Why no green in AFL guernsey's?

I reckon this would make an awesome tassie devils jumper. The white represents the chest and and hind stripes on the Devil, the black it’s other colour. The green as it’s the colour associated with the whole state. Plus this looks like a traditional footy jumper, unlike GC or GWS.

Attachments

• C69DB390-0641-4FD3-B50C-561A94102A6E.jpeg
    C69DB390-0641-4FD3-B50C-561A94102A6E.jpeg
    198.2 KB · Views: 101

Because it's the same colour as the playing surface brainiacs.
I think we've established that numerous Aussie Rules teams from other leagues wear green, not to much a heap of other professional teams that play their sport on grass.

Ki0g5x4.png

aOMemFE.png

qWEOuXV.png

ifKZet1.png

I think Giants were going to be “Canberra Raider Lime Green” until the 11th hour. (Thank god sanity prevailed)

Obviously Orange set a trend, look at Carlton and Geelong using Orange in their training gear for example.
I think that was to do with the ricky nixon Celtic idea rather than the green machine though maybe?

To my knowledge the Tallygaroopna Roadrunners ditched a green guernsey with red yolk in favour of more readily available blue and red option.

I reckon this would make an awesome tassie devils jumper. The white represents the chest and and hind stripes on the Devil, the black it’s other colour. The green as it’s the colour associated with the whole state. Plus this looks like a traditional footy jumper, unlike GC or GWS.
If there ever is a Tassie team it will probably be the bottle green, rose and primrose. But it better not be The Map. That is for state v state only, not club stuff.

Doesn't say much about the Aussie national colours?

Exactly. It's hard to think of a good looking Australian sports uniform. It's why most of them use gold rather than green for the primary colour. There were no 'official' National colours until after the Comm Games in 1982. There were several combinations used (although green and gold was by far the most common), but the Australian team in Brisbane that year walked out in Blue and White, and the press got in an uproar about 'National colours are Green and Gold!" and so we got an 'Official' proclamation a couple of years later.

Here's what it looked like in 1982:

I think Giants were going to be “Canberra Raider Lime Green” until the 11th hour. (Thank god sanity prevailed)

Obviously Orange set a trend, look at Carlton and Geelong using Orange in their training gear for example.

Carlton's orange experiment is a throwback to our early years when we had chamois patches on our guernseys that used to turn orange in the wet.

It has now been adopted for various causes IIRC.

Why no green in AFL guernsey's?