Roast Umpires thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

i actually thought letting cox have a runway in front of him in the prelim and his first goal last night would be the orst thing id ever see.

then he fuggin danced across our entire backline like a russian ballerina and snapped a goal.

The i truly knew god was real and he hates us.
We have been making absolute spuds look good for decades.

LOL at the pie fans in here trying to justify the free kicks, if everything was fair and square then why are some of you in here, looking forward to your trips to the eagles, druggies and hawks board this year telling them to GET OVER IT.

Yes, Riewoldt was directly challenging Cox for the ball, whilst Langdon shepherded Lynch out of the contest. Back to your own ******* scum board you dead set ******* flog.

Sure mate.

👍

It's good to see that the Umpires are consistent.....

Last years free kick differential between us and the Pies was around 230, around 10/game, last night might have been an aberration tho cos the differential was 20

LOL at the pie fans in here trying to justify the free kicks, if everything was fair and square then why are some of you in here, looking forward to your trips to the eagles, druggies and hawks board this year telling them to GET OVER IT.

the pies fans last night with the bronx cheers when they received freekicks. You gotta be shitting me.

source.gif

I don't think it is so much the ones paid against us, they are usually always there. And i don't think anyone would argue otherwise.

it is the ones not paid to us for exactly the same thing or worse.

By no means do I think free kick counts should be even and by no means do these play any part in results of games, we have ourselves only to blame.

but last years free kick totals was staggering and we are heading south again at a rapid rate and it is only round 2.
Fair points, but the question remains: why? Do you believe there is anti-Richmond sentiment at AFL HQ?

I thought maybe the umps would be instructed to be harsher on the better teams, in order to make the comp more even. But this theory is destroyed by the fact that other top 4 teams had favorable free kick stats.
What, just last night. Must have confusing last week when you came up against the other pets, umpires must have been so conflicted as to who to pay all those soft frees too. Was a woefully umpired game for that reason and last night wasn't any better.
Duly noted.

Fair points, but the question remains: why? Do you believe there is anti-Richmond sentiment at AFL HQ?

I thought maybe the umps would be instructed to be harsher on the better teams, in order to make the comp more even. But this theory is destroyed by the fact that other top 4 teams had favorable free kick stats.

Duly noted.

I'm not really sure why to be honest.

I'd like to think it is a bit far fetched that there is a AFL conspiracy against us, but gees it is a lot of coincidences that similiar frees have been missed for us for 2 years now. -120 free kicks in a season is jaw dropping. And i wouldn't say we are a very physical side and push boundaries on that front.

Like i said earlier though, the ones we give away are 9/10 times spot on and there to go, so no issues there.

deep down i think the ultimate answer was within one of my other posts, that the rules of the game are not clear cut enough and the outcome of free kicks are decided on an individuals interpretation, and we have 4 individuals running around trying to stay on the same page as one another which is close to impossible.

I think the rules need to be refined to make it easier for umpires.

The issue is not what we giveaway right you pie fans, the issue is what doesn't get paid to us for the exact same thing as we giveaway.

It's the shit that gets waved play on for us that would result in a free kick to the opposition that sends us over the top.

Example:
Dropping the ball we get pinged for is waved play on for the oppo's or given as holding the man after the oppo's have dropped it cold.

It's this type of shit that drives us insane and this is in all games, when this starts to happen to the pies on a regular basis in every game you play and you start to pop veins in rage come back in here and tell us if things are still fair and square and if we should get over it.

When Pendlebury and co get shafted while Heppell and co get away with murder on Anzac day and you lose the count 30-10 and the game, come back in here and tell us it's still all fair and square and every game afterwards when you get the rough end of the stick.

They're number 1 for free kick differential for 2018 with +100 free kicks.

Then they win the free kick count in the Grand Final, yet start an online petition to have the result overturned because of a free kick.

They win the free kick count yet again last night 25-9, and give ironic cheers when they get a free kick.

You couldn't make this shit up.

OMG and when their USA USA USA chant started up. What a bunch of ******* muppets.
I cringe when they do this. Mostly admire their barricking / supporting chants but this one makes me embarrased for them.

The issue is not what we giveaway right you pie fans, the issue is what doesn't get paid to us for the exact same thing as we giveaway.

It's the shit that gets waved play on for us that would result in a free kick to the opposition that sends us over the top.

Example:
Dropping the ball we get pinged for is waved play on for the oppo's or given as holding the man after the oppo's have dropped it cold.

It's this type of shit that drives us insane and this is in all games, when this starts to happen to the pies on a regular basis in every game you play and you start to pop veins in rage come back in here and tell us if things are still fair and square and if we should get over it.

When Pendlebury and co get shafted while Heppell and co get away with murder on Anzac day and you lose the count 30-10 and the game, come back in here and tell us it's still all fair and square and every game afterwards when you get the rough end of the stick.

