the true heroism you displayed in placing the life of a loved one above all else including your own personal safety.

I truly hope and pray that all those Foreigners involved return home safely and here's hoping the government provides as much assistance as we can possibly muster to help out these poor unfortunate souls.

All football aside this is a massive tragedy - We really are the lucky country...

Troy Broadbridge Missing