West Coast's 1992 Premiership doesn't get enough Recognition

I seem to recall that at the AFL Hall of Fame there is a time line of great events / achievments for the VFL / AFL.

The first time the crows won is mentioned, same with Port, everytime Collingwood wins is marked in gold embossed letters but do you think the first time the AFL cup left Victoria is mentioned?

No.....nida.....never happened:D.

Whats even more funny is the highlight of 1992 was some totally obscure event no one has ever heard of.

It says alot IMO.

It says that WCE achievement was nothing because you were a state team and had zone concessions and bias never seen again. It shows that the AFL/VFL which originally owned you through Indian Pacific Ltd thought nothing more of you then just a cash cow, and why wouldn't they?

Your win in 1992 and 1994 are of no value, your win was like being the richest poor person, no one cares.

How did you get shafted? The only reason you were put together so quickly is because WCE was and still is a cashcow for the AFL, thats why you were and to some extent still are owned by Indian Pacific Ltd. A puppet company set up the VFL to own WCE, so WCE were actually owned by Victorians, thats makes you Victorian!

Its not hard to recruit well when you have an entire state to chose from, is it?

And your neglecting the question here, which is was it fair, so please answer this question to prove it, if Victoria entered a team in the WAFL in 1987 how many premierships would it have won?

Completely irrelevant.

We had Victorians on our list. Plus it should have been called AFL from when Brisbane and West Coast got entry anyway.

This is beside the point anyway.

The Eagles' first flag doesn't get as much attention as it deserves, especially during Grand Final week.

Im sick to death of VFL Grand Final moments and replays. That was VFL a suburban competition which only got better once the game went national in 87.

:rolleyes:
Mate your leaving in a dream world, the fact people even say WCE won a premiership in 92 is more than enough recognition. You had a state team/franchise, you had drafting rights to every single player in Western Australia, if anyone wanted to draft a player from WA WCE got first choice. This meant week in and week out it was a STATE (franchise) vs small footy teams.

No club in the history of the game has been given more advantages over the rest of the comp than WCE Inc. were in their early days. Like I said it was a whole state (franchise) vs Victoria (divided into 11).

The sad thing is your franchise only won 2 premierships, with those kinds of advantages you should have won every single premiership until 1995.

So no WCE do not deserve any recognition for their 1992 and 1994 premierships as they were a state team. Think of it like this, if Victoria entered a team in the WAFL in 1987 how many premierships would it have won?

Pure drivel from yet another ignorant Victorian twit using the mind numbing 'state team rhetoric'.
Yes because 1 team in a state makes it a state team:rolleyes:

Fact is the Eagles won the cup in 6 years in a comp that was unbelievibly Vic biased. The Eagles just exposed the Vic teams as the little tin cup teams that they were.

Not suprising ur a Geelong flog. Me thinks you would have more recent GF humiliations to cry about !!

Yes in 1992.

WC finished 4th & received a double chance.

Incorrect.

We beat Hawthorn in the Elimination Final, we only got a double chance after that because Collingwood(3rd) messed up against the Saints(6th) and therefore as the highest elimination final winner (west coast 4th) got a double chance.

The only double chance guarantee was Geelong 1 and Footscray 2.

Completely irrelevant.

We had Victorians on our list. Plus it should have been called AFL from when Brisbane and West Coast got entry anyway.

This is beside the point anyway.

The Eagles' first flag doesn't get as much attention as it deserves, especially during Grand Final week.

Im sick to death of VFL Grand Final moments and replays. That was VFL a suburban competition which only got better once the game went national in 87.

How is it ill relevant? Your club was in the exact same circumstance, you were a whole state in as you say a "suburban league", up against suburban teams. How is a whole state versus "suburban teams" fair?

BTW WCE first list was 90% Western Australia. You received the cream of the WAFL in zone concessions and pre-draft picks and you were also allowed to trade draft picks as well for established Victorian players.

These players Sumich, Turley, Pyke, Worsfold and Lamb, were pre-draft selections and were never offered to other clubs.

You picked up Jackovich, Mainwairing and Mitchell White plus dozens of others under the dubious zone concessions label.

So before you were arguing that is such a good achievement for WA football the fact that a WA team won the premiership, now your arguing your team was also Victorian, clutching at straws already.

They gave you a nice shiny cup with your name on and wrote you down in the history books. What more do you want?

What is it with insecure eagles supporters on bigfooty always seeking validation and reassurance from everyone else about how great they are?

Particulary by the media in Melbourne and other national broadcasters. Every time there is a mention of recent Grand Finals from the 90's onwards its always:

Collingwood's 1990 premiership
Baby Bombers 93 and Long's performance
Carlton's 95 flag
Roos' 96 breakthrough
Crows 97'98 back to back
Lions Threepeat
Port's first flag
Swans first flag in AFL
and so on.

I notice you didn't mention 1991 :D

:rolleyes:

Pure drivel from yet another ignorant Victorian twit using the mind numbing 'state team rhetoric'.
Yes because 1 team in a state makes it a state team:rolleyes:

Fact is the Eagles won the cup in 6 years in a comp that was unbelievibly Vic biased. The Eagles just exposed the Vic teams as the little tin cup teams that they were.

Not suprising ur a Geelong flog. Me thinks you would have more recent GF humiliations to cry about !!

I'm actually a Western Australian, and I'm member of East Fremantle. So please do not call me a twit, troll. And yes my friend, generally if there is one team in a state and they get the entire state to draft from, then yes that is a state team.

