It is our 7th Grand Final in 21 years clearly the most in that time. We just have to win.
Lucky number 7 (hopefully) in my lifetime. Not that I can even remember 95 much let alone 89! A 1-6 record would be crushing.

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 5
SuperCoach Rd 5 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 5 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
It is our 7th Grand Final in 21 years clearly the most in that time. We just have to win.
we have a Anti-Saints streak running a mile-wide for some reason, ohh and we all hate Milnes guts.thats a bit of a downer of a read....

thats a bit of a downer of a read....
bolded - i think that chappy and bartel will be key for us. if it's the type of game where we're bombing it long we should throw both those guys in the forward line. they're both great marks overhead
to the OP - i reckon we will get up. i can't fathom the thought we wouldn't.
Some of you guys clearly have forgotten how we lost to the Saints earlier this year, when they were playing their best footy and our side (on the field) played at 65%.

Mate it is you who forgets.
Our midfield starred (after they crapped themselves in the first 20 minutes)
Corey, Selwood and even Ablett panicked early.
But after that they ran amok.
The improvement will have to come from a good start and Ottens and SJ having an influence.
But please don't try and tell me that we played at 65%![]()
I thought we were good in patches and also poor in patches in round 14. We will need to play three or hopefully four very good quarters on Saturday to win.
Reasons why we can reverse the result of round 14:
a) Mumford started in the ruck and Blake didn't come onto the field until we were 4 or 5 goals down... as soon as he came on we started winning the clearances. This isn't a Mumford v Blake debate, merely a fact.
b) Ablett was only played in the midfield in bursts in the first half from what I recall... obviously in a GF we will play our best midfielder where he should be played
c) Hawkins was terrible that day and has improved tenfold since. We don't even necessarily need him to kick goals on Saturday to win - just to contest, tackle, chase and do the 1%ers like he did v Pies to create opportunities for others
d) Sam Gilbert cut us up and nullified Stokes. This time around I imagine he would sacrifice a lot of his run because he is minding SJ
e) Gardiner was the match winner and kicked four goals. There is categorically no way he will do this if Ottens is on the field... unless Otto kicks five at the other end
Of course all this doesn't mean we will win. It just means that we tried some different things last time and not all of them worked. This time around we have players that have improved since (Hawkins, Varcoe, Blake), key players back in the side (Ottens, SJ) and our superstars still at their peak (GAJ, Scarlett, Chapman etc).
Another point: I think Jimmy's been one of our best in both finals. Admittedly I thought he just had a 'good' season by his lofty standards (partly due to him having to play so many different roles). It seems he's been priming himself for September![]()
For those who say we absolutely CANT win by 5 goals well... I know it probably wont be a 5 goal win to us but consider this:
If we did not allow the Saints 5 goals up on us in the R14 match, I dare say the result would have differed as we got ourselves back within a point, did we not?
IF we can do our thing and jump the Saints in the first quarter, we need to continue doing what we do for the following 3 quarters and it COULD very well end up netting us a 5 goal win.
I'm not saying this is what I think will happen, but I'm just pointing out that its not at all impossible.
If the weather forcasters are correct, it's going to be a tough, hard slog - one of the wettest GF's in years. I'm expecting a very close, goal for goal game right up until the start of the last quarter, when our midfield strength just ramp it up. Ottens will take the pack marks, Byrnes will crumb a few, Chappy will huff and puff. As the Saints hearts sink, we'll break away for a 5-6 goal win, Hawk's thump from 55 on the boundary, the sealer. Ablett for Norm Smith, picking up a third medal for the week.

Mate it is you who forgets.
Our midfield starred (after they crapped themselves in the first 20 minutes)
Corey, Selwood and even Ablett panicked early.
But after that they ran amok.
The improvement will have to come from a good start and Ottens and SJ having an influence.
But please don't try and tell me that we played at 65%![]()
You guys are basically a slightly better, more advanced version of the Dogs (we have pretty much modelled our game plan on yours in the last couple of years), and you have more weapons at your disposal on most lines than we do. If you can control the influence of Goddard (I'm sure Geelong's MC will be having a close look at the video tape from Friday night), and deny clean ball to St Kilda's mids (especially Hayes), you will deny clean delivery to Riewoldt in dangerous places - once you do that you are just about home and hosed. Because of the way you guys play, you will be generating more than enough of your own clean delivery into your forward 50 if you break even or win the clearance battle, which will place St Kilda's defenders out of their comfort zone. And if you do that, you would have to implode in front of goal not to kick 12-13 goals minimum, and that will be plenty good enough next week if you starve St Kilda's forward line like we were able to do for most of Friday night.
Good luck guys. Really hope you can get the chocolates next week (even if some of your supporters will be nigh on unbearable on BF - still, after 18+ wins a season for 3 years and 2 flags, and I'd probably be just as bad). I love this game, and it will turn to shit if St Kilda's game plan is adopted by all and sundry next season.
Kosi won't bob up for anything. He has been dreadful in both finals so far. Lake rendered him completely useless on Friday night and Scarlett is every bit as damaging and brilliant a key defender as Lake. Roo needs to absolutely torch Taylor and kick a big bag for the Saints to have any chance - he won't be doing that unless Gardiner and King have the game of their lives and constantly feed it to Dal and Hayes, and the Saints midfield smashes it in the clearances. I just cannot imagine your talented and deep midfield being smashed in any game.Riewoldt and Koschitzke will bob up for a few as always, but Milne and Schneider will be crucified and starved of opportunity.
Scarlett will run off Kossie at EVERY opportunity and will, IMO be the matchwinner.