When will the Carlton FC Arrive?

Part 2 of this thread is here:

I'd be astonished if he backflipped now. He had the job on a platter before and it would have already been for a significant sum and he turned it down. How much more would they be offering that it's now suddenly appealing? Plus I don't think it's a money decision for Clarko. He can have his paid vacation then choose to do whatever he wants in football after.
You're probably right. Its been reported 900k from Hawthorn payout so would have to be well above that from Carlton. Speculative guess $2m per season.

Very reliable source has informed me that Clarkson has been made an offer he will find very difficult to refuse .
Tells me he WILL be the next Carlton coach.
Sad for us long suffering Suns supporters.

theres always Ross Lyon 😊

The problem is the review was done to purely remove Teague, with Carlton aiming to get the best experienced coach. That mantra means that Carlton see themselves as finals lock next season. When you come out and say this headhunt clarko and Ross, then decide to change the goalposts and do a proper selection process, it's like Carlton don't know what they want. They will most likely end up with an inexperienced coach again, or a coach who hasn't made a grand final, how's that getting the best most experienced coach?

Unless they get Simpson home, clarko changes his mind, which is very doubtful with the circus happening. Their flip flop process, dealing of Teague has completely turned off any decent experienced coach.

They would have been better to actually help and support Teague by trying to bring out the findings of the review. The worst case is they find out that teagues no good after providing him support, then start a process to get clarko, or Teague makes finals next year and they find out he can coach.

The review wasn't purely to remove Teague. We examined the entire coaching panel, and a couple more coaches were also let go on that basis. It sounds like Liddle and Lloyd have also been put on notice, and if there aren't improvements in the footy department one or both with end up being dismissed. My money is on them accepting roles elsewhere though.

You can still talk to prospective coaches without formally offering them a position. It sounds like we were keen to give Ross a fair hearing, but he flinched when he was asked to be involved in the same process that any candidate needs to go through. I'm not sure if Clarko is in the same boat, but I'm sure at a minimum he'd need to sell his vision for the team. There's always meant to be some healthy discussions between parties before a selection is made. What we certainly didn't do was change the goalposts - that would have been offering RTB the job without any further oversight and review from the board.

I doubt we end up with Clarko either, but when a coach of his calibre is available you at least want him involved in the process. Have some informal chats and gauge his interest. It sounds like he genuinely wants to take a year off, and then can decide if he wants to step into a cushy job at The Suns. Maybe he's actually done with coaching and effectively wants the kind of role Fagan had at Hawthorn?

Fundamentally I just don't rate Teague as a coach, and I'd be more than happy to see an untried assistant who has been through a generous selection process attempt to steer the ship, if it came to that. There are no shortage of candidates available if we want to go down that path: Graham, Schofield et al. Teague was given a golden opportunity and fell way short, even removing the idea of making finals. His coaching, setup, demeanour wasn't up to scratch and we'd want someone more suitable.

Blues renew coaching chase for Clarkson after Lyon walks away

By Caroline Wilson and Sam McClure

Updated September 2, 2021 — 7.08pm

Carlton is set to launch a last-ditch effort to re-engage Alastair Clarkson, after Ross Lyon pulled out of the process to be the Blues’ next coach.

The former Fremantle and St Kilda coach contacted Blues president Luke Sayers early on Thursday to officially withdraw after the club appeared to significantly change the selection process.

High-level sources at Carlton have told The Age the club hasn’t given up on luring Clarkson.

Whether or not Clarkson’s management respond to another overture from the Blues is unclear but he has remained adamant he plans to spend 2022 away from AFL coaching and pursuing opportunities in the U.S.

Christ, this is getting embarrassing now. Sorry Carlton:

1630581777357.png

It's refreshing to see them set in motion a process and stick to it.

Can argue about some of the optics of what they've done, but the actual effort taken to taken to appoint a competent and suitable head coach is what has been lacking for some time. That fact Ross didn't want to be included as part of it is a red flag in and of itself

Of course the club would be keen and asked him to apply. His record speaks for itself and he would certainly helped out the non-contributors, but he should never have been guaranteed the job without being included as part of a selection process. It sounds like he didn't want to answer specific questions about his past, particularly the circumstances that led to his dismissal from Fremantle, and it had been flagged from a long way back the board was divided on bringing him in any way.

