Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

See below, so 30-45% of all tickets are basically bullshit Vic privilege related allocations. If they disappeared who would care outside of those enjoying the unreasonable privilege?

A 50000 stadium would get in 15-20000 from each club with heaps left for corporate hangers-on and rich idiots that want to pay 5k a seat

Every state bar Tassie could do it standing on their heads

2025 Toyota AFL Grand Final Ticket Allocation

CategoryRange of Seats% of Seats
Competing Club Members16,000 – 40,00016–40%
AFL Clubs (18)0 – 7,0000–7%
MCC Reserve16,000 – 26,00016–26%
AFL Members13,000 – 18,00013–18%
AFL/Medallion Club Members3,000 – 5,0003–5%
AFL Entitlements/Contractual Obligations5,000 – 30,0005–30%
Competing Clubs0 – 5,0000–5%
TOTAL100,000 (approx.)

How would the fans get 15-20K each club?

Apart from the MCC members, the AFL would still need to meet all these requirements.

How would the fans get 15-20K each club?

Apart from the MCC members, the AFL would still need to meet all these requirements.
Because you can prioritise the clubs involved and still have about 20-30% for corporates and not lose much money because you just up the corporate prices, it's all Vic bullshit that it can't be done

It's not just corporates though, is it.

In practice, ~40K seats go to satisfying various AFL/club interests.

Those interests will still need to be satisfied whereever the game is played.

You might be able to free up some of those by throwing money at them to, in effect, buy them back, but of course that cost would need to be added to the tab of the new host ground/state.

The correct VICBias claim is that AFL and MCC members are overwhelming Vic based supporters.

AFL members itself if just a weird concept, the league offers a membership that gives better value than direct club memberships (of you are a Gold member)...but is only really competing against the VIC clubs.

For GF they give Gold members who support competing clubs priority access, so they are actually getting more members in, but they are VIC based members - Collingwood have the most AFL members by a fair way.

Just scrap it and give the AFL members 10-15k to be shared equally between competing teams clubs members.

If we need further proof of complete Vic centric thinking look no further than Goyder congratulating N .Daicos for his Sterling year BEFORE acknowledging Matty Rowell.
An absolutey disrespectful thought process and shows his bias thinking process.

The correct VICBias claim is that AFL and MCC members are overwhelming Vic based supporters.

AFL members itself if just a weird concept, the league offers a membership that gives better value than direct club memberships (of you are a Gold member)...but is only really competing against the VIC clubs.

For GF they give Gold members who support competing clubs priority access, so they are actually getting more members in, but they are VIC based members - Collingwood have the most AFL members by a fair way.

Just scrap it and give the AFL members 10-15k to be shared equally between competing teams clubs members.
Most sensible thing you have ever said DG.
Congrats.

If we need further proof of complete Vic centric thinking look no further than Goyder congratulating N .Daicos for his Sterling year BEFORE acknowledging Matty Rowell.
Are you seriously all there?
Goyder is a West Australian.

So in fact what you are saying it's WA centric thinking.

Not our fault Victorians don't give enough of a shit about the MCG to vote, there are three times as many of you.

I've been to both, the MCG is ageing and pretty decrepit, it's only advantage is that it can hold more people. Which, by your logic, makes it worse than Pyongyang's stadium, which can hold 150,000.
When the WA stadium isn't named after a corporation, becomes the place where the game was invented, has a history of hosting virtually every GF going back to the origins of the comp and can hold 100,000 spectators, it will have a good claim to supercede the MCG as the most suitable venue for the GF.

Do you think that the thoughts said out loud by a Westralian is reflective of vic footy fans?

You need to take it up with Goyder, not try and claim it as a vic bias

Irrespective of where Goyder is from, it was just plain wrong for him to congratulate Nick Daicos before the actual winner. Insulting to Matt Rowell in fact.
Goyder is west Aussie by association only. His afl connection and his 10,000,000 dollar property in Melbourne is where his loyalty lies.
Just another puppet in the afl system making big bucks.

Most sensible thing you have ever said DG.
Congrats.
Have said it repeatedly.

AFL members takes money from big clubs (Collingwood) to go into the distribution pot.

And come finals time, it is still letting club members access (AFL members are also counted as club members) but it overwhelmingly is Vic based.

So just put the AFL members allocation back to competing clubs allocation. That way BOTH competing clubs can get an extra 5-7k each...instead of just the Vic based team.

When the WA stadium isn't named after a corporation, becomes the place where the game was invented, has a history of hosting virtually every GF going back to the origins of the comp and can hold 100,000 spectators, it will have a good claim to supercede the MCG as the most suitable venue for the GF.
So it’s the vibe? The MCG could be a rundown shithole and you’d still argue for it to host the grand final forever because of history. It’s absurd thinking based on arrogance. It’s a national competition, where the game was invented is irrelevant. Should the soccer World Cup be held at Wembley forever?

Might tell you how bloated the AFL is by predominately Vic AFL/club interests, if 40k tickets go to them.
Mind you, if it keeps the status quo of Vics hosting the GF ad infinitum, then definitely we need to commit the PF’s to interstate permanently.
Even an all Vic PF can be played in Adelaide, just like an all WA or Qld GF can be played in Melbourne.

Goyder is west Aussie by association only. His afl connection and his 10,000,000 dollar property in Melbourne is where his loyalty lies.
Just another puppet in the afl system making big bucks.
Oh My God Reaction GIF

So it’s the vibe? The MCG could be a rundown shithole and you’d still argue for it to host the grand final forever because of history. It’s absurd thinking based on arrogance. It’s a national competition, where the game was invented is irrelevant. Should the soccer World Cup be held at Wembley forever?
175 years of history is more than just a vibe, .

Arrogance isn't respecting history, quite the opposite. Arrogance is the Nouveau riche thinking they can trump history with a shiny new toy. Stupidity is thinking that they trump it even when their new toy is far less practical due to both size and location.

175 years of history is more than just a vibe, .

Arrogance isn't respecting history, quite the opposite. Arrogance is the Nouveau riche thinking they can trump history with a shiny new toy. Stupidity is thinking that they trump it even when their new toy is far less practical due to both size and location.
So, World Cup every four years in England? It’s history, it trumps everything. A sign of maturity is growing the game and taking it beyond its beginnings. Vic immaturity and insecurity is trying to keep it to themselves.

and don't tell me, 100K is an unreasonable 'minimum stadium size', but whatever works for your state is 'just right'?
Huh? I literally included a stadium in the 4 big states - including for your team in QLD. Each of of those states have at least 2 teams

Tasmania will have 1 team with a boutique stadium.

I think 50k is a reasonable number.

What are you actually arguing?

So, World Cup every four years in England? It’s history, it trumps everything. A sign of maturity is growing the game and taking it beyond its beginnings. Vic immaturity and insecurity is trying to keep it to themselves.
Immaturity is trying to hang shit on Vics every chance you get.

I used to think it would be good to move the GF around, but when I read comments from posters like you, I just laugh and hope they extend the MCG contract more, you're just a insecure sook.

AFL is not country versus country, nor is it state versus state. It's a club competition that has the option of playing the GF at a stadium steeped in history where the game was invented that also has the biggest capacity. Of course it's where they play the GF. The immaturity and insecurity is from those who actually think there's a valid reason to play it anywhere else. It's not about the state it's in. The MCG is the birthplace of the ****ing game.

I actually live in walking distance from Adelaide Oval and have a membership there. It's a great ground, but I can't think of a reason why the AFL would play the GF there when the MCG is available. It'd be great for me, but it'd be ****ing ridiculous.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2