Absolutely spot on. Totally. Great post. And if you want a perfect example of it last night, go to 1.08 remaining in the 3rd quarter where Prestia correctly gets pinged for holding the ball and incorrect disposal in front of goal by Pendlebury. Tries to break a tackle then fresh airs it when he tries to drop it on his boot and a free is correctly awarded to Pendlebury. Goal to Pies. But Levi Greenwood with 55 seconds to go in the last quarter tries to break a tackle, has the ball for an eternity, drops it cold and fresh airs it JUST like Prestia and its called play on. The free was as plain as the nose on your face - just like the Prestia one, but nup. "Play ooooon !"

And you could pull out these sorts of one way interpretations 8 to 10 times a game. (Riewoldt and Nank the 2 hardest done by in that respect if you ask me).

Week to week the last 3 seasons there's a way of interpreting our opposition, and then theres a different interpretation for us in the same situations. Somethings going on at AFL level.

How about you guys play some high pressure footy and maybe you might get some free kicks next time :drunk: Instead of blaming the umps who kept you in the game for most of it, how about you cash in that reality check, swallow your pride and admit you were beaten by a superior side.

Do you guys even know what most of those frees were for? Most of them came from YOUR mistakes; high tackles, out on the fulls etc. which was exasperated by our high-pressure style of footy.

But no, continue to shift the blame onto others, I'm sure you'll improve that way.
“You get lots of free kicks against you because you play a high pressure game”
“You get lots of free kicks against you because you had no pressure”
Which one is it?

And aside from that, do you HONESTLY believe your team breached the rules just NINE times last night?

How about you guys play some high pressure footy and maybe you might get some free kicks next time :drunk: Instead of blaming the umps who kept you in the game for most of it, how about you cash in that reality check, swallow your pride and admit you were beaten by a superior side.

Do you guys even know what most of those frees were for? Most of them came from YOUR mistakes; high tackles, out on the fulls etc. which was exasperated by our high-pressure style of footy.

But no, continue to shift the blame onto others, I'm sure you'll improve that way.
Is there a petition we can sign to get last night's result changed hypocrite?

We had more possessions and tackles tonight that's pretty rare, it wasnt a case of the umpires not wanting to give you frees this game I believe your guys just didn't want it enough, however I do agree you guys have had a rough gig with the umpires over the past 2 years I just dont believe it was a factor tonight
Credit to you guys you were the better team on the night.
As far as the umps all we want is consistently.

Off the top of my head?

1) The one against Cox for.....? nothing? That caused a recall of Elliot's Goal
2) The nudge against Langdon on Lynch. Soft as melted butter. Reiwoldt did the SAME thing to Cox in the ruck only minutes earlier and that was let go
3) Kicking in danger that wasn't paid against Edwards on Pendles which resulted in a goal to Lynch
4) Edwards being allowed to take a kick for a free kick he never got. Macintosh 100% would not have kicked that goal and everyone knows it
5) In the same play, Sidebottom being pinged for holding the ball when the ball was merely knocked out of his hands.

Again, this all ignores the fact that you guys barely got your hands on the ball all game and then didn't lay a tackle when you didn't have it.

The free kick count alone rarely tells the full story. When you look at the stats of the game in combination with the free kick count it completely makes sense.

1.Agree Cox was stiff (no pun attended).
2.Pushed by hand is different to a nudge when going for a mark.
3.you actually have to have your hand on the ball.
4.Everyone agrees McIntosh should have be rewarded.But who's to say he would miss?
5.All square we got nabbed for one as well.

i don’t get this play high pressure footy argument we played high pressure footy for the last 2 seasons and still lost the count

Either way we can’t pay for a free

i don’t get this play high pressure footy argument we played high pressure footy for the last 2 seasons and still lost the count

Either way we can’t pay for a free

Yes,with the new rules,our game style has changed but the umpires still finding new ways to rort us.

I reckon we were definitely on the radar for whatever reason and even though we have cleaned up our act so to speak they are still hyper vigilant towards Richmond.
The Lynch holding Grundy when he didn’t even realise it was his free shows how touchy they are when it’s Richmond. It’s a culture thing with the umps at the moment and it’s a pain in the arse.

Example:

Stopped off for a beer on the way home from work, bloody replay was on, and saw a perfect example of this.
De Goey's big mark and goal in the second quarter was clear in the back, virtually rode the Tiger player, free kick against paid 8 out of 10 and ten out of ten against Jack Reiwoldt.

**YES PIES FANS, IT WASN'T THE REASON WE LOST THE GAME. YOU WERE FAR TOO GOOD, HOWEVER, A PRETTY GOOD EXAMPLE OF WHAT SHITS US TO TEARS**