Speculation Zach Merrett

Suns could easily clear cap space offloading Ballard, Davies & Jake Rogers - which appears a possibility this year. And delisting a few list cloggers.

Perhaps big Jed Walter also enters the conversation one way or another.

Chasing Merrett would be Hardwick trying to fast track premiership. Might be worth a shot?

I can't see Welsh being all good with a first and a second for him after wanting 4x firsts last year.

Would make him look like an absolute clown.
He’d probably cost two first, maybe with the second round are going back, depending on how good the first were.
Also it was never three first in value to begin with (in reality).

The trade didn’t get up last year for a variety of reasons - partly due to the late attempt and Essendon interpreting it as disrespectful (which it was at least in the manner that it was delivered, waiting to the last minute, and then putting a deadline on it for the LOLs) - and then there was delusion from Welsh thinking that we could rise up the ladder this year and somehow snare some free agents like Zach Bailey (never gonna happen obviously), and therefore convince Zach to stay.
Yeah nah 🤦‍♂️
Hindsight is 20 20 I suppose.

And finally the footy bravado and nonsense where it costs more to get the captain which to me is max 20% more, but not done for the optics largely.

This year though, with him not being captain, he’s pretty much guaranteed to go somewhere IMO, which will suit all parties.

Suns could easily clear cap space offloading Ballard, Davies & Jake Rogers - which appears a possibility this year. And delisting a few list cloggers.

Perhaps big Jed Walter also enters the conversation one way or another.

Chasing Merrett would be Hardwick trying to fast track premiership. Might be worth a shot?
Would certainly add more validity to what Hardwick is doing, not that he needs much more as all the moves he’s making look pretty slick. Good time to be a Gold Coast supporter. 👏👏

How are GC looking with half back distributors? Would excel there as well as on ball.

Just my opinion but this only gets done if Essendon move their position.

Unfortunately we have already seen hawthorn put all the chips on the table and it wasn't enough, hawthorn can only reduce the offer from here out as Merrett gets older and less valuable, Zach will be smart to look at different destinations imo.

At this stage unless something changes on the Essendon side I can't see how this gets done to hawthorn.

Unfortunately we have already seen hawthorn put all the chips on the table and it wasn't enough, hawthorn can only reduce the offer from here out as Merrett gets older and less valuable, Zach will be smart to look at different destinations imo.

At this stage unless something changes on the Essendon side I can't see how this gets done to hawthorn.

Will any other side be willing to give away a first round pick for Merrett?

Hawthorn, perhaps Collingwood.

Essendon can only move their position by allowing it to happen, and being realistic. But that fact of the matter is, they should have moved him last year. I simply cannot see many suitors this year. Lower sides aren't looking for a 31 year old (which he will be come trade time). The way Merrett plays fits Mitchell's game plan. Hawks are pretty much it for Merrett.

ground breaking observation this

It wont happen for the same reason it didnt happen last year

We hate them and they hate us

There can be no compromise
supporters in the public domain are like this, I know a Hawthorn staffer and clubs generally have nothing but respect for the inner sanctum of the industry

Is this an AI response? makes no sense
the dismissive response was questioned (supporters in the public domain are like this) and then evidence provided as to why such a situation could arise (I know a Hawthorn staffer and clubs generally have nothing but respect for the inner sanctum of the industry)

Will any other side be willing to give away a first round pick for Merrett?

Hawthorn, perhaps Collingwood.

Essendon can only move their position by allowing it to happen, and being realistic. But that fact of the matter is, they should have moved him last year. I simply cannot see many suitors this year. Lower sides aren't looking for a 31 year old (which he will be come trade time). The way Merrett plays fits Mitchell's game plan. Hawks are pretty much it for Merrett.

Geelong would take him but we wouldnt offer overs for him. Whatever club it is he wants to go to (and I doubt he leaves Victoria) essendon wont get offered what they were offered last year.

ive accepted this

a first and MAYBE a second would suffice. Something going back perhaps evens it out.

ive accepted this

a first and MAYBE a second would suffice. Something going back perhaps evens it out.

I think thats fair (even if its a lot for a 32yo but if that 32yo gets you a flag its worth a punt). But 3 firsts is fantasy (which is why I was surprised essendon didnt take the offer last year i think a lot of this clearly had to do with issues between them and hawthorn). Your problem now is if he leaves hes only going to pick a club he thinks is close to a flag so you wont get very early picks For eg if he picks Geelong or hawthorn and they offer a first and a 2nd those will be a pick around 20 or so plus pick 40.
But if he goes in 27 as an FA you will get no compo because of his age so its a case of take what you can get now.

I think thats fair (even if its a lot for a 32yo but if that 32yo gets you a flag its worth a punt). But 3 firsts is fantasy (which is why I was surprised essendon didnt take the offer last year i think a lot of this clearly had to do with issues between them and hawthorn). Your problem now is if he leaves hes only going to pick a club he thinks is close to a flag so you wont get very early picks For eg if he picks Geelong or hawthorn and they offer a first and a 2nd those will be a pick around 20 or so plus pick 40.
But if he goes in 27 as an FA you will get no compo because of his age so its a case of take what you can get now.
with the knowledge he wants out, more clubs will come calling and it will be much easier to get fair market value than what was offered last year

Yes and no. More clubs will come calling for the reason you stated but that doesnt matter because most of them he wont talk to-he isnt going to pick say Richmond or Carlton or even st kilda-hes leaving to win a flag. Hes picking say a Geelong or hawthorn etc who will not have early picks to trade.

You'd think with a year to prepare Essendon will accept something like a 2027 1st which will be a pretty average pick. Reckon he definitely ends up at the Hawks, their BF 'ITK' nuffies are going to melt when Humphrey nominates the Dees at end of year.

They wont really because gc wont release Humphrey (if they didnt release him for petracca they sure as aren't 12 months later for less).

You'd think with a year to prepare Essendon will accept something like a 2027 1st which will be a pretty average pick. Reckon he definitely ends up at the Hawks, their BF 'ITK' nuffies are going to melt when Humphrey nominates the Dees at end of year.
Arh, a Melbourne ITK nuffie with some hot news. Can we bookmark this?

Humphrey can nominate who he wants.

He's going nowhere.

Humphrey can nominate who he wants.

He's going nowhere.
If the price is right…

Come On Down Price Is Right GIF by Justin

Figure common sense prevails this year and Merrett gets to us. Twice now our enemies have done us a favour first with saving us from Ben McKay and then the ridiculous offer for Merrett. A first and second is a fair deal IMO. The second is free anyway given our live trading adding 2 of them this year. Can also be future to help with Bewick the draft not really our focus obviously.