2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch

What happens with our listed players for the last two rounds of the WAFL season after our AFL season ends this weekend?

Are we only able to select players that have played a minimum number of WAFL games during the year?

It’s not finals so there’s no restrictions as such

Doubt the club will extend the season for any best 22 players but fringe players likely will get a run

Player availability is only part of the problem.

The non-AFL listed players are ammos who aren't senior WAFL standard, that's been bought about by the recruitment restricions imposed on the club. Freo on the other hand get access to Peel's full program which is they have a better environmenr for player development.

Yes but that won’t change if we have a stand alone team. The recruiting restrictions all come back to salary cap for the WAFL comp. It can’t be more than another WAFL club and it’s based on the Eagles having AGL listed players playing.
We need an alignment if you want it like Fremantle have it. There is no other way.

Yes but that won’t change if we have a stand alone team. The recruiting restrictions all come back to salary cap for the WAFL comp. It can’t be more than another WAFL club and it’s based on the Eagles having AGL listed players playing.
We need an alignment if you want it like Fremantle have it. There is no other way.

There is another way and it’s the model we had in 2019 which made finals and won a final.

Which was exactly the same as the current model, just run better.

There is another way and it’s the model we had in 2019 which made finals and won a final.

Which was exactly the same as the current model, just run better.

How was it different to now? Or did we just have more listed players available to play?
The problem still exists that no player wants to play for the Eagles WAFL team that is not AFL listed.

How was it different to now? Or did we just have more listed players available to play?
The problem still exists that no player wants to play for the Eagles WAFL team that is not AFL listed.

We probably had more listed players available to play. I was planning to check that tonight.

But we had better top ups as well. Brady Grey who had AFL experience, Petrie played the second half of the year. Andrew Fisher came out of ammos and turned out to be a gun. Guys like Reid and Curnow were serviceable.

The list size being reduced hasn’t helped, and the late introduction of the sub rule meaning that we’ve had to hold out a second emergency most weeks. That’s around three extra AFL players a week being pulled out of the team.

They need to pick a model, commit to it and stick to it.

The problem with our top ups came about this year because of the 11th hour decision to run the Beagles. By that stage the skipper Brayshaw had already signed with another club in the belief there wouldn’t be a Beagles side, and all the top available talent had similarly been snapped up. We were left with whoever we had left from the 2021 campaign (with guys like Hug also leaving) and whoever the other WAFL clubs didn’t care about losing.

Commit to the Beagles before the WAFL grand final and try to recruit some actual WAFL quality players, including an ex-AFL player who can come in and skipper the side - the Brady Grey equivalent.

We also need to fix availability in the AFL list so that we’re not relying on 15 top ups each week.

The club is set to persist with a WAFL side for 2023 (see article below - paywalled however) and is also going to ask for recruitment concessions for next season as well.

Ochre

Time to do the one thing you’re useful for

In my opinion, the issue with the Reserves side this season has been somewhat of a perfect storm culminating in a number of events that have led to the current predicament.

• Lack of clarity - West Coast were set to withdraw their WAFL side after the 2021 season only to have to organise the side at the last minute after they had no other options. The lack of planning and preparation heading into the 2022 WAFL season with regards to the team is certainly not ideal and has no doubt caused a few issues having to be rushed together at late notice.
  • Recruiting - The club's inability to recruit players has hurt the side's competitiveness. 2019 was different in that the side has a good core nucleus of WAFL listed players (Brady Grey, Andrew Fisher, etc.) who had plenty to play for and were good standard WAFL players. Grey was aiming to get back onto an AFL list and was paid fairly well for his services while Fisher was playing WAFL for the first time and was perhaps auditioning to play WAFL at another club. Having a decent core of WAFL listed players who are competitive and can play well at the level makes a big difference. No doubt the rushed organisation of the side this year didn't help and they had no option but to forego recruiting anyone to play for the side as most players would be signed by then.
  • WAFL Listed Players - Our current list of WAFL players are mostly sourced from amateur clubs or are fringe players at other WAFL clubs (mostly playing WAFL reserves). It is difficult to be competitive when you have listed players who generally play WAFL reserves most weeks or those who play a level or two below that at amateur level. You only have to look at Peel Thunder who have a good list of WAFL players, including those who play well at the level every week to see how they've fared this season.
  • Injuries - The club's injury list this year has been massive and has resulted in the reserves side fielding only a handful of players at the second tier level in a number of matches this season, the situation was so dire at one point that the game against East Fremantle in the early part of the season was postponed a week as the Eagles couldn't meet the requirements to fill a side (minimum of three AFL listed players). It is unsurprising that the club has struggled when some weeks they have only a few AFL listed players (some of whom have not played AFL) and a bunch of WAFL Reserves players plus amateurs to choose from. It is no coincidence the club has been a lot more competitive in WAFL games where we've fielded 10 or more AFL listed players, including knocking over South Fremantle who are one of the better clubs in the League competition at the moment.
  • WAFL "8" - The remaining eight WAFL clubs (not including Peel Thunder who are already aligned elsewhere) do not want an alignment or even a partial alignment which the Eagles offered, people are wasting their time suggesting this because it is extremely unlikely to happen. The other clubs saw what happened with East Perth and simply don't really want anything to do with it.

