Opinion Who wins the Premiership? (Updated poll - Updated for Prelims))

Who wins the 2020 Flag - Prelim finals onward

• Port Adelaide

Votes: 36 10.3%
  • Brisbane Lions

Votes: 57 16.3%
  • Richmond Tigers

Votes: 154 44.1%
  • Geelong Cats

Votes: 102 29.2%

I think if Tigers can win the prelim they will beat who ever is served up on the other side... I would definitely have the tigers higher... but I can't knock your mathematics.
That’s the main reason why I have them third. I think that unfortunately Richmond are the longest odds out of the 4 remaining teams when it comes to making the Grand Final. Geelong and Brisbane both will not travel heading into the PF, but Richmond will in front of a hostile crowd. If they make it then they’ll have a decent chance of beating Brisbane and Geelong, but that is only if they make it.

I’m only speaking from an impartial and logical point of view with my rankings, but I personally feel like we can beat Port Adelaide. Richmond will probably name a much better side than last time (especially the midfield given that we had 4/5 of our starting midfielders out in Cotchin, Prestia, Edwards and Graham) and are extremely difficult to beat when they have their backs to the wall.

In this weird season, I really don’t know who’ll actually end up winning. Could be any of the 4 remaining teams and it wouldn’t surprise me. Even Port can win if they figure out what to do with Brisbane and Geelong’s midfield and tall forwards.

That’s the main reason why I have them third. I think that unfortunately Richmond are the longest odds out of the 4 remaining teams when it comes to making the Grand Final. Geelong and Brisbane both will not travel heading into the PF, but Richmond will in front of a hostile crowd. If they make it then they’ll have a decent chance of beating Brisbane and Geelong, but that is only if they make it.

I’m only speaking from an impartial and logical point of view with my rankings, but I personally feel like we can beat Port Adelaide. Richmond will probably name a much better side than last time (especially the midfield given that we had 4/5 of our starting midfielders out in Cotchin, Prestia, Edwards and Graham) and are extremely difficult to beat when they have their backs to the wall.

In this weird season, I really don’t know who’ll actually end up winning. Could be any of the 4 remaining teams and it wouldn’t surprise me. Even Port can win if they figure out what to do with Brisbane and Geelong’s midfield and tall forwards.
Yes absolutely! Very even, I don't follow the betting very closely but I dont know if it's been this close for a while (all between $3.40 and $4.50) on Prelim week.
It is a bit hard to get a read on the Cats and Port I reckon, Port were Ok against the Cats but not something the Tigers would be too scared about and the Lions would be quietly confident on the Cats.. I can not get a read on last night at all I think it will be best viewed after next week exactly how poor/good Collingwood were.

Yes absolutely! Very even, I don't follow the betting very closely but I dont know if it's been this close for a while (all between $3.40 and $4.50) on Prelim week.
It is a bit hard to get a read on the Cats and Port I reckon, Port were Ok against the Cats but not something the Tigers would be too scared about and the Lions would be quietly confident on the Cats.. I can not get a read on last night at all I think it will be best viewed after next week exactly how poor/good Collingwood were.
Yeah exactly. Geelong are pretty good at the Gabba this season (4-0 with margins of 33, 59, 60 and 68 against North Melbourne, St Kilda, Essendon and Collingwood), so I think it will be a good game between Brisbane and Geelong similar to how Brisbane vs Richmond was a good game. Will be exciting to see who makes it through to the Grand Final!

I think the betting odds are correct.

Brisbane should win it from here, the home ground advantage and no travel will be too strong for the opposition.

Richmond has the best chance to beat Brisbane at the Gabba.

Geelong/Port have been too inconsistent against the top 4 teams this year.

If you look back to the H&A games, Port beat a weakened, 4 day turnaround and travelled Richmond at home and couldn't back it up the following week, they were absolutely spent against Geelong and got smashed. If they make it through to the GF after beating Richmond I would expect another blowout GF loss.

Geelong relies on Danger, Hawkins and Ablett too much, if they aren't on, the team loses. But if they can turn up the next two games, they can win it. So it's an unknown with them.

Versus Tigers complaining all year about a) hubs b) rooms c) schedule d) beautician access e) sharing physio's f) rules of COVID19 g) travel h) breaks between games i) injuries j) injuries k) injuries l) media overreacting to onfield behaviour ....my fingers sore. Port least complaining team all year.

Brisbane pushed passed you. I look forward to contest Friday night. Still my pick is Brisbane. Damien Hardwick must be like The Wolf on Pulp Fiction to the tiger supporters and the media "lets not start sucking each others d### quite yet"

Stop talking s**t. Show me where the tiges have complained about hub life all we have read is they Luv it and it shows finishing 3rd.
Are you trying to say the media haven't gone over board lmao, guess your new to social media.
Wow have a listen to you talking gibberish at its absolute finest. Yep, i too look forward to playing Port, bring it on.

Agree, I’d be confident going in against cats or lions at the Gabba but port in Adelaide will be a tougher proposition. So if Richmond beat port I think we’ll win the flag. If port win than the winner of cats and lions will win it. So any of the 4 teams can win it.
Except port.

agree

Agree, I’d be confident going in against cats or lions at the Gabba but port in Adelaide will be a tougher proposition. So if Richmond beat port I think we’ll win the flag. If port win than the winner of cats and lions will win it. So any of the 4 teams can win it.
Except port.
They still can win it.
They have 3-1 record there this year.

