• North

Votes: 66 12.2%
  • Saints

Votes: 70 12.9%
  • Essendon

Votes: 31 5.7%

Happy for you to bookmark that post for posterity mate.

I just think coaches who have made such statements in the past have often being burnt badly.

Time will tell I suppose, think Mitchell probably jumped the gun saying that for at least a couple of years (although I do admire his brash confidence:) )
Ha. What would he know about what a premiership list looks like, it’s not like he’s had a hand in 5 of them. 😂

Who has the worst list in the AFL?

I think long term Eagles are in the deep deep poo. Aging stars who are appearing more and more uncommitted and unfit (Ryan, McGovern, Yeo) taking up huge space on our salary cap with million dollar contracts. No one decent coming through under 22. Allen is 23 and a prospect but look at his stats - he's not proven anything meaningful yet. The only logical reason i can see them keeping Natanui is to pump out West Australian exclusives about his new baby and to keep selling merch. I liked what they did with splitting pick 2 to get Ginbey and Hewett as long term midfield prospects and taking Barnett which was probably the best ruck get of the recent draft. In 2023, if the keep relatively injury free with our huge home field advantage we might hover around 12th, slight chance of finals. But the drop off is looking like it will be colossal.

Out of all teams to take the field at present, Hawks like like a WAFL team with a shocking forward and midfield devoid of experience but with Newcombe etc coming through at least there is hope. To challenge for a flag by 23 like that cooker Kennett is suggesting though - thats a stretch.
West Coast Eagles by the length of the WACA (best ground in WA)

I don't understand why anybody would have an issue with that comment.

We've quickly become the youngest team in the competition after hitting the draft hard and securing talent from other clubs still with plenty of footy left in the tank.

If you consider Mitchells comment to be laughable are you suggesting that the young talent on the list isn't capable of developing over the next 5-10 years?

He isn't suggesting the team in its current form are premiership fancies heading into 2023.

But what is wrong with a coach anticipating that his side is primed for future success once Will Day, DGB, Josh Ward, Connor Macdonald, Cam Mackenzie, Josh Weddle, Jai Newcombe, Dylan Moore, Jiath, Ned Reeves, Mitchell Lewis, Jack Scrimshaw, Sam Butler and co have played 50-100 games together? He believes in his young men. That's all.

The comment is purely from a list demographic perspective and one that proves he has confidence in this current group executing a game plan that will win finals as they mature.

I don't understand why anybody would have an issue with that comment.

We've quickly become the youngest team in the competition after hitting the draft hard and securing talent from other clubs still with plenty of footy left in the tank.

If you consider Mitchells comment to be laughable are you suggesting that the young talent on the list isn't capable of developing over the next 5-10 years?

He isn't suggesting the team in its current form are premiership fancies heading into 2023.

But what is wrong with a coach anticipating that his side is primed for future success once Will Day, DGB, Josh Ward, Connor Macdonald, Cam Mackenzie, Josh Weddle, Jai Newcombe, Dylan Moore, Jiath, Ned Reeves, Mitchell Lewis, Jack Scrimshaw, Sam Butler and co have played 50-100 games together? He believes in his young men. That's all.

The comment is purely from a list demographic perspective and one that proves he has confidence in this current group executing a game plan that will win finals as they mature.

I should have put a disclaimer that it was Sam Mitchell who was the nuffie for that comment, not you for quoting it.

It's way too early to speculate or guess on how Hawthorn's future kids and prospects will go, especially as most of the consensus is the Hawks are still in for at least a couple more leans years (least without finals action)

Anyhow I do suspect me and many of the non Hawthorn cynics do underestimate your kids and Mitchell as coach, would be surprised if you played finals before 2026 (at the earliest) is all I'm saying.

Its now pretty much a full on rebuild for Hawthorn, and does that a bit longer to finish (assuming everything goes right) that recent semi rebuilds of a powerhouse like The Swans (for example)

I'm not sure if we are going weakest currently or furthest from a flag?

