u19 section 1

just to like to know peoples thoughts on the use of the interchange bench. do people think tht teams who dont use it well, will be caught out later in the year?

Champs wear da No.16 said:
just to like to know peoples thoughts on the use of the interchange bench. do people think tht teams who dont use it well, will be caught out later in the year?
you idiot

It's under age football mate it won't affect them at all.

dont write off marcellin... ordinary at the moment YES.

however, with something like 6 under 19 eligble players playing in the 1s how could you possibly write them off. I still have them edging out Bernards for 4th spot come the end of the yr. The finals who knows

De La
Rupo ( if they keep that gun forward out of the 1s)
Xavs
Marc.

Bernards
Uni
Scotch
Collegians
Skevs
Banyule

On another note Under 19 rep team selections were a joke.

I think you have rated rupo to high.

Da La
Xavs
Uni
Bernards
Rupo(big push for finals)
Scotch
Marcilin
St kevs
Collegians
Banyule

They rupy will have a big chance to play finals but with losses to da la and uni they probly have a bit to go to make it a top 2 year. But i would love them to prove me wrong. I too want some news on Uni hasnt been alot on them who are there guns down their?

You are a fool inside player. Marcellin will not be in the top 6 let alone the top 4, and rupo, they were well and truly found out on the weekend by ub's. The top 4 teams in the competition this week, will be the sides battling for top position come finals time, the rest will round out the bottom.

BlueBoys88 said:
You are a fool inside player. Marcellin will not be in the top 6 let alone the top 4, and rupo, they were well and truly found out on the weekend by ub's. The top 4 teams in the competition this week, will be the sides battling for top position come finals time, the rest will round out the bottom.
lets be honest here, as if you can really predict whats going to happen in u/19s footy? it is just so dependant on how the senior team is going and whos actually playing 19's on the weekend. if everyteam had a full list to go on, no team would get within 5 goals of marcellin, xavs or uni, the rest of the league is just rubbish.

frase18 said:
lets be honest here, as if you can really predict whats going to happen in u/19s footy? it is just so dependant on how the senior team is going and whos actually playing 19's on the weekend. if everyteam had a full list to go on, no team would get within 5 goals of marcellin, xavs or uni, the rest of the league is just rubbish.
No room for De La there?

I reckon it'll look something like:

Xavs
De La (too hard to separate 1 & 2 at the moment)
Uni
Bernards

Marcellin
Rupertswood
Scotch
Skevs
Collegians
Banyule

At the moment i think dairy bells/uni/xavs are miles in front however. As such, 4th is surely a fight between bernards/marcellin.

Not making any ladder predictions until after the Scotch Rupo and uni b xavs games this week.
Officially over St.Kevs. Gonna try and get top the Scotchy Rupo game this week to see what all this unnecessary fuss is about. Certainly talked the talk but got taught a lesson in walking the walk by the Blues.
I think though De La, Xavs, St Bernads, Uni Blues and Rupo (to push if they don't lose any players to the ones)
Anyone see any of the games on the weekend?
What would a likely Under 19 Section 1 side look like? Any ideas?

Hang on i still don't get the deal with rupertswood.
Got killed by de la 113-30
Beat collegians by only 1pt, beat skevs by a touch under 60 (no great feat)
Beat Marcellin who clearly have lost many players to the ones and are far from up there with the current team
Got beaten by Uni by 40pts.

Seems to me that they haven't beaten much, and have been pretty well flogged when they've played decent teams. Where is the hype coming from? I don't think they can realistically be included in a top 4 based on these performances, but thats just me. Anyone agree? If not, on what basis?
(i conceed that i don't know anything about if they've lost players to their firsts etc...)

Rupo will push for finals they have been touched up but they are a good side and will be up there with marcillin and bernards in the fight for that 4th spot. Uni, xavs and da la have the top 3 sorted. but an interestin tussel for 4th.

can anyone account for unis improvement from the start of the season?? by all reports they were pretty average 1st couple of rnds

Not sure, but the fact that they aren't based on school and have never played together prior to this year might have something to do with it. Woulda taken time to get to know each other as blokes & footy players... now they've played a few games together i'd imagine they'd be getting better?

