White Tail Spider

• Thread starter Thread starter Schism

My mate back in primary school used to have a pet tarantula, can't remember how he got it. He kept it in a jar and used to feed it, I have absolutely no idea why you would want to do such a thing.
That I can understand (having had a spider in a jar as a kid).

But, there are families who have one or more Tarantulas as pets, just roaming around the house.

Treating them like a member of the family...

That's just bizaar...

That I can understand (having had a spider in a jar as a kid).

Fair enough.

But, there are families who have one or more Tarantulas as pets, just roaming around the house.

Treating them like a member of the family...

That's just bizaar...

That's ****ed. Honestly, words can't describe how bizarre that is.

Each to their own, I suppose.

I used to do some crazy stuff with spiders when I was a kid.

I used to get huntsmen in my room all the time when I was about 5, so I decided to put up a 'NO SPIDERS' sign in my room. I swear I got one more huntsman in my room in the 5 year period after I did that.

I also had a wolf spider as a pet, I fed it grasshoppers for a day then got sick of it and threw it into an ant nest. I've had a whitetail drop onto my arm and I shit myself and threw it off, luckily it didn't bite me.

Fair enough.

That's ****ed. Honestly, words can't describe how bizarre that is.

Each to their own, I suppose.
I guess it all depends on whether or not you think spiders (and any bugs, insect, etc.) are intelligent.

Cats/dogs love you if you show them love.

Would a spider really be the same thing?

And how the **** do you show a tarantula affection?

"Oh look what I got for you Tazza, a pigeon!"

If you pat a spider does it know you are patting it?

Me thinks not.

Me thinks if you try and pat a spider it's going to ****ing bite you.

**** I hate Spiders this thread is giving me the shivers.

I admit ot being shit scared of them except daddy long legs for some reason. We mainly get huntsman around here but I hate them. Yesterday We had to get the golf clubs from the shed i go in there covered in spider webs.....We pulled them out with a golf club

I guess it all depends on whether or not you think spiders (and any bugs, insect, etc.) are intelligent.

Me thinks not.

:D @ Tazza and giving it Chris Tarrant's nickname.

They're the ugliest looking things, and just look pure evil.

In Cambodia, they fry them and eat them.

Fried_spiders_Skuon_Cambodia.jpg

mmm... fried Tazzas.

They must run rampant over there to be able to catch that many of them.

Maybe they farm them over there, like how you farm salmon or oysters or chicken.

Just had pretty much the scariest 30 seconds of my life. I was in the back seat of the car and my brother says to me "there's a massive huntsman behind your head' so I turn around and saw the massive piece of shit crawl behind my headrest.
I then curled up into a ball and kind of put my arms over my head to stop it from eating my brains or whatever those evil things do for fun.
Good thing we were only like 30 seconds from home 'cause as soon as we got to the top of the driveway I bailed out of the car.
Bad thing is that it's still in there and will probably kill me next time I get in the car.

Just had pretty much the scariest 30 seconds of my life. I was in the back seat of the car and my brother says to me "there's a massive huntsman behind your head' so I turn around and saw the massive piece of shit crawl behind my headrest.
I then curled up into a ball and kind of put my arms over my head to stop it from eating my brains or whatever those evil things do for fun.
Good thing we were only like 30 seconds from home 'cause as soon as we got to the top of the driveway I bailed out of the car.
Bad thing is that it's still in there and will probably kill me next time I get in the car.
I hope you closed the vents in your car.

I read about this guy, who left a spider in his car, thinking nothing would happen.

A few weeks later, he turned on the aircon in his car, and hundreds of spiders came crawling out of the vents.

Turns out, the spider laid eggs in the vents, and when he turned the air con on, it disturbed them, causing them to flood out.

True story... :p

I read about this guy, who left a spider in his car, thinking nothing would happen.

A few weeks later, he turned on the aircon in his car, and hundreds of spiders came crawling out of the vents.

Turns out, the spider laid eggs in the vents, and when he turned the air con on, it disturbed them, causing them to flood out.

Hmm, that doesn't sound too fun. I didn't close the vents in the car, no way I was sticking around in there, I''ll just have to hope that the spider shows some mercy and leaves before the next time I'm in the car.