Can honestly make a case for all 4.
Lions v Richmond = Richmond
Port v lions - lions
Port v Geelong - port
Richmond v Geelong - Geelong

Based on my prelim tips my guess is port v lions. While port have been my pick all year I think lions at the Gabba gets them in.
Anyone know what the go is with SA border to Qld and any quarentine? By rights if port make it they should get half the seats.
I figure Richmond make it they have enough interstate fans to either fill or go halves.
Port v Geelong is interesting. Especially if SA is shut. Would enough neutrals in Qld be willing to fork out to go. Some neutral games had pretty dismal crowds. Probably all the expats go. Port v Geelong would be the AFLs last choice. Probably Brisbane first with Richmond

Stop talking sh*t. Show me where the tiges have complained about hub life all we have read is they Luv it and it shows finishing 3rd.
Are you trying to say the media haven't gone over board lmao, guess your new to social media.
Wow have a listen to you talking gibberish at its absolute finest. Yep, i too look forward to playing Port, bring it on.
He's referring to a story by none other than that doyen of sports reporting Tom Morris on Richmond's unusual hub requests.

But FACT IS, the Tiges are staying in student/athlete dorm accommodation near Metricon.
It was only temporary, but the club bosses decided to make it permanent instead of a luxury apartment complex (Royal Pines was where the AFL was going to relocate them to)
No wonder odd requests were made.

Boy is it a tight market $3.40 to $4.25 - thats the spread for the 4 teams for the flag

Port are the ones id have the slows on - i think they are up against it

If they some how beat Rich - i think both Bris and Geel will beat them in the GF

If Rich win the PF - then i think they would be slight favourites over the Lions in the GF - but the Lions would be some chance - because they did beat them - thats good proven form

If its Rich v Geel - i think Rich would win 8 maybe 9 times out of 10 - however if it was at Metricon the Cats would have no hope - the Gabba gives them a small chance

Boy is it a tight market $3.40 to $4.25 - thats the spread for the 4 teams for the flag

Port are the ones id have the slows on - i think they are up against it

If they some how beat Rich - i think both Bris and Geel will beat them in the GF

If Rich win the PF - then i think they would be slight favourites over the Lions in the GF - but the Lions would be some chance - because they did beat them - thats good proven form

If its Rich v Geel - i think Rich would win 8 maybe 9 times out of 10 - however if it was at Metricon the Cats would have no hope - the Gabba gives them a small chance
All 4 remaining teams pretty much an equal chance of winning it. Couldn't ask for much more than that.

This is the option I forecast.
Think the Cats will Pump the Bears and Tigers over Port.
Can see Tigs and Port playing out a very volatile affair and should be a cracker. Buttons will be getting pressed all over the place.
Geelong have shown they can go toe to toe with you and Gabba helps them with their set up imo.
Reckon both prelims go to the wire. Really guess work.

Geelong have shown they can go toe to toe with you and Gabba helps them with their set up imo.
Reckon both prelims go to the wire. Really guess work.
True but I’m not about to pick the Cats now am I. Geelong are more of a worry than the Bears looking forward.
Ever pressing though is Port so don’t want to get ahead of myself. Really looking forward to Friday.

Not an excuse at all. You watch the narrative this week. I said no excuses, both teams at full strength, my only hope is that the umps don't ruin it.

Sorry mate,

but this sort of rubbish can't stand.

The game in Rnd 11, Port Adelaide won the free kick count v Richmond 22 -11

Richmond has the worst free kick differential in the league over the last few years.

When you lose on Friday, it wont be because of the umpires, if anything, they will probably keep you in it.

These are just facts

After reading the last 10-20 pages, I’m now convinced Port Adelaide can’t win the flag.

Hoping to be surprised, but at least my expectations have been moderated now.
After reading big footy in the last four years I'm surprised Richmond has actually won two flags.

Sorry mate,

but this sort of rubbish can't stand.

The game in Rnd 11, Port Adelaide won the free kick count v Richmond 22 -11

Richmond has the worst free kick differential in the league over the last few years.

When you lose on Friday, it wont be because of the umpires, if anything, they will probably keep you in it.

These are just facts

They are already crying about AFL conspiracies and umpiring and the game hasn't been played. I feel sorry for Tigers supporters and neutrals at the game on Friday night...It is going to be nauseating listening to them carrying on.

Prelim 1 Port will beat Richmond
Prelim 2 Brisbane will beat Geelong

I imagine the Port v Richmond game is going to be a tough, physical encounter. Port will win, but Richmond are going to make them earn it. Port then have to travel to QLD to take on the Lions at home. I see this as the big difference if they have to play Brisbane in the Grand Final.

Port will have had 2 recent bye weeks and we are playing short quarters. Surely they wouldn't be tired heading into a grand final against you.

They could be if you belted the living suitcase out of them and they just fell over the line for a victory.

If you're great enough to beat Collingwood, than i'm happy to say Geelong will be worthy winners!

You really need to play out of your skin to beat a magpies outfit that are traditionally finals specialists(excluding Grand Finals).

I hope they do it for the son of "god" and send him out on top.