Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

What I said was WA and SA clubs can't get players who weren't born in their state of they have other options.

A few exceptions but normally these are b and C graders.
What's your solution? Compensation for SA and WA teams because Vics would prefer to live in Vic or WA?

Compensation, even though there's 5 times as many clubs in Vic than WA, yet Vic doesn't produce 5 times as many AFL players?

What's your solution? Compensation for SA and WA teams because Vics would prefer to live in Vic or WA?

Compensation, even though there's 5 times as many clubs in Vic than WA, yet Vic doesn't produce 5 times as many AFL players?
Adelaide’s a stone throw from Melbourne but a bigger soft cap for wa teams would be a start
coaches need to be paid more if their expected to leave their families fortnightly to travel cross country

Adelaide’s a stone throw from Melbourne but a bigger soft cap for wa teams would be a start
coaches need to be paid more if their expected to leave their families fortnightly to travel cross country
FMD.

WA produces the highest ratio of AFL players per club than any state in the country and has won an above proportional number of premierships in the AFL era.

It's just ridiculous the amount of excuses fans make.

FMD.

WA produces the highest ratio of AFL players per club than any state in the country and has won an above proportional number of premierships in the AFL era.

It's just ridiculous the amount of excuses fans make.
Just speaking from experience
The more travel for work I do the more I get paid
Pretty simple logic .

First admit WA and SA clubs are at a disadvantage.

1, fund SA and WA development properly.
- if the AFL won't do it, give us an academy.
2, travel allowance for coaches and players based on days spent away from home
3, equal marquee slots based on finish last year for all teams.
4, give WA time slots that suit there local time. No more 10am starts or play games at 7,30 WA time.

That would be a good start. Try that for 5 years and see how we go.

On what basis are you grouping SA and WA?
So you think AFL should give Richmond players extra $$ for their decision to play on Tassie?

Adelaide lose $$ because gather round is in SA?

WC players give some of their $$ to North players who are playing in WA?
What does this even mean - equal based on finishing positions?

So 1st gets the same as 18th

Or are you suggesting that 1st gets a set number, 10th etc., which isn't equal.

And why would they do that when no guarantee that a team will be strong again the following year?

4, give WA time slots that suit there local time. No more 10am starts or play games at 7,30 WA time.
Why would C7 want to start their Friday night football national coverage at 9:30pm EST?

If you want WA friendly timeslots, you can't expect marquee slots - as the marquee slots are C7 driven and cater to national demand, which ain't the WA market.

So, WA & SA can't get players who weren't born there, but GC can?

Why?

Your argument about why Vic clubs have it so good boiled down to additional access to 3rd party Sponsorships and the (related) benefits of playing in big timeslots.

WA & SA clubs have it BETTER on those criteria.

NSW and QLD are away from the footy bubble.

That would be my guess why they can get certain players.

There was a time when no one wanted to go to Geelong. An even more recent one regarding Brisbane and the GC.

Beaches and outdoor lifestyle has become a massive draw card for AFL players. If WA teams can't sell their lifestyle or even their proximity to Bali to AFL players, they should try harder, rather than telling everyone that they won't want to live there.

There was a time when no one wanted to go to Geelong. An even more recent one regarding Brisbane and the GC.
Poorly run clubs with poor cultures don't attract players and lose players.

Well run clubs with strong cultures attract players and keep em.

It ain't Melbourne v non-Melbourne thing.
Beaches and outdoor lifestyle has become a massive draw card for AFL players. If WA teams can't sell their lifestyle or even their proximity to Bali to AFL players, they should try harder, rather than telling everyone that they won't want to live there.
But it is so much easier for WA teams just complain about being far away from Melbourne and Sydney and demand extra help, instead of pivoting and thinking of positives and their unique competitive advantages and selling points.

If Petracca was desperate to get away from the footy bubble, why do you think he would have gone to Hawthorn if he'd had the choice?

Also, footy bubble = 3rd party sponsorships....You know, the reason you thought Vic clubs were advantaged.

Or is it just that you want to twist everything that might possibly be uneven between clubs and paint it as an example of how your club has got it so tough so you can have a sook and pretend you're the victim?

Because Freo can’t get their act together
For all their whining about recruiting disadvantages. They've got a super list with some excellent players poached from Vic teams in it. They've just stuck with a conservative coach for too long.

That would be a good start. Try that for 5 years and see how we go.
I truly would have thought that after losing a final at home to a lower placed interstate team with no finals experience, a poor away record and no supporter base, Freo fans would just want to STFU and put responsibility squarely on their own club to do better. I was clearly wrong. Somehow this continues to be Victoria’s fault.

This thread has really turned into sook fest about whos club is the most hard done by
The answer is the Western Bulldogs.

Imagine earning a home final in 2024 and having to play at your OPPONENT'S home ground - a ground you only played TWO games at during that H&A season.

Imagine the SA & WA whingers in here having to cop a rort like that? Their little brains would explode.

Imagine earning a home final in 2024 and having to play at your OPPONENT'S home ground - a ground you only played TWO games at during that H&A season.

Imagine the SA & WA whingers in here having to cop a rort like that? Their little brains would explode.
Like a grand final

Dogs showed this year why they lost that final, and it didn’t have anything to do with ground. Consistent defensive application isn’t at the level, ability to adapt in-game is not at the level.

Like a grand final
Any idea how many games Gold Coast played in Perth Stadium last year? How ever did they pull it off?

Edit: sorry to include further references to reality, but my club won a final not only at a ground they hadn’t played at all season, but had never won at before. They backed it up with a win at AO, a ground they had played at twice during the season for two losses. Was it the Vic bias that got them over the line?

That literally happens to geelong every year. Earned home prelim final this year. Play it at hawthorns home ground and city. Atleast bulldogs are from the same city. Geelong isnt.

Big day coming up for interstate whinging, looking fwd to it.

It's been released start your rage wanking!!!

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2