What are we bid?

• Thread starter Thread starter jim440

Originally posted by Black Thunder

And Embley is not a sweetener.....He would be the main part of the deal just about.

Isn't it ironic, at the end of last year WCE supporters were suggesting a trade of Embley for a fourth round pick and even that was laughed at by opposition supporters. Embley must have sewn up the most improved player ever award, from bottom of the list of what people were suggesting was one of the worst lists in the AFL last year to potential AA selection this year, not a bad turnaround.

Originally posted by Zombie
Isn't it ironic, at the end of last year WCE supporters were suggesting a trade of Embley for a fourth round pick and even that was laughed at by opposition supporters. Embley must have sewn up the most improved player ever award, from bottom of the list of what people were suggesting was one of the worst lists in the AFL last year to potential AA selection this year, not a bad turnaround.

I wasn't particurarly happy with his progress last year, and he had reached 21 or 22, which is usually around the age someone plateaus out a bit. He has just reach his peak improvement age a bit later than what most do.

Thank god he's done what he's done this year, because he would've certainly gone on a trade trip this year.

He'd be out of the AA team this year at the moment, but could be a bolter due to his ability have both size and pace mixed into one. If he improves himself just a fraction however, he could definetaly be right in the mix at seasons end, and I don't think he'd be one of those guys that everyone goes "I can't believe they went for him".

BTW, if he doesn't get the competitions most improved player (even though there isn't such an award), it'd have to be a farce.

The deal was French + Port's 2nd round pick (30something) for Carlton's 2nd round pick.

Dean Cox is still 22, and would probably go close to being in the best 6 or 8 ruckman in the AFL, if he was given the chance to be the first choice ruckman at a club I reckon.

If he were worth pick 2, what would 24 year olds, King and Gardiner, be worth?

I rate Cox highly, but he'd only be worth a 8-14 pick.

And Seaby for pick 2 :eek:

Sure he is playing well at WAFL level but AFL level is completely different and he was drafted in the 20's, wasn't he... so I doubt a year and a half down the track without him playing an AFL game, that you would get pick 2, let alone a first round pick for that matter. Maybe after he shows something at AFL level, then he could be worth a first round pick, but until then, I doubt it.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
If he were worth pick 2, what would 24 year olds, King and Gardiner, be worth?

I rate Cox highly, but he'd only be worth a 8-14 pick.

What he said :rolleyes:

But I'd say Cox is more in the 16-24 region. He isn't their #1 ruckman, and hasn't been #1 for more than a year at a time.

I reckon he needs a bit more experience at being the '1st ruck' to be commanding a first round pick.

Originally posted by Kenny_01

Sure he is playing well at WAFL level but AFL level is completely different and he was drafted in the 20's, wasn't he... so I doubt a year and a half down the track without him playing an AFL game, that you would get pick 2, let alone a first round pick for that matter. Maybe after he shows something at AFL level, then he could be worth a first round pick, but until then, I doubt it.

Not strictly true, we drafted Brooks at 15, and a year later traded him for 8 and 35, after not showing a hell of a lot in the SANFL.

So it can happen. Not for pick 2, but for a late first round, fi someone desperately wants a tall.

Realistically I'd say the only talls we have that would be worth pick 2 on their own would be Tredders or Cornes (under 25 proven kpp's). But I wouldn't trade either of them to the dogs this year, so I guess there won't be any dealing for us.

The dogs have to hope the other sides are good enough to let them have pick 2 yet also.

If you trade your draft picks, we will give you.....

Mark Richardson, Steve McKee, Ben Kinnear, Heath Scotland...

BUT, you also have to give us Luke Darcy :p

Originally posted by Kenny_01

sorry Kenny, but i didn't think I needed to put in the sarcasm for my post on Seaby :p

if anyone offered pick 2 for Mark Seaby, I wouldn' even consider refusing it.

Originally posted by jim440
I'd do that.

Cool.

West Coast, picks 2 and 6 for Judd and Cox? We'll throw in a later pick if needed (22-38)

Originally posted by Falchoon
Cool.

West Coast, picks 2 and 6 for Judd and Cox? We'll throw in a later pick if needed (22-38)

this just gets funnier and funnier.

If we traded picks for Judd, I'd want to get 2 in the top 10, with one of those being in the top 3.

2 is in the top 3
6 is in the top 10

just helping.

Originally posted by Falchoon
2 is in the top 3
6 is in the top 10

just helping.

yes, but Dean Cox was also mentioned in there as well.

If he was thrown into the deal, we'd want another low teenish pick.

I still reckon we could get a top 5 pick for Cox if we played severe hardball with another club in need of some ruckman.

Originally posted by Zombie

Embley's stats this year:

22 goals (=21st in the league)
76 marks (28th in the league)
258 disposals (48th in the league)

Not bad stats for a midfielder.

In the top 50 players for the three major statistical sections.

Oh an BT, Cox for #2...take the blinkers off mate.

Originally posted by jim440
I'd do that.
A couple of years ago Gehrig went for a hack and a second round pick. Fast forward three years, make him older, slower, throw in some personal problems and a totally f**ked up hairstyle and whammo! He's worth Pick 2.

I know our situation with talls is as desperate as it gets, and I won't be overly disappointed if we pay a little over the odds to secure the right type of players, but draw the line at swapping 12 years of top line footy from a superstar onballer for 3 years from a good tall.

We have to treat the early picks as gold - short of an elite tall (with at least 6 years of top line footy left in him) becoming available, keep them at all costs.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy
A couple of years ago Gehrig went for a hack and a second round pick. Fast forward three years, make him older, slower, throw in some personal problems and a totally f**ked up hairstyle and whammo! He's worth Pick 2.

I know our situation with talls is as desperate as it gets, and I won't be overly disappointed if we pay a little over the odds to secure the right type of players, but draw the line at swapping 12 years of top line footy from a superstar onballer for 3 years from a good tall.

We have to treat the early picks as gold - short of an elite tall (with at least 6 years of top line footy left in him) becoming available, keep them at all costs.

Good Post Westy_Boy.
The value of pick 2 will become more evidentafter the Under 18 championships are complete.
If the draft looks strong then the Dogs will not give it away for an injury proned 27 year old or a 21 year old ruckman that has played 20 games.
Bidding should resume in two weeks.

Well since you won't get that what will you take when he says he is going anyway and he want to go to club A or he'll go in the draft? i suspect it wouldn't get to that but if you hold out for something clubs don't have you will end up worse off rather than better off. The dogs have good piocks to trade but do they want a midfielder? Who else has cap space and draft picks?