Of course the comp was slightly Vic bias, but thats because, and wait its huge, the comp you joined was VICTORIAN. What a revelation! And how it bias when you received both zone concessions, pre-draft concessions as well as ordinary draft picks.

And yes the Eagles did expose the tin pot Vic teams, as they should have because you were a state playing suburban teams. By your own admission, you just said WCE were in a better position than the Victorian teams. Meaning your "premierships" were of lesser value.

And mate the reason you hate the state team argument is because you have no rebuttal for it, shutting your eyes and pretending nothing happened, doesn't make it go away.

How is it ill relevant? Your club was in the exact same circumstance, you were a whole state in as you say a "suburban league", up against suburban teams. How is a whole state versus "suburban teams" fair?

BTW WCE first list was 90% Western Australia. You received the cream of the WAFL in zone concessions and pre-draft picks and you were also allowed to trade draft picks as well for established Victorian players.

These players Sumich, Turley, Pyke, Worsfold and Lamb, were pre-draft selections and were never offered to other clubs.

You picked up Jackovich, Mainwairing and Mitchell White plus dozens of others under the dubious zone concessions label.

So before you were arguing that is such a good achievement for WA football the fact that a WA team won the premiership, now your arguing your team was also Victorian, clutching at straws already.

These guys were selected in a big group of players and turned out to be good.

Look

VFL was going broke in 1986 as was the WAFL. The only way for the VFL and its clubs to continue was to get clubs from interstate to join the VFL. If it wasn't for us and Brisbane your comp would have folded much like your club Geelong probably would have too.

Hang on also, you borrowed heavily from us during the 70's and 80's

Players like Graham Polly Farmer, Mark Jackson, Brian Peake, Mark Bairstow, Denis Marshall, Peter Featherby.

Its not like you got by on just Victorian players over the years. :thumbsu:

These guys were selected in a big group of players and turned out to be good.

Look

VFL was going broke in 1986 as was the WAFL. The only way for the VFL and its clubs to continue was to get clubs from interstate to join the VFL. If it wasn't for us and Brisbane your comp would have folded much like your club Geelong probably would have too.

Hang on also, you borrowed heavily from us during the 70's and 80's

Players like Graham Polly Farmer, Mark Jackson, Brian Peake, Mark Bairstow, Denis Marshall, Peter Featherby.

Its not like you got by on just Victorian players over the years. :thumbsu:

So clearly you have conceded the draft concession point because your comment about them "being in a big group of players" isn't much of a rebuttal.

Mate, the VFL was going broke, totally agree with you, so the AFL needed cash cows. So it started WCE, your a cash cow, a franchise. That's why you owned by the Victorian company Indian Pacific Ltd.

And yes, we did borrow from you. But these borrowings decreases to almost nil after 1987 as you had first choice to all Western Australians. So that argument is also wrong.

Doesn't get mentioned much either does it?

Hurts doesn't it

It doesn't bother me all that much. I was there, I enjoyed it, I celebrated afterwards, I bought a VHS (later a DVD) of the match to play whenever I feel like it. What the media thinks about it is my least concern.

Actually they DO mention it .. .whenever they talk about the batmobile :)

They gave you a nice shiny cup with your name on and wrote you down in the history books. What more do you want?

What is it with insecure eagles supporters on bigfooty always seeking validation and reassurance from everyone else about how great they are?

They've been doing it for years, quite funny really. :D

Most of our original squad was made up of the best players in the WAFL after the VFL clubs had picked the teeth out of the best players.

Mark Hepburn, Michael Mitchell, Peter Wilson, Paul Harding, Brett Stephens, Craig Starcevich, Michael Christian, Richard Dennis, Steve Da Rui, Earl Spalding, Nicky Winmar, Mark Bairstow, Warren Dean, Peter Satori & Darren Bewick all signed with Victorian clubs in the weeks and days before the clubs voted to allow West Coast and Brisbane in. 15 players that all played state football for WA and most of them had very successful careers.

All these players were told that the two new teams won't get up and if they want to play in the VFL they would have to sign with them. After they signed the VFL clubs then voted for the new teams and they were set, they had the states best players and the cash to save their league.

So clearly you have conceded the draft concession point because your comment about them "being in a big group of players" isn't much of a rebuttal.

Mate, the VFL was going broke, totally agree with you, so the AFL needed cash cows. So it started WCE, your a cash cow, a franchise. That's why you owned by the Victorian company Indian Pacific Ltd.

And yes, we did borrow from you. But these borrowings decreases to almost nil after 1987 as you had first choice to all Western Australians. So that argument is also wrong.

Obviously if your starting a new team from a certain area, your going primaraly going to pick blokes from that certain area aren't you? How else do you expect a team to get started? Surely if you get given picks to get a team together some of them are bound to be good players. If not its a bit of a worry. Out of our 1987 bunch not many lasted that long.

We weren't a cash cow. We almost went broke in 1989 too, we were losing crowds and sponsors were losing interest. Good coaching got us to the strong position in the years to follow.

I can't help but feel this is all coming because we beat you in all 4 finals from 1991-1994. Just give it up mate.

Not only was the VFL nearly broke in 1986 but the WAFL was the same thanks to the loan for the new Subiaco Oval stand. Both leagues needed the cash injection as much as the other.

West Coast's 1992 Premiership doesn't get enough Recognition