I think if the club can get its AFL list right for next season in terms of injuries and perhaps pick up a few players with some recruiting concessions then they should be more competitive next year. This option is really the only one available at the moment, an AFL Reserves competition seems a fair way off (if it will ever happen) at this stage and playing in the VFL would be an expensive exercise I would have thought. The Eagles don't seem to allocate their players back to the WAFL clubs as they have no control over where they will play.

Given all of that, I feel if the club commits to playing in the WAFL and getting it right then things should get back on track in terms of the WAFL team. We saw what happened when the list stayed relatively healthy and had a decent WAFL list to pick from in 2019, they were competitive and ended up winning one final.

On another note, the TV game this week is between Perth and the Eagles' Reserves in a night match at Mineral Resources Park (Perth home game). Coverage starts at 5:30pm on 7mate with bouncedown at 5:40pm local time. If you're outside WA you can watch the game on 7plus or stream the game on the AFL website.

Agree with the importance of WCER having a core of good players, just can't see any current existing elite WAFL player wanting to play for WCER.....unless it's for big bucks. Peel's quality core are mainly Peel born n bred, thus have a connection and desire to play for the club....WCER being stand alone will never have that.....they will be totally reliant upon the WCE S&C team keeping their AFL list fit.

Not sure how Nesbit can ask for more recruiting concessions.....WCER are the only WAFL club that has filtered down access to all the AFL drafts....WCER gained access to Clark(Subi), Hough(Peel), Williams, Strnadica, Dixon & Joyce(EF) and Naish(ex AFL) before the season started from other clubs, plus Chesser from over East and then picked up Culley midseason....and had a chance to get Florenca(SF) midseason, but turned him down.....4 talented youngsters and 5 quality WAFL players who would easily be top 22 in the top 2 clubs in the WAFL....

If WCE didn't have their injury list, all those guys would surely be playing more WCER then WCE....and probably pushing for a top 4 WAFL spot......with 13+ AFL listed players available, like Peel are doing now, due to Freo's healthy AFL list.

There is no way any WAFL club would be able to recruit all of the likes of Naish, Clark, Strnadica, Dixon and Joyce, on reputation alone in one go and fit them into their points and salary cap allocation....and yet Nisbet is looking for more recruiting concessions, just in case injuries set in? All the other WAFL clubs, when beset by injury, are also reliant on reserves quality players to fill the void, it's part n parcel of footy, clubs rarely have their best 22 available....

And what WAFL player from another club is going to want to play for the Eagles WAFL team?

One who also gets a coaching or development or recruiting job to go alongside the playing role.

One who has the carrot of a potential SSP spot or mid-season draft spot dangled in front of him.

One who also gets a coaching or development or recruiting job to go alongside the playing role.

One who has the carrot of a potential SSP spot or mid-season draft spot dangled in front of him.

Do you want the chance to go from being pantsed at WAFL level to being pantsed at AFL level? Boy, have I got a deal for you!

Ones that are offered recruiting or development rolls are not going to be seasoned WAFL players from another WAFL club,those jobs go to former AFL players. And those types of things the other WAFL clubs will be all over as it is cheating the system To get a player.

Mid season draft pick ups are generally blokes to fill reserves teams spots. you might get the odd player that makes it but for the most part their list fillers. And the Eagles can get them in the mid season draft.

I don’t think the Eagles have anything to sell to try and convince a good solid WAFL player to play for the Eagles Reserves.

We're the richest and best resourced club in the state, surely we can build an environment so blokes like Naish, Joyce and Strnadica would rather stay than go back to a s**t hole like East Freo if they're delisted.

If Robert Wiley says our goal for the season is to win the WAFL and we will do everything to achieve that above all else then those blokes might consider it.
But the reality is it’s a development and training ground so why would they stay when they can play for a club that wants to win and have success.
You may not care about the WAFL but the clubs do and so do their players. It is still a big deal fir WAFL clubs to win the WAFL.

Maybe the Eagles need to change their attitude on it.

We're the richest and best resourced club in the state, surely we can build an environment so blokes like Dixon, Joyce and Strnadica would rather stay than go back to a s**t hole like East Freo if they're delisted.

But then we wouldn't have as much money for nepotism.

Last edited by a moderator:
Ones that are offered recruiting or development rolls are not going to be seasoned WAFL players from another WAFL club,those jobs go to former AFL players. And those types of things the other WAFL clubs will be all over as it is cheating the system To get a player.

Kyal Horsley?

Didn’t sign on as a player but picked up as a development coach after years at Subi.

