Society & Culture Your First Car?

Be very very careful buying a second hand jap import car mate, unless you have a lot of free coin or possess mechanical skills.

Japanese renew their cars at a faster rate than aussies because they have to pay huge inspection fees on vehicles more than 3 years old. This results in heaps of second hand cars that end up getting shipped off to places like oz. Many of these jap import cars have been sitting in a warehouse or yard for months and sometimes years, and as a result almost every seal in the car is susceptible to drying out and cracking.

Result, fluid leaks from the motor, power steering, coolant, dodgy turbo seals, air con seals...you name it.

Also as the owners know they are going to offload these vehicles within three years, and the price of maintaining a vehicle in japan is very expensive, most don't bother with servicing...many don't even change the oil for years:eek:

They can also be a bitch/expensive to source parts for

You might get lucky, and you sound like a young fella that has obviously made up his mind and will not deviate...but if you want my advice stick to something that has been Australian since new if you want to avoid heartache.

At the very least compression test anything before buying.

My second car was a soarer. I got it checked first, but it still broke down pretty much as soon as I got it out of the place. The alternator wires were ****ed and it drained the battery as quick as you could say, `Geelong premiers - 2010`. I was constantly having problems with the seals on the radiator, and the ball joints all needed replacing.

I had a friend who had a Celsior which is pretty much a four door Celsior, and he didn`t know much about cars at all. His ball joints were so ****ed that one of his front wheels came off as he was driving down the highway. This is fairly common with imports too. I was watching that NZ highway patrol show and some kid was smashed up on the side of the road as the wheel had just come off on his brand new import.

As Mancey said, it leaked like a siv from a million and one places and as soon as I fixed one leak, it started leaking from somewhere else. My driveway looked like the floor of a mechanic`s shop and pretty much everywhere I stopped it, it would leak something. Most of the Soarers and Celsiors that are in Australia are about 20 years old and have been sitting around warehouses for **** knows how long. Yakuza groups in Japan are also getting charged on a regular basis for importing cars to Australia as parts which saves them a shitload of money. They then slap the cars together in backyard garages and sell them as the real deal. It is no wonder that many, many things can end up going wrong.

I never had any money for two years as I was spending it all on this car. I imported some parts from Japan, but where I could get away with it, I would buy from the wreckers in QLDs who had a fair few half cuts. It was often hard to find a mechanic who were really good with imports and unless I arranged parts myself and made sure the mechanic knew this, they`d always try and import the parts from Japan which is expensive... I got the Soarer in the first place because I wanted an import but wanted to get somethign different to the standard Skylines that are ridiculously common now, but it just made it hard to find parts.

I spent heaps on it, but as I got it without compliance and did things on the cheap I ended up making my money back when I resold it. It was a great car when it was running properly though, don`t get me wrong. All I`m saying is, be prepared to spend a heap of money on it and if you don`t know what you`re doing, you`ll get taken for a ride. That said though, I know a few people (very few) who have bought imports and had no problems at all with them. By all means, take your chances, but be prepared for a bumpy ride, and I`d suggest knowing a fair bit about cars before you consider doing it.

They were fantastic & never overheated, I can't understand why all car manufacturers didn't put the engines in the rear.:confused:

Inertia, brakes/steering at the front, weight at the rear = oversteer

[YOUTUBE]q5-kzePmlwc[/YOUTUBE]

My first car was a 1967 Mini. Wonderful car to learn to drive in. It was written off at the railway crossing on North Rd, Ormond, by a Holden which was airborne when he ran into me, doing about 100kph. I walked away.

Loved my two Geminis, 1976 and 1981, except for the rust. The favourite car I've owned was an imported 1976 Toyota Corona Mk II, with the same 2.6 litre engine as the Crown, and the best manual gearbox I've ever used on a six-cylinder car. I handed it on to my son who used it for twelve months as a bush-basher, at a hippy commune in Healesville. Eventually, he and his mates had to admit defeat. No matter what they did, they couldn't kill it.

I now drive a 2006, company-provided Rodeo, which I like better than most of the many company cars I've had.

Edit: Mantis, in 1973, I drove an eight year-old VW sedan across the Nullabor, containing three people and all of our wordly possessions. Seeing they'd had 4 inches of rain in 24 hours, we had to wait a couple of days before we took on the 180 mile unmade bit. Four semis had fallen over on the road. You could see the fires they'd lit next to their trucks from 50 miles away. Only two cars passed us on that part of the journey, and the furthest that Jag and that MG got ahead of us, was two puddles. Say whatever you like about VWs, but they always got me there. I make no comment about the condition in which I or the car arrived, but we got there.

My first car was an XF falcon S pack, 4 spd manual, silver. I bought that when i was in the army i must've been about 18 i guess around 95/96.

