WRFL Division 2

• Thread starter Thread starter coldog

Gobombers55 said:

Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.

You would probably be very surprised what some first division clubs do and don't pay. I know Hoppers Crossing have been know to spend something around $120,000 in past years. But obvisouly as the teams move down the ladder the prices go down. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on how much each first division club pays their players.

Let me have a think about this for a while. I'll get back to you with a considered opinion.

madpie.....out of interest, in your opinion, what would a decent player at Division 1 level be worth a game ?

You would think a decent player in Div 1 would seek a minimum of $200... thats someone who doesnt chase the $$$'s... Someone who might and that has a good CV behind them may seek up and above $350.

GoesBangFrom50 said:
Interested to hear what others think the going rate is for what clubs spend in Div 2.
G8 question, have heard whisper that glenordan pa bout $60k, parks i no 4 a fact that they spent $15k i rekon thats bout the going rate these days for clubs. No couple of players that played seddon last year & they spent $45k last year and even more this year. Unless u can get top quality players who will play 4 min u have 2 spend 2 get where all div2 side want 2 b, a grade.

Would like some genuine comments on all sides and how people think they will go in this years finals, dont b biased b honest about all teams
My honest opinion-orden: team 2 beat but can b beat have feeling will stunble at last hurdle. Parks: can win if they play close 2 best every week, no last time play orden 5 min were missing. West: quality neva underrate, good fwd line. Alb: play 2 their strengths very well, may lack class 2 finish beta sides. Heights: smokey good side question there hardness needed in finals. Vales: not yet, good draw helped. Nth: team of future g8 bunch of kids who will take step in couple. Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion

cmat26 said:
I've heard Heights pay $0.00 to their players. Whilst admirable, it is also the reason they will NEVER play Division 1. And if they somehow got there, with the calibre of players they have, they would be just as competitive as Seddon was this year. I know it sounds harsh, but I am just going on what I know. Don't take this in anyway as a dig at Heights, its just the truth..

Good points... but if you don't have it you can't spend it....

Never Div 1..... maybe... but all they need is the next batch of juniors to be ok and they might move up that few spots on the ladder. They are not that far away at the moment and they are young. Spoke to a bloke on Sat that told me that on Sat they only had 4 players over 25... 2 35 Y.o, 1 aged 26 and 1 27...

lookout4lions said:
Would like some genuine comments on all sides and how people think they will go in this years finals, dont b biased b honest about all teams
My honest opinion-orden: team 2 beat but can b beat have feeling will stunble at last hurdle. Parks: can win if they play close 2 best every week, no last time play orden 5 min were missing. West: quality neva underrate, good fwd line. Alb: play 2 their strengths very well, may lack class 2 finish beta sides. Heights: smokey good side question there hardness needed in finals. Vales: not yet, good draw helped. Nth: team of future g8 bunch of kids who will take step in couple. Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion

% chances of winning
Coburg 0%
Nth Foots 0%
Whydymvale 0%
Heights 5%
West 10%
Deer Park 15%
Albanvale 15%
that leaves Gleorden with 55%

Any comments???

It will be either a Deer Park v West Footscray or Deer Park v Albanvale grand final .... Glenorden are and forever will be chokers , although id like to c them win there finals record certainly is not good.

lookout4lions said:
Dis: dont deserve to b there with only 8 or so wins will struggle.
Give me ur opinion

It's a final 8 is it not? We finished a CLEAR 8th, only missed out on 7th by percentage. Sure enough, maybe we do go out first round, but I do think we deserve to be there, especially after the past two weeks with two great wins. Nobody else won enough games to be 8th so your comment about us not deserving to be there is garbage. If we don't deserve it, change it to a final 6 or 5, then yeah i'll wear it. But it's a final 8 and we deserve to be there just as much as North Footscray do.

