Wells, McIntosh, Smith vs Murphy, Gibbs, Walker

• Thread starter Thread starter The Zebra

I wonder how different this poll will be when Carlton are winning games and the Kangas are crap again.

Murphy, Walker and Gibbs in 2 years in a winning side will be better by a fair margin. Nothing against Macca/Wells/Smith but it's an extremely talented combination without the team around them to make 'em look good.

So can i excuse Wells' inconsistency for being in a crap side these last few years?

It hasnt been the Simpsons, Rawlings, Grants, Thompson's to step up this year.

Its been the guys like Gibson, McIntosh, Swallow, Smith, Thomas, Pratt, Firrito, Harris of most have 150+ games left in them

And that children, is not only how they made chicken soup, but also how the question (apart from the wins and current ladder positioning) how they (laughingly, and I was saying this the entire pre season) unjustifiably shitcanned our list.

Richmond & Carlton supporters, where art thou? :thumbsu::):o

Yes, at no stage did I say that Kennedy will be a hack. In fact I am yet to make a comment on Kennedy. I havent made a call on him yet due to the reasons you have listed above. About these good signs you have seen, what are they exactly? What has he done (other than be a high draft pick) to make you so certain he will be a gun? Ridiculous statement. No north supporter would have been certain Hamish would be as good as he is now as recent as last year! You are basing that on nothing but his draft status.

I have seen plenty of Kennedy to know that if he stays injury free and puts on a few kilos he will be a good player.

Reasons.

Game against Essendon last year had a ripper. Can take a contested mark but he is still very skinny at the moment so it will take a while for him to put on a few kilos.

He has a very good kick in front of goal.... watch him every time he warmed up and split the middle from all over the ground. Only thing is during a game he cracks under pressure but when he is more experienced this will not happen.

He works really hard up the ground to take a mark and has been playing very very well for the ants ( yes it is the reserves but he is still palying very well)

This kid has lots of talent and i think he will be a good player.

I don't even know what B-Rock and MArk 73 are talking about anymore. But then again I already knew they were stupid for thinking Wells, Smith, McIntosh>>>Murphy, Gibbs, Walker.

You see, I can revert to childish name calling too

I don't even know what B-Rock and MArk 73 are talking about anymore. But then again I already knew they were stupid for thinking Wells, Smith, McIntosh>>>Murphy, Gibbs, Walker.
Ok but,
You see, I can revert to childish name calling too
Isn't it an opinion? Where does the name calling come into it?

Most of us accept that as your opinion. It's really no big deal. We're quite happy where we are. :thumbsu:

It's ok you'll catch on one day son :) Stay in school!

If I were at school I'd be there now:confused:

Yeah, I'd rather him realise what how stupid he is though and not just pass it off as an in-joke he didnt get or something (which im sure he has made a habit of with his intelligence level).

Hmmm...seems like childish name calling to me:confused:

I have seen plenty of Kennedy to know that if he stays injury free and puts on a few kilos he will be a good player.

Reasons.

Game against Essendon last year had a ripper. Can take a contested mark but he is still very skinny at the moment so it will take a while for him to put on a few kilos.

He has a very good kick in front of goal.... watch him every time he warmed up and split the middle from all over the ground. Only thing is during a game he cracks under pressure but when he is more experienced this will not happen.

He works really hard up the ground to take a mark and has been playing very very well for the ants ( yes it is the reserves but he is still palying very well)

This kid has lots of talent and i think he will be a good player.

Uh huh, but dont you think that we could justify our beliefs in our players with glimpses like those listed above? Or do they need to be a high draft pick in order for us to have that blind faith?

If I were at school I'd be there now:confused:

Hmmm...seems like childish name calling to me:confused:

You dropped out of school at 16? Thats a worry.

Mate, seriously. Read back through the last few pages, see if you can pick up the part when responding to one of mark73's posts where you totally missed the point to what he was saying twice. If you understand now, all is forgiven. If not, I stand by my original comments :)

You dropped out of school at 16? Thats a worry.

Mate, seriously. Read back through the last few pages, see if you can pick up the part when responding to one of mark73's posts where you totally missed the point to what he was saying twice. If you understand now, all is forgiven. If not, I stand by my original comments :)

I thought you said I was 12

Oh shit I realised I'm an absolte ****** and don't have a clue what I'm saying...that's embarrassing

Youre preaching to the wrong person here. Read through what has been said, I never had a negative word to say about Kennedy. He could be a star, no doubts about that. He hasnt done anything substancial yet to justify the faith in him: only shown it in glimpses. Which is normal for a young player.