Since then, various shitboxes then R32 GTR -> Senator Signature -> E55 AMG - > Ralliart Magna -> currently a lease car from GMH where i work, a black 2010 SS-V. I'm leaving Holden in the next couple of weeks though so the SS-V will be going back and i'll either use my employee discount (25-35% depending on the car) to buy a new car, or i'm going to buy a VL calais, probably one that is already heavily modfied as i cbf doing it myself. Or possibly a modified Supra or 33 or 34 GTR if one pops up at the right price.

First car was a 1983 White Commodore SL/X which I bought in 1994. I had it for 10 years and in that time everything under the bonnet had to be replaced, which was bound to happen given it was 10 year old Holden.
70657d1252655693-shannons-classic-vh-sl-x-vh.jpg

Traded it in (the dealer gave me $500 to cover the rego I had just re-newed :)) for a brand new Mazda 323 Astina in 2003, which was a fantastic car that never gave me a problem in the 2 years I had it. Sold it in 05 to move overseas and I haven't owned a car since.

My first car was a poo brown 1980 Datsun sunny (Mr Hanky the Christmas poo aka Daryl) which shook like crazy if the speed crept passed 90km/hr. Sadly I wrote it off about 6 months after I got my license, so dad bought another 1980 Datsun sunny, in orange, to replace it. It kept going for quite a few years and then we offloaded it for $100 bucks to some poor soul. There were rumoured sightings of it around Guildford for a couple of years after we sold it.

As seriously uncool as I thought those cars were, they ran on the smell of an oiler rag, and probably a rat on a wheel turning the engine over. Good times...

My first car was a poo brown 1980 Datsun sunny (Mr Hanky the Christmas poo aka Daryl) which shook like crazy if the speed crept passed 90km/hr. Sadly I wrote it off about 6 months after I got my license, so dad bought another 1980 Datsun sunny, in orange, to replace it. It kept going for quite a few years and then we offloaded it for $100 bucks to some poor soul. There were rumoured sightings of it around Guildford for a couple of years after we sold it.

As seriously uncool as I thought those cars were, they ran on the smell of an oiler rag, and probably a rat on a wheel turning the engine over. Good times...
[YOUTUBE]UAAqcHdSGiY[/YOUTUBE] :D:thumbsu:

An early '60's EK Holden, (can't remember the year). Has the batmobile fins.
Tricked it up with a worked 186 motor, (had to remodel the engine bay).
Put in a 5 speed gear box and hot dog exhaust.
Flash tape deck and speakers....this was the '80's children.
All the bells and whistles....except modifying the suspension.:o
EK's have more bodyroll than those morbidly obese ferkers who need the fire brigade and a crane to be shipped to hospital for lap-band surgery.
It was my pride and joy as a 17 yr old for about 6 weeks before I hit a corner to hard and rolled it 6 times into a wheat paddock.:(:(

I still miss it.

I did end up getting the Toyota Soarer I mentioned earlier in the thread, though I did take the advice of Mancey and BBC on board.

The one I bought is an import (insurance was expensive) but has been in the country for 10 years and didn't sit in a garage for that whole time.

So far now I have had it for 9 months, haven't had a single problem and although it is definitely a 'boys toy' kind of car, I can afford to run it and love it to bits.

Only thing I've done to it so far (and in the forseeable future) is install a 7in touchscreen DVD player we sold at my work and that was only because the CD stacker was starting to show its age

First car was a 1982 Ford Laser Ghia. It was in reasonable condition when I picked it up for $1300 (in 1999) and sold it a year later because blue smoke was blowing out of the exhaust. The engine was probably going to go 'bang' any moment then. I still managed to sell it for $1100.

I loved it, though - being a top-of-the-range, it had 5 speed manual, 1.5 (instead of 1.3) engine, and velour seats.

Had an 88 civic with a clutch longer and stiffer than my femur. 2nd car was in Canada where we bought a mazda minivan for a 5 person trip across the country. We got 1/10th of the way before the radiator went and we blew a head gasket. Ended up (never do this) driving across a mountain pass trekking down to a glacial river below the road every 20 minutes to fill a stove with ice cold water to pour into the rad. Terrible, terrible idea.

Worst car I've ever owned, but by far the most heart.

Got a 1996 Lancer Gli Coupe` back in 2006.
10LancerL_m.jpg

(its actually red, but i do have those stock rims)

Paid $5,000 for it and have never had any problems, tires are cheap, servicing is cheap, its a gutless small 1.5L engine with a 5sp manual so i get good economy too.

Ford ZJ Fairlane. Absolute tank, dual fuel.

3174676.jpg

Now I own this:
09B9687-1.jpg

i loved my first car, 1987 vl commodore calais turbo

absolutely flew, had it for about 3 years, purchased for $10k, sold for $9k :thumbsu:

i wish i kept her though, was a great car to drive