You have got to at least spell Wyndhamvale correct before writing us off just yet. The Falcons may not win it in 2006 but with the amount of injuries suffered this year and the great young kids coming through who show alot of potential at senior level, it may just be a few years before the 'Vales' become a major challenger.

lookout4lions said:
G8 question, have heard whisper that glenordan pa bout $60k, parks i no 4 a fact that they spent $15k i rekon thats bout the going rate these days for clubs. No couple of players that played seddon last year & they spent $45k last year and even more this year. Unless u can get top quality players who will play 4 min u have 2 spend 2 get where all div2 side want 2 b, a grade.

From all reports about some players that Seddon payed and splashed a couple hundred around to kids just out of under 18's who haven't proven anything in senior footy let alone first division.

kangaman06 said:
It's a final 8 is it not? We finished a CLEAR 8th, only missed out on 7th by percentage. Sure enough, maybe we do go out first round, but I do think we deserve to be there, especially after the past two weeks with two great wins. Nobody else won enough games to be 8th so your comment about us not deserving to be there is garbage. If we don't deserve it, change it to a final 6 or 5, then yeah i'll wear it. But it's a final 8 and we deserve to be there just as much as North Footscray do.

100% certain that no team can win it from 7th or 8th on the ladder as you are just making up numbers. It is a joke that the competition has a top 8 with only 14 teams in it.
Do the 7th and 8th teams who have with more losses (8-9) than wins think they should be in the finals ???

It must be changed to a final 6 where the teams who have won their fair share of games will make up the 6.

Gobombers55 said:

100% certain that no team can win it from 7th or 8th on the ladder as you are just making up numbers. It is a joke that the competition has a top 8 with only 14 teams in it.
Do the 7th and 8th teams who have with more losses (8-9) than wins think they should be in the finals ???

It must be changed to a final 6 where the teams who have won their fair share of games will make up the 6.

Can't win it from 7th or 8th - I will agree
Don't deserve to be there - not up to me at all - the league sets the finals - they have dictated it's a final 8 - we are there and thats that. So yeah - I think we should be there.

anyone gor a tip for the Smith Medal??

Henderson... Albanvale
Johns..... Orden

Smokey... Nick Caruana ... Heights

kangaman06 said:
Can't win it from 7th or 8th - I will agree
Don't deserve to be there - not up to me at all - the league sets the finals - they have dictated it's a final 8 - we are there and thats that. So yeah - I think we should be there.

Kanga... I noticed that ur big forward McCluskey has only played 5 games and hasn't qualified for finals..... bit of a shame for u guys

GoesBangFrom50 said:
Kanga... I noticed that ur big forward McCluskey has only played 5 games and hasn't qualified for finals..... bit of a shame for u guys

Yeah it is a shame as he also brings some experience to the club and is almost like a second coach on the field. Has been battling an injury for the past three weeks and aggrivated it on Saturday so I don't know how effective he would have been this week - but is a loss. However we do get another tall forward back last week who missed last week so we still do have a bit of tall timber in the forward line.

GoesBangFrom50 said:
anyone gor a tip for the Smith Medal??

Henderson... Albanvale
Johns..... Orden

Smokey... Nick Caruana ... Heights

Baines from West Footscray
Henderson from albanvale

Gobombers55 said:

Cmat you are pretty right about Heights because whilst they are paying $0 their will be no first division ever.

You would probably be very surprised what some first division clubs do and don't pay. I know Hoppers Crossing have been know to spend something around $120,000 in past years. But obvisouly as the teams move down the ladder the prices go down. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on how much each first division club pays their players.

This is only what I think. I may very well be way, way off the mark.

Firstly I'd say every club would have their contracted players on a win/loss per game type deal. The first thing that makes this task hard is the fact that you have to have some rough idea of how many players are on contracts at each club. The second thing is you need to have a rough idea of what an uncontracted player receives.

Having said this, I'll have a crack.

Hoppers Crossing - $75,000 +
Port Colts - $45,000 - $65,000
Sunshine - $45,000 - 65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $70,000
Spotswood - $40,000 (explain below)

I worked this out roughly on what I would pay players on each of the above playing lists, as well as some of the information I have gathered from various contacts I have at other clubs. Also factored in is MY perception on the culture of each club (ie. the quality of people on the committee and the playing group [commradery etc...] etc...)

RE: Spotty.