I’d be going for someone ex-AFL anyway, like Mitch Crowden. Or Matt De Boer if he’s got anything left in the tank.

Kyal Horsley?

Didn’t sign on as a player but picked up as a development coach after years at Subi.

I’d be going for someone ex-AFL anyway, like Mitch Crowden. Or Matt De Boer if he’s got anything left in the tank.

Like I said, one in a blue moon. Most retired AFL players want to give back to their WAFL club.

We're the richest and best resourced club in the state, surely we can build an environment so blokes like Dixon, Joyce and Strnadica would rather stay than go back to a s**t hole like East Freo if they're delisted.
Money can't buy you passion, look at WP, on the bones of their arse financially a few years back, but all their good WAFL players in Black, Nelson, Keitel, Knott etc stayed because of the very thing you think money will buy WCER.....they bleed WP red n blue. Same as Rogers, Mountfort, Bolton and Mitchell(did) bleed the Cl colours, Shaw, Schloithe, Strom, Main, Ah Chee bleed SF colors etc etc.

Why didn't Hutchings and Ah Chee stay at WCE and play for their reserves side? There are two WAFL quality players right there....

EF might be a s**thole as you say, but they have provided your beloved WCE many a fine player over the years, and will continue to do so for many years to come no doubt. The WAFL owes WCE nothing, especially EF, no wonder why no WAFL club wants to align with them now...obviously money can't buy WCE everything....

I truly am interested in what recruiting concessions you boys want? Already get access to the various AFL drafts, no player points to abide too, nor a salary cap....no WAFL club have those concessions.....

Last edited by a moderator:
In my opinion, the issue with the Reserves side this season has been somewhat of a perfect storm culminating in a number of events that have led to the current predicament.

• Lack of clarity - West Coast were set to withdraw their WAFL side after the 2021 season only to have to organise the side at the last minute after they had no other options. The lack of planning and preparation heading into the 2022 WAFL season with regards to the team is certainly not ideal and has no doubt caused a few issues having to be rushed together at late notice.
  • Recruiting - The club's inability to recruit players has hurt the side's competitiveness. 2019 was different in that the side has a good core nucleus of WAFL listed players (Brady Grey, Andrew Fisher, etc.) who had plenty to play for and were good standard WAFL players. Grey was aiming to get back onto an AFL list and was paid fairly well for his services while Fisher was playing WAFL for the first time and was perhaps auditioning to play WAFL at another club. Having a decent core of WAFL listed players who are competitive and can play well at the level makes a big difference. No doubt the rushed organisation of the side this year didn't help and they had no option but to forego recruiting anyone to play for the side as most players would be signed by then.
  • WAFL Listed Players - Our current list of WAFL players are mostly sourced from amateur clubs or are fringe players at other WAFL clubs (mostly playing WAFL reserves). It is difficult to be competitive when you have listed players who generally play WAFL reserves most weeks or those who play a level or two below that at amateur level. You only have to look at Peel Thunder who have a good list of WAFL players, including those who play well at the level every week to see how they've fared this season.
  • Injuries - The club's injury list this year has been massive and has resulted in the reserves side fielding only a handful of players at the second tier level in a number of matches this season, the situation was so dire at one point that the game against East Fremantle in the early part of the season was postponed a week as the Eagles couldn't meet the requirements to fill a side (minimum of three AFL listed players). It is unsurprising that the club has struggled when some weeks they have only a few AFL listed players (some of whom have not played AFL) and a bunch of WAFL Reserves players plus amateurs to choose from. It is no coincidence the club has been a lot more competitive in WAFL games where we've fielded 10 or more AFL listed players, including knocking over South Fremantle who are one of the better clubs in the League competition at the moment.
  • WAFL "8" - The remaining eight WAFL clubs (not including Peel Thunder who are already aligned elsewhere) do not want an alignment or even a partial alignment which the Eagles offered, people are wasting their time suggesting this because it is extremely unlikely to happen. The other clubs saw what happened with East Perth and simply don't really want anything to do with it.

I think if the club can get its AFL list right for next season in terms of injuries and perhaps pick up a few players with some recruiting concessions then they should be more competitive next year. This option is really the only one available at the moment, an AFL Reserves competition seems a fair way off (if it will ever happen) at this stage and playing in the VFL would be an expensive exercise I would have thought. The Eagles don't seem to allocate their players back to the WAFL clubs as they have no control over where they will play.

Given all of that, I feel if the club commits to playing in the WAFL and getting it right then things should get back on track in terms of the WAFL team. We saw what happened when the list stayed relatively healthy and had a decent WAFL list to pick from in 2019, they were competitive and ended up winning one final.
You forgot-
COACH, Wiley is 67 years old and has had very limited success as a coach.
The players need someone they can relate to and who isn't rooted in the 1990s.
It is an extreme, obscene case of "jobs for the boys" and typical of how Nisbett operates
Find someone else.