Think both parties might have avoided another Malthouse-type situation.

There was process and selection panel for Bolton and Teague surely? Wasn't Paul Roos involved in one of them? Malthouse was washed up and the game was passing him by. Lyon has had a freshen up and looks set for one more crack and obviously thought he get something out of this list. He probably should of swallowed his pride and played along with the process if he truly wants and believes he can be a premiership coach. But it's pretty unprofessional the way it has played out in the media.

Very reliable source has informed me that Clarkson has been made an offer he will find very difficult to refuse .
Tells me he WILL be the next Carlton coach.
Sad for us long suffering Suns supporters.
Wait…..what would this mean for the exhaustive process the Blues fans are looking forward to

There was process and selection panel for Bolton and Teague surely? Wasn't Paul Roos involved in one of them? Malthouse was washed up and the game was passing him by. Lyon has had a freshen up and looks set for one more crack and obviously thought he get something out of this list. He probably should of swallowed his pride and played along with the process if he truly wants and believes he can be a premiership coach. But it's pretty unprofessional the way it has played out in the media.

There was a group elected to oversee Bolton's appointment, which included Judd and a couple of others. Wasn't an exhaustive process like our current review, but it was what I'd expect the bare minimum should be. But by and large Bolton picked himself, as all Clarko's assistants found their way to other clubs and many had success pretty quickly, plus he'd had some senior coach experience filling in for Clarko when he was unwell.

I think there is a bit going on behind the scenes with Ross and the club. He's clearly been angling for the position all year, talking up the list beyond their capabilities and performance, and he slipped up a couple of weeks ago which apparently wasn't well received by the club. There's a few rumblings about him getting some noses out of joint for last weeks gaffe, but the board was divided on him even prior to that. It sounds like it was actually going to be a lot harder overturning some opinions on him, and he was going to have to going into the process knowing there were a number of members of the board who were agitating and didn't want a bar of him as senior coach, and maybe he just saw it as a foregone conclusion that he wouldn't get the job? Especially if Clarkson is still in play and we've indicated there are several more possible candidates we'd be vetting.

Can't do much about the media attention. The club hasn't said much at all throughout the duration of the review, though naturally when senior coaches are under pressure and looking down the barrel of being sacked there is increased media scrutiny. The worst so far has been Sayers admitting he'd spoken to Lyon, but that's been levelled today by Ross confirming he wouldn't be pursuing the position due to the requirements of applying. Clearly there has been a hell of a lot of attention give to the process, and there hasn't been any deviation when it has come to dismissing Teague or hiring a suitable replacement. In both instances we've been rigid with how we've conducted things and allowed due process to direct our decisions.

There was a group elected to oversee Bolton's appointment, which included Judd and a couple of others. Wasn't an exhaustive process like our current review, but it was what I'd expect the bare minimum should be. But by and large Bolton picked himself, as all Clarko's assistants found their way to other clubs and many had success pretty quickly, plus he'd had some senior coach experience filling in for Clarko when he was unwell.

I think there is a bit going on behind the scenes with Ross and the club. He's clearly been angling for the position all year, talking up the list beyond their capabilities and performance, and he slipped up a couple of weeks ago which apparently wasn't well received by the club. There's a few rumblings about him getting some noses out of joint for last weeks gaffe, but the board was divided on him even prior to that. It sounds like it was actually going to be a lot harder overturning some opinions on him, and he was going to have to going into the process knowing there were a number of members of the board who were agitating and didn't want a bar of him as senior coach, and maybe he just saw it as a foregone conclusion that he wouldn't get the job? Especially if Clarkson is still in play and we've indicated there are several more possible candidates we'd be vetting.