A mate of mine used to be obsessed with spiders in primary school and would collect every different type he could in jars. He had about 20 different jars with spiders in them in his room. One time he took one of his new spiders to school for show and tell - had it in one of those old bug catchers with the air holes at the top. The thing was all curled up, and halfway through the day, it opened up and hundreds of baby spiders exploded out the air holes of his bug catcher. Needless to say, he was banned from bringing spiders to school again.

This is a bit ****ed up, but for a bit of a change of topic, the guy used to make his spiders fight... He'd put big black house spiders in boxes with a couple of ants to see which would win. I saw him do it about 10 times, and if there were more than 2 ants, no matter what type they were, the ants would always win. It's pretty cruel, but considering we squash them anyway I don't think it was all that bad. Would be a good pub bet if you ever wanted to make a few $.

Hmm, that doesn't sound too fun. I didn't close the vents in the car, no way I was sticking around in there, I''ll just have to hope that the spider shows some mercy and leaves before the next time I'm in the car.
I'm just ****ing with you.

I doubt that could/would happen.

That sounds like a very bad Urban Legend though.

Got bitten by a redback when i was about 14, on a waterskiing trip in adelaide, it was in my wetsuit, we were f**king miles from anywhere so a family friend radioed someone and they asked for my height and weight and the rough size of the spider, he actually said "well you wont die" but he said i would be really sick and if i couldn't get antivenom to drink saltwater!!! Puked my guts (and a fair amount of blood) up every minute for about 16 hours, slept with my face on porcelain, got to a hospital 2 days later and they put me on a drip for a day cause of the dehydration. That sucked bad!! but white tail is worse, my girlfriend copped a white tail when she was 6, nearly lot her leg.

Happy to have frogs in the kitchen but the hairy, bitey, conniving little ***** can get ****ed.

There are some nasty Kermits out there!!:D

We seem to have a Redback plague in our back yard lately. Yesterday I cleaned our outside table top and bottom, underneath I found two Redback nests. I destroyed them both, I think both Redback and Whitetail spiders are too dangerous to allow to roam in or near my home.

**** I hate Spiders this thread is giving me the shivers.

I admit ot being shit scared of them except daddy long legs for some reason. We mainly get huntsman around here but I hate them. Yesterday We had to get the golf clubs from the shed i go in there covered in spider webs.....We pulled them out with a golf club

Agreed, no problem with daddy long legs at all. Had heaps of them on the farm and didn't mind them crawling on my hand...but any of those other bastards can just stay out in forrests or anywhere away from me.

Interesting fact, don't park your car under or near trees...that's where they come from.

Trap-door-004.jpg

Don't mess with the trapdoor spider!

Nasty funnel web.....be careful in Sydney
Funnel_web_spider10001.jpg

Watch out in the outdoor dunny for Redbacks!
RedbackToiletpicture.jpg

But seriously, the chances of getting bitten by these guys are minimal....don't park under trees, maintain your house and if you see a spider in the wild don't annoy it. Pretty simple. If you follow that and get bitten.....well you probably would have been hit by a bus crossing the road anyway....just not your day!

We seem to have a Redback plague in our back yard lately. Yesterday I cleaned our outside table top and bottom, underneath I found two Redback nests. I destroyed them both, I think both Redback and Whitetail spiders are too dangerous to allow to roam in or near my home.

Yeah, I don't mind pretty much any other spider being in or around the house. But if you see a white tail or red back. Unload a can of mortein on it. :thumbsu:

Those golden orb spiders are magnificent things....awesome webs, nice spider but I wouldn't be going disturbing it! Interesting to see them eating birds in the paper (cockatoo and a warbler I think they were).

Trap-door-004.jpg

Don't mess with the trapdoor spider!

Nasty funnel web.....be careful in Sydney
Funnel_web_spider10001.jpg

Watch out in the outdoor dunny for Redbacks!
RedbackToiletpicture.jpg

But seriously, the chances of getting bitten by these guys are minimal....don't park under trees, maintain your house and if you see a spider in the wild don't annoy it. Pretty simple. If you follow that and get bitten.....well you probably would have been hit by a bus crossing the road anyway....just not your day!

That redback picture isnt real is it? please tell me it isnt!

Me thinks not.

Personally I would think that if a spider was around you long enough it would work out whether or not you were a threat to it?

That middle one isn't really a funnel web is it? Cause that looks exactly like the spider that was in my mouth when I was sleeping...