VAFA19s said:
Not sure, but the fact that they aren't based on school and have never played together prior to this year might have something to do with it. Woulda taken time to get to know each other as blokes & footy players... now they've played a few games together i'd imagine they'd be getting better?
exactly right, few mates from there said this was the case.

Vafa19's is 100% correct. Rupo are a long way off a serious finals contender this year for mine. Reports from the weekend are that they were consistently beaten all over the ground, and especially up forward. Did they have forward line players injuries or promoted on the weekend?

At this stage and on the above points I'll have to agree with you Blue Bagger, Rupo have definately come up short so far against the top teams. Should have beaten Collegians by much more but took the foot off the gas in the last qtr evidently. De La, Xavs teams to beat.
Marcellin will need to do alot to convince this ol' Cowboy they're any shot at the finals. Two 15+ goal defeats in two weeks is not exactly a step in the right direction.
When does the Rep side get trimmed down? Anyone on this forum get selected or know any that did?
Cheers

good win by us on the weekend i hear, bernards travelling nicely but still i dont think we are up with the top teams such as de la. this is one of my last posts on big footy unfortunately, as some of you have blown me out of the water saying my opinion isnt valued....that is wrong. if it wasnt valued YOU WOULDNT BE WRITING BACK...yes thats right.so stik that up all your clackers. i am just going to keep digging that hole as my day job, so all you computer nerds get out on the track instead of sittin on this thread. i will be a regular reader of all your comments and especially yours VAFA 06. but unfortunately not write back due to the threat from vafa06. i am scared...really.
my ladder

de la (choke)
uni blues (premiership)
scotch (drink)
BANYULE (the bolter....in your dreams)
the others (who cares if you dont finish in the top 4?????//)

good luck to you all for the rest of the threading, keep stitching upyourselves and get back to me when you have something constructive to say.
clearly i have no idea at all, so opinions best kept to yourself.

digger9 said:
good win by us on the weekend i hear, bernards travelling nicely but still i dont think we are up with the top teams such as de la. this is one of my last posts on big footy unfortunately, as some of you have blown me out of the water saying my opinion isnt valued....that is wrong. if it wasnt valued YOU WOULDNT BE WRITING BACK...yes thats right.so stik that up all your clackers. i am just going to keep digging that hole as my day job, so all you computer nerds get out on the track instead of sittin on this thread. i will be a regular reader of all your comments and especially yours VAFA 06. but unfortunately not write back due to the threat from vafa06. i am scared...really.
my ladder

de la (choke)
uni blues (premiership)
scotch (drink)
BANYULE (the bolter....in your dreams)
the others (who cares if you dont finish in the top 4?????//)

good luck to you all for the rest of the threading, keep stitching upyourselves and get back to me when you have something constructive to say.
clearly i have no idea at all, so opinions best kept to yourself.
No wonder people don't value your opinion. :rolleyes:

number 16,
Is this a loaded question?
Do yu have some sort of anger towards interchange benches?
Are you a prolific bench warmer?
Who wears number 16? Paul Barnard?

I prefer coaches to make substitutions rather than interchanges;) , i think you pick your best side on the field, and if some of them begin to get tired then you should use the guys on the bench to give some fresh legs coming into the last 10minutes of the 4thQ. BUT this is football not soccer! you have 4 guys on the bench, they should be used all through out the game!

For those interested, i am a professional bench warmer!

Is the form of marcellin in the last couple of weeks going to continue, or are they expecting some players back? - i know they've had more than a few guys playing for their old boys in the past couple of weeks. Are they looking to come back this season or are they set in the 1's?
Also happy to see skobs get up for a win; have some quality players and should be travelling a bit better than they are i reckon.

Another great win for my boys on the weekend! Showed class, speed, commitment and pure dominance over the trinity boys. These kids aren't just superior for section 2, they would be a top 2 favourite in section 1.

OldMelburnian28 said:
"The smell of a dry summer’s field is made all the sweeter with the scent of a well oiled handkerchief”
i cant believe how gay this league is