I am merely pointing out the fact that both north and carlton supporters share the same optimism for their players as both have obviously shown something special to justify this. Draft status should not make one players potential higher than another, without looking at performance.

I'll admit
Wells-Superstar of the game can really turn it on its head, can dominate games, just watching him you can see that he is a special talent
Walker-Good, but does a role many players can
Gibbs-Hasn't shown anything yet, has potential but not proven
Smith-Tall, composed, accurate kick
McIntosh-A rucman, and not a bad one. A good ruck is very important to success
Murphy-Looks to be a good midfielder, highly talented, definately the best of the Carlton trio but probably only 3rd or 4th best in the players concered

I'll admit
Wells-Superstar of the game can really turn it on its head, can dominate games, just watching him you can see that he is a special talent
Walker-Good, but does a role many players can
Gibbs-Hasn't shown anything yet, has potential but not proven
Smith-Tall, composed, accurate kick
McIntosh-A rucman, and not a bad one. A good ruck is very important to success
Murphy-Looks to be a good midfielder, highly talented, definately the best of the Carlton trio but probably only 3rd or 4th best in the players concered

I agree with most of that.

Youre preaching to the wrong person here. Read through what has been said, I never had a negative word to say about Kennedy. He could be a star, no doubts about that. He hasnt done anything substancial yet to justify the faith in him: only shown it in glimpses. Which is normal for a young player.

I am merely pointing out the fact that both north and carlton supporters share the same optimism for their players as both have obviously shown something special to justify this. Draft status should not make one players potential higher than another, without looking at performance.

Just justifying wha i said. I'm telling you this because half the people will just say he is a dud for no reason.

I have faith in him as do many carlton supporteres and they may be glimpses but it shows us that he can be a good player.

But he is still young and will in improve. but i guess it is the same as Hansen and Gumbleton. We didn't need to play kennedy last year and all 3 will learn and once they have bigger bodies be able to play in there KP roles.

You Carlton supporters are all the same, love realing off names that have done **** all in AFL football.

Like Smith? :o

You guys are the one that started this thread in the first place.

Your comparing Walker and Smith because of their similarity in age? How bout look at the difference in games played :o Walker is a plodder, with average skills, doesnt read the play, and gets bullied out of games. And he was a No.2 pick.

The ONLY reason why you don't want to compare the 2 is because you know that Walker has done a whole lot more. If it was the other way around, you wouldn't be complaining.

Kade Simpson :o Well why dont we just compare him to Wells then dont we?

We can if you wish. Kade has had a brilliant season. I thought you were smart enough to realise this but then I realised who I was typing to :o

Gibbs, seeing as hes young, il compare him to Swallow, of whom the former is having a much better season.

I agree that Gibbs is having the better season...

Its easy to move the comparisons around isnt it? Id argue Smith to date has had a better season than Walker anyway. Regardless in the difference in possessions, Smith carries the footy, and almost always notches up 100% effective possessions.

You'd argue that because you are an idiotic North supporter. Walker has had a MUCH better season than Smith. Don't even start on that one.

I didn't realise that Walker doesn't carry the footy :rolleyes:. I would prefer if you actually watched some footy and saw him play before making stupid comments like that.

How many times has Smith notched up 100% effective possessions. How many times has Smith got more possessions than Walker in the same round? It's much easier to get a higher efficiency rating with possessions when you get a lot less of the ball.

Young KPP's, Fisher? Oh ok might as well real off a few of our budding KPP's of the same age or under:

Gibson, McMahon, Moran, Goldstein, Hansen, Edwards, Warren

How many of them have done close to half of what Fisher has done? Not one of them.

And when you classify McMahon (184cm) and Warren (186cm) as KPP we know you are really scraping the bottom of the barrell. How the hell can you call them KPP?

Easy isnt it?

To make a complete and utter fool out of you? Yes, it's very easy, especially when you do most of the work for me.

The only reason I started off saying how good the Carlton guys were is I was pissed at Jesse Smith who got 37 for me in dreamteam this week, the first week I got him

Wow Jermemias you are fool. Gibbs has had a better season that Swallow? Take off your bias goggles mate. Swallow has been a matchwinner, has beaten gibbs statistically in almost every facet and has had a far better season. Maybe an unfair comparison for Carlton, but to say Gibbs season >> Swallows season? Fool. Good luck finding another non carlton supporter who would agree with that.

The only reason I started off saying how good the Carlton guys were is I was pissed at Jesse Smith who got 37 for me in dreamteam this week, the first week I got him

He did some good things, but yeah was a little quiet. Still had his high effiency rate though.