Can't do much about the media attention. The club hasn't said much at all throughout the duration of the review, though naturally when senior coaches are under pressure and looking down the barrel of being sacked there is increased media scrutiny. The worst so far has been Sayers admitting he'd spoken to Lyon, but that's been levelled today by Ross confirming he wouldn't be pursuing the position due to the requirements of the process. Clearly there has been a hell of a lot of attention give to the process, and there hasn't been any deviation when it has come to dismissing Teague or hiring a suitable replacement. In both instances we've been rigid with how we've conducted things and allowed due process to direct our decisions.
At this point mate, if you're not employed in the Blues media team, they need to hit you up. You should be getting paid for running their online PR machine

This is like a poker game now.

last and only move now is go all in on Clarko offer of like $2m per year for 5 years godfather type offer

Wouldnt that impact their ability to fund the rest of their FD under the soft cap rules? Or are "Carlton powerbrokers" going to foot the bill for any penalties they have to pay?

Of course you don’t put Ross Lyon through an exhaustive interview process - he has taken two teams with a long history of failure to Grand Finals and within a bees whisker of a flag. There are hundreds of players he coached and hundreds of staff he would have worked with you could speak to. If he’s not your man that’s fine, but as if he’s going to stake his credentials up against a newbie in a drawn out interview process being interviewed by people Carlton are potentially looking to turf out such as Lloyd and Liddell.

exactly.

if carlton legitimately wanted Lyon to go through the process they have rocks in their head. For Lyon the process is called "due diligence". Lyon is a known quantity. That's the point of hiring an experienced coach. You know what you are going to get.

The moment they said he had to go through their process it proved one of two things - they didn't want him after all (then why did they sack teague...?) or they don't know WTF they are doing.

Carlton and Bruce Matheson will do for Clarkson what Pratt did for Judd:

"Australian leisure and hospitality ambassador"

"Alistair is working hard promoting the interests of the Carlton social club and that Brown paper bag you just saw on the floor was merely his packed lunch........"

Was Ross really scared of the process?

Carlton have clearly been keen on him for a while and done their background checks. I think they could've run some form of process whilst still keeping Ross on track that it was his job to lose.

I reckon it's Clarko and Chris Scott being in the running that's the real reason he's been spooked.

Multiple pretty savvy commentators have said that it was the panel that was appointed that did it.

The board member/s on the panel had already expressed reservation.

Lloyd is on the panel, apparently he and Lyon aren’t on good terms professionally and wouldn’t work together.

Once those two were announced I think Lyon pretty quickly (and probably correctly) assumed he wouldn’t be getting the job.

He’d been wooed by Sayers but the board simply didn’t back the chairman.

The review wasn't purely to remove Teague. We examined the entire coaching panel, and a couple more coaches were also let go on that basis. It sounds like Liddle and Lloyd have also been put on notice, and if there aren't improvements in the footy department one or both with end up being dismissed. My money is on them accepting roles elsewhere though.

You can still talk to prospective coaches without formally offering them a position. It sounds like we were keen to give Ross a fair hearing, but he flinched when he was asked to be involved in the same process that any candidate needs to go through. I'm not sure if Clarko is in the same boat, but I'm sure at a minimum he'd need to sell his vision for the team. There's always meant to be some healthy discussions between parties before a selection is made. What we certainly didn't do was change the goalposts - that would have been offering RTB the job without any further oversight and review from the board.

I doubt we end up with Clarko either, but when a coach of his calibre is available you at least want him involved in the process. Have some informal chats and gauge his interest. It sounds like he genuinely wants to take a year off, and then can decide if he wants to step into a cushy job at The Suns. Maybe he's actually done with coaching and effectively wants the kind of role Fagan had at Hawthorn?

Fundamentally I just don't rate Teague as a coach, and I'd be more than happy to see an untried assistant who has been through a generous selection process attempt to steer the ship, if it came to that. There are no shortage of candidates available if we want to go down that path: Graham, Schofield et al. Teague was given a golden opportunity and fell way short, even removing the idea of making finals. His coaching, setup, demeanour wasn't up to scratch and we'd want someone more suitable.

So you’re complimentary of the thorough process that’s in place to hire the new coach. And you predict Liddle and Lloyd might be out the door as part of the over-arching football review.

Liddle and Lloyd are part of the coaching selection panel.

Teague, who was about to be sacked was conducting player exit meetings, and Liddle and Lloyd who may also very well be departing as you suggest are sitting on the coaching selection panel. And Liddle is there despite it being very clear Brian Cook is being head hunted to take his job.

Seriously, at what point can we queue the Benny Hill music …?!?!?