I am told that a large percentage of match payments at Spotty is covered by the supporter group. Therefore I have only included what I think the club itself pays.

This estimate does not include bonuses etc... and special circumstances. In no way is this estimate fact. I really must stress to you that this is only my opinion.

Cheers

cmat26 said:

I worked this out roughly on what I would pay players on each of the above playing lists, as well as some of the information I have gathered from various contacts I have at other clubs. Also factored in is MY perception on the culture of each club (ie. the quality of people on the committee and the playing group [commradery etc...] etc...)

I take my hat off to you cmat, it must have took you quite some time to compile this information. That is if you have estimated what you would pay each player on each of the above lists. Out of curiosity how much did you estimate #43 for sunshine was receiving a game??

cmat26 said:

Cmat a incrediable effort to come up with all of these figures and to have a stab at the un known. Just to see how opinions differ I will have a go at it now but also to see other people's veiw. Especially Travvy43.

Note these prices do include supporters groups and whatever. This is a total figure in which gets paid out to all the players and coaches.

Hoppers - $95,000 - $105,000
Port Colts - $80,000 - $90,000
Sunshine - $55,000 - $65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $65,000
Spotswood - $60,000 - $70,000
St Albans - $50,000 - $60,000
Albion - $60,000 - $70,000
Altona - $35,000 - $45,000
Yarraville - $35,000 - $45,000

Very tough !!!

From having a look at Sunshine i reckon we would spend around about the $40,000 mark, most probably under. Thats by having a guess at what guys are on, so it would be somewhere around that mark. We will never know. Hoppers would have to be spending the most, along with Spotty and Colts would be a close third. The names running around for Parkside would also demand a bit of cash, guys like Juegan, Zavalas, Davis, Condos, Taleb, Sir, Dorewood, Pinkney, Cook. St Albans probably spent a bit this year as well, guys like Fitzy, Zantuck, Pagan, O Keefe. Albion would have been a big spender too, with James, Brown, Barker, Dell, Richards, Assard, Haldane all worth a bit of coin. Yarraville and Altona would be the least able to spend money at this stage, and it would be a pointless exercise unless they have genuine hopes of playing finals.

Travvy43 said:
I take my hat off to you cmat, it must have took you quite some time to compile this information. That is if you have estimated what you would pay each player on each of the above lists. Out of curiosity how much did you estimate #43 for sunshine was receiving a game??

Thanks for that guys. I had a fair bit of help with it. Went to see alot of footy that didn't involve Altona this year. Infact, saw Sunshine play every week I think.....

In regards to what I would value at;

I'll let you know after finals mate.

cmat26 said:

Hoppers Crossing - $95,000 - $105,000
Port Colts - $80,000 - $90,000
Sunshine - $55,000 - $65,000
Parkside - $55,000 - $65,000
Spotswood - $60,000 - $70,000
St Albans - $50,000 - $60,000
Albion - $60,000 - $70,000
Altona - $35,000 - $45,000
Yarraville - $35,000 - $45,000

Very tough !!!

Another opinion for the record,

Hoppers have more money than they can spend.
Player budget 100k Coaches - 30k (match comm included)
Port Colts - Payers 60k Coaches - 0k
Sunshine - Players 50k Coaches 15k
Parkside - Players 70k Coaches 15k
Spotswood - Players 70 k Coaches 25k
Albion - Players 75k Coaches 25k
St Albans - Players 65k Coaches 30k (player payments 20k under previous year,due to lack of contracted players)
Yarraville - Players 50k Coaches 8k
Altona - Players 45k Coaches 15k
Seddon - Players 45k Coaches 10k

Note - most first div clubs employ at least two quality trainers at a further cost of 10k.

My North said:
Anybody want to do what the Division 2 clubs pay if any at all.

Off the top of my head the top few would be...

Glenorden 50k, Deer Park, North Footscray, Albanvale, Wyndamvale and West Footscray around the 35k mark, Coburg Districts and Gladstone Park 30k, North Sunshine 25k and beleave it or not even Sunny Heights have been known to spend a little.

Anyone who was of the mis-conception there was no money in second Division...think again....