WRFL Division 2

• Thread starter Thread starter coldog

I just reckon the Glenorden have got enough good players to cover Wests forwrds.... stop 3 players and they cant score. West will get frustrated and lose the plot... Glenorden to blow em away late in the game

GoesBangFrom50 said:
I just reckon the Glenorden have got enough good players to cover Wests forwrds.... stop 3 players and they cant score. West will get frustrated and lose the plot... Glenorden to blow em away late in the game
Dont totally agree on glenordans back half rekon west will trouble them in that area, should be g8 game though. Whats ur reasoning behind albv beating us?:thumbsu:

GoesBangFrom50 said:
Albanvale over parks... 10 points
Glenorden by 70 points.

Werribee surface is crap but it is better than playing at Altona. Worst ground for finlals ever. The conditions dont allow good footy and there is no atmosphere. They shoould never be allowed to play finals there.

yes tru about altona not a good finals ground

the u/16s played their gf at westbourne i tell u good surface but the wind probably goes across the ground rather than down it so would make an interesting contest for div 2, good facillities as well, u been there?
thoughts...........

lookout4lions said:
Dont totally agree on glenordans back half rekon west will trouble them in that area, should be g8 game though. Whats ur reasoning behind albv beating us?:thumbsu:

get ur clubs out soon 'lookout' ill give u a touch up after the season is finished........:thumbsu:

w.weapons said:

the u/16s played their gf at westbourne i tell u good surface but the wind probably goes across the ground rather than down it so would make an interesting contest for div 2, good facillities as well, u been there?
thoughts...........

havn't been there but heard they have the best rooms this side of town.

Albanvale... big ground, too many slow players at Parks. IF albanvale runs hard they should win.

With the top four now playing off in the preliminary finals -

Glenorden Vs West Footscray

Deer Park Vs Albanvale

Would anyone like to speculate on sides strengths and weaknesses and key players / match ups for this weekend?

w.weapons said:

thoughts...........

Westbourne has the best hotdogs going around in local footy. The hotdog equivalent of the South Melb Market dim sim.

w.weapons said:
building yes we will have 18's next year 12 or 13 boys from the premiership winning u 16 side are going up.

Mate your under 16's were crap this year... you cant say theyre superstars because they won the C grade of under 16's.

unit27 said:
Mate your under 16's were crap this year... you cant say theyre superstars because they won the C grade of under 16's.

c'mon man you cant bag the PREMIERS who was the best side then?
div 2 here not 16's......:D

unit27 said:
My tips:
West over Glenorden by 2 goals
Deer Park over Albanvale by 5 goals

MY TIPS
glenorden to draw with west
deer park by 4 goals
bring your umbrellas
beanies and gumboots
stubby holders :thumbsu:
vegie patch will be in full voice on sunday

unit27 said:

i know ur from the western magpies and that says it all go back to the
18'b thread
i didnt say they were superstars mockimbird.........:thumbsd:
they won the granny and no1 can take that away from them.
GO THE LIONS

there appear to be a few deer park people on this thread who are quite confident they can win the premiership this year, if that is the case is the club got any plans in place for a grade next season or will they worry about that when it comes up

i know glenorden coaching staff have said they need to recruit 8 to 10 players to be competitive, do deer park have a similar plan in place

cold pies said:
there appear to be a few deer park people on this thread who are quite confident they can win the premiership this year
were ready 2 take next step, have been talking to new players already well b4 finals started, agree with glenordan need min 6 recruits of good quality 2 make sure we stay when get up there. Players spoken 2 have been impressed with clubs future and where they seem to be heading. Saying that we have 2 win 2 more games yet 2 even get that ball rolling, Albanvale will b a g8 game this week both sides confident. All parks players fired up to max, bring it on.:thumbsu:

lookout4lions said:
were ready 2 take next step, have been talking to new players already well b4 finals started, agree with glenordan need min 6 recruits of good quality 2 make sure we stay when get up there. Players spoken 2 have been impressed with clubs future and where they seem to be heading. Saying that we have 2 win 2 more games yet 2 even get that ball rolling, Albanvale will b a g8 game this week both sides confident. All parks players fired up to max, bring it on.:thumbsu:

You might need more than 6..... IF you do get through how many retirements would you have? I would reckon at least 4... add that to the 6 and thats how many you might need.

lookout4lions said:

other than the granny this has to be the biggest game of the year, the two sides in good form will be an excellent contest.theres alot more riding on this 1 than last time not only a spot in the granny, the bragging rights
that also comes with it.
good luck to every 1 involved in the finals this week........:thumbsu:

GoesBangFrom50 said:
You might need more than 6..... IF you do get through how many retirements would you have? I would reckon at least 4... add that to the 6 and thats how many you might need.
Not sure on retirement numbers but yeah u could b right. No mata who does win it they will need 2 recruit heavy to stay up the year after. Goes bang puttin crap aside why dont heights pay money 4 players, is it a sponsor shortage or something like that? Honestly they only need 2-4 key players & they would b a force but 2 get them would take some coin, ur comments b appreciated.:thumbsu:

lookout4lions said:
Not sure on retirement numbers but yeah u could b right. No mata who does win it they will need 2 recruit heavy to stay up the year after. Goes bang puttin crap aside why dont heights pay money 4 players, is it a sponsor shortage or something like that? Honestly they only need 2-4 key players & they would b a force but 2 get them would take some coin, ur comments b appreciated.:thumbsu:

The club has no money.. bottom line. 5-6 good people run the whole club. Although they all work their guts out they don't have the business skills or connections to attract sponsors.

U are right about being only a few players short and it wouldnt be that hard to pay some coin out to get 3 or 4 players but how could u possibly justify buying 3 or 4 players when Greto, Weston, Mallia, Bugeja and the Caruana's are on $000.

Club decided to spend the few $$$ they have on medical staff rather than players. That way ALL of the players get the benifet.

GoesBangFrom50 said:
The club has no money.. bottom line. 5-6 good people run the whole club. Although they all work their guts out they don't have the business skills or connections to attract sponsors.

U are right about being only a few players short and it wouldnt be that hard to pay some coin out to get 3 or 4 players but how could u possibly justify buying 3 or 4 players when Greto, Weston, Mallia, Bugeja and the Caruana's are on $000.

Club decided to spend the few $$$ they have on medical staff rather than players. That way ALL of the players get the benifet.

Speaking of Weston, how is his knee/leg after the final? Being on the other side and watch him tear up the midfield, do his knee, then nearly steal the game being nursed in the forward line was one of the gutiest efforts I've seen on a footy field.

kangaman06 said:
Speaking of Weston, how is his knee/leg after the final? Being on the other side and watch him tear up the midfield, do his knee, then nearly steal the game being nursed in the forward line was one of the gutiest efforts I've seen on a footy field.

Got the all clear. Would have been 2 -4 weeks if the year was still going. He'll be right for the Heightes pre season kick off in November

GoesBangFrom50 said:
Fair enough, but wouldnt those players mentioned prefer 2 win g/f, obviously they r all g8 clubmen surely u would think they couldnt care as long as it came with success and they got rite players 2 club.:thumbsu:

They are good clubmen, but to get players better than them you have to pay big $$$. Just couldnt justify it.besides:

The players are all genuine mates. no seperate groups and in fighting. That would be destroyed.

The main thing is the club thinks it can get the extra 4-5 players without paying $$.. coming from 2 or 3 recruits (which it has for next year) as well as the under 18's of which 5 played senior footy this year.