Society & Culture Your First Car?

Why spend so much money on your first car, freaking stupid to spend so much money on a car when you are still a teenager, when the chances are you will probably bang it up a but as well.
And its only a car

cos im an idiot.

VIC_VC_10000.JPG

But mine was the lighter green.

My Old man had one of these he bought new in 1981. Sold it only last year for $500.00 Original engine & all, 12 times Perth - Newcastle & once all the way around OZ. Was the most reliable car I have ever known.

First car was very clean 1990 Mazda 626... had no idea about buying cars so I got quite sucked in by the dealer. Pretty much drove it for about two years with heaps of things wrong. Then one lucky day I wrote it off :)

Now driving an extremly reliable 2000 AUII Ford Fairmont

Why do people do this shit?

Did you used to drive with one hand on the wheel and one down your pants?
Haha, good post :D:thumbsu:

Really, if you want to thrash a car, get a cheapie like an old, old Commodore where it doesnt really matter than a flashy expensive one. You just look like a knob.

Sorry to hear about the big debts though

Haha, good post :D:thumbsu:

Really, if you want to thrash a car, get a cheapie like an old, old Commodore where it doesnt really matter than a flashy expensive one. You just look like a knob.

Sorry to hear about the big debts though

At least he didn`t buy a stupid guzzling import and have to worry about finding half cuts at wreckers and sometimes having to import new parts from Japan. <cough>.

Green 1975 Mazda 808 Wagon, 1600CC, aka "The Snot Mobile"

7217500017_large.jpg

Bought for $1600, did 200,000 km, including back and forth from Melbourne to Perth in consecutive February's with 8 days of driving at 40 degrees plus. Never missed a beat. Ended up with broken locks and a piece of metal welded to the ignition to start it (someone tried to steal it and stuffed the ignition key), driven to the wreckers still in drivable order (but far from roadworthy).

Replaced with a 1974 Volkswagen Kombi that I still own - bought for $3000, worth much more today :thumbsu: Used to be a daily drive for 6 to 7 years, now kept just for special occasions :)

Mine was a 97 VS Holden Commodore Esteem, a burgundy sort of colour with body kit and all that. Nice car when purchasedbut by the time I sold it six years later it was in a sad and sorry state.

timbaus1986suzsierra1rr.jpg

But in blue. Was just the ticket to get into all the surf spots around Margs, better 4wd on the beach than a $50k Landcruiser.

Could only do 100km/h tho, and that was peaking. In a strong wind she used to almost blow off the road:D

They were fantastic & never overheated, I can't understand why all car manufacturers didn't put the engines in the rear.:confused:

Lol...holy shit, i've lost count of the number of VW beetles and Kombi's in particular that i've seen on fire on the side of the road. :D

Mantis obviously knows nothing about cars either. Obviously it`s easier to cool an engine in the front of a car rather than a back. VWs are designed for European climates. They go ok in Australia in the south of Australia in the Winter, but if you have on up north, or drive them on hot summer roads in the south, they fry pretty quickly.

Don't let a lack of knowledge stop you from having an opinion.

They made a lot of Beetles, over 20 million, which went to all parts of the globe, not just Europe, areas of which are quite hot, believe it or not. The original design in the thirties was used as the basis for the German jeep in WW2, and VW's have featured prominently in off road racing where the temperatures rival anything you'll find in our far north, and acquit themselves quite well, despite being modified to produce much more power than the original design ever intended.

It's possible to overheat any car, nothing is absolutely foolproof, especially once old and poorly maintained. Considering they were a very old design only updated slightly over many years, they did ok. People kept buying them, and although they certainly can't compete with modern designs in many areas, if you look at the heaps of cr*p that were being made at the time by other manufacturers, it's no wonder they sold so many.

Don't let a lack of knowledge stop you from having an opinion.

They made a lot of Beetles, over 20 million, which went to all parts of the globe, not just Europe, areas of which are quite hot, believe it or not. The original design in the thirties was used as the basis for the German jeep in WW2, and VW's have featured prominently in off road racing where the temperatures rival anything you'll find in our far north, and acquit themselves quite well, despite being modified to produce much more power than the original design ever intended.

It's possible to overheat any car, nothing is absolutely foolproof, especially once old and poorly maintained. Considering they were a very old design only updated slightly over many years, they did ok. People kept buying them, and although they certainly can't compete with modern designs in many areas, if you look at the heaps of cr*p that were being made at the time by other manufacturers, it's no wonder they sold so many.

Whatever mate. And I drive a V8 supercar, because V8 supercars are so much like the factory bought commodores and falcons... :rolleyes:

1981 WB Holden Ute. Bought her as a project at 15, stripped her to bare metal, custom paint (close to imulse blue - VZ Blue) and custom interior, bullbar, side skirts. Had her roadworthy for a week, did the linkages in the gearbox. Few months later discovered a crack had formed in the head (253). Fixed her almost all up now and will flog her off. Now driving a VS Series III Ute (2000) for a bit more reliability. Stll love the old girl though

Wrote off one of these nine months after getting my licence.
19733542.jpg

Insurance payout didn't quite cover the cost of getting a replacement one so I ended up driving one of these around for the five years that followed.
800px-1992-1994_toyota_camry_sedan1.jpg

I'd bush mechanic that sucker all the way to Bunbury.

Omo as brake fluid ftw

My parents have owned the 3 cars I have driven since getting my license.
-Daewoo hatch which I f*cked up
-Daewoo sedan which totally f*cked up itself
-Excel hatch which is still going good

After Xmas though that is going to change as I'm going to buy my first car, a Toyota Soarer. I'd buy one now but its going to require a day trip up to Melbourne to have a look at a couple and work will make that impossible until after the Xmas rush.

After Xmas though that is going to change as I'm going to buy my first car, a Toyota Soarer.

Be very very careful buying a second hand jap import car mate, unless you have a lot of free coin or possess mechanical skills.

Japanese renew their cars at a faster rate than aussies because they have to pay huge inspection fees on vehicles more than 3 years old. This results in heaps of second hand cars that end up getting shipped off to places like oz. Many of these jap import cars have been sitting in a warehouse or yard for months and sometimes years, and as a result almost every seal in the car is susceptible to drying out and cracking.

Result, fluid leaks from the motor, power steering, coolant, dodgy turbo seals, air con seals...you name it.

Also as the owners know they are going to offload these vehicles within three years, and the price of maintaining a vehicle in japan is very expensive, most don't bother with servicing...many don't even change the oil for years:eek:

They can also be a bitch/expensive to source parts for

You might get lucky, and you sound like a young fella that has obviously made up his mind and will not deviate...but if you want my advice stick to something that has been Australian since new if you want to avoid heartache.

At the very least compression test anything before buying.