I think Westcoast and Saints are the furthest away from winning a flag.
You’re neither of those things and I agree with your last sentence. You’re slightly ahead of Hawthorn, I guess? Could see the Roos jumping you next year though.

I'm not sure if we are going weakest currently or furthest from a flag?

I think Westcoast and Saints are the furthest away from winning a flag.

All currently in a state of flux.

If I was an Essendon fan, I would be a lot more concerned about your off field personnel (ie the board) than your current playing list, which does have sums greater than the whole of it's parts.

The EFC board and seemingly being at the mercy of a certain powerful coterie board is absolutely concerning. Saw the same thing happen at my club for Years

Given the choices in the poll (I will take my tri colour glasses off before answering) I find it hard to believe that 3 people could vote for the Crows as the worst list in the league ahead of WC and the Hawks. But we all have access to what squads each team in the poll has.

I'd have WC at 1) atm and the Hawks in the 2) spot then I'd probably have the Saints in 3rd or the Crows not fussed (but you could debate that, and neither are shoo-in's for 3rd in my view). But I think there is a clearly 1 and 2 atm.
The issue I have with the crows is that they have bottomed out and accumulated high draft picks. However there are very few to get genuinely excited about. Sure rechelle and Fogarty are exciting, and thilthorp should be good (however what position?). Then there are some nice players.

I still feel it’s the older players who are keeping the team competitive. I will say that rankine is a great pick up and the forward line is looking good.

Eagles from the Crows.

They’ve wasted or at least struggled to develop a bunch of 1st round picks.

We've barely had any first round draft picks for the last 10 years. Before Chesser last year our last first rounds picks were Jarrod Brander (2017, pick 13), Daniel Venables (2016, pick 13), Liam Duggan (2014, pick 11), Dom Sheed (2013, pick 11).

Brander flopped, Venables career was cut short by that horrific brain injury but Sheed and Duggan have both been solid selections.

We've barely had any first round draft picks for the last 10 years. Before Chesser last year our last first rounds picks were Jarrod Brander (2017, pick 13), Daniel Venables (2016, pick 13), Liam Duggan (2014, pick 11), Dom Sheed (2013, pick 11).

Brander flopped, Venables career was cut short by that horrific brain injury but Sheed and Duggan have both been solid selections.
I was talking about the crows.

I should have put a disclaimer that it was Sam Mitchell who was the nuffie for that comment, not you for quoting it.
I think you’re being the nuffie for thinking you know better than an AFL coach regarding a list that you seem to barely have a grasp of. That’s Bigfooty though, I guess.

The question you should have asked was “which players does Sam see as being part of the next flag?”, but instead you seemingly think that he’s wrong to have even identified players within his list who have the talent to eventually get there.

It would be nice if there was a specific Hawthorn list/rebuild thread to continue this discussion in, rather than in every second thread about “who’s the worst”, “who’s got the best kids” etc. Maybe you can start one, and we can keep ourselves entertained for the summer? Actually I have an idea.

What's he meant to say? 'I have a team full of potatoes'
Exactly. The Hawks fan base are probably the biggest front runners in the comp and they will disappear back into the woodwork if he comes out and says they are stuffed for the next few years

People have been posting this for 10 years.

Another membership record was broken in 2022. The 10th in the last 12 years from memory.

People have been posting this for 10 years.

Another membership record was broken in 2022. The 10th in the last 12 years from memory.
3 or 4 more years of bottom 4 and we will find out I guess.
Your fans are accustomed to success and most have never experienced any long term periods of being in the wilderness

Which won’t happen.

I dunno, as a 32 year old I can definitely say that from my formative fan years, 1995-2007 didn't include heaps of success. One preliminary final during that whole period.

St Kilda is a peculiar case. They currently have the list capable of playing finals as they have a lot of mature aged players. In fact, their best 22 is pretty old. It is similar to Geelong but they really don't have much quality in terms of 23 and under. Max King is an obvious choice but other than that, not much coming through.
If they cannot capitalize in the next 2 years, they will drop right away again.

You're clearly not familiar with some of our younger players.

Worst list in the AFL at present?

Write your reply...