All Australian Team 2008

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

Re: Tom Harley in aa team

Agree, very surprised, never plays on the best forwards.

Exactly right... He actually will take himself off a player after being beaten one on one, or feels they are dangerous. I saw him in Round 22 get touched up by McKinley and immediately swap opponents with Josh Hunt. He plays a role that one could only get away with in a team like Geelong. To put it simply, he would get his back side torn out playing in any other team.. his form one on one when we are under pressure is terrible. I couldn't agree more that the likes of Lake and Milburn have had better seasons. Its purely a BS award for leading a great team...Pfft... my mother could lead that team. :rolleyes:
Harley played terribly against the Saints, as he has done in most finals appearances of late. He would have been our only loser. Got beaten body on body by much smaller opponents and went for too many marks instead of doing the correct defending option and punching the ball away. Even admitted that Thompson gave him a wrap over the knuckles for his game.

I have to say that while I'm a massive cats fan, I see the game without pure tunnel vision. Harley's AA selection was like Mooney's in '07... totally incorrect IMO.... they were not soley the best players in their position. Harley doesn't get my respect stand alone as a player for the fact that he shrugs the best forwards.. peace.

Yeh why not, lets put Joel Selwood in there as well, Paul Chapman, Matthew Stokes maybe even Tom Hawkins, Travis Varcoe - anyone who pulled a geelong guernsey on all year, they should all have made the 40 man squad at least.

Geelong fans are getting a little bit arrogant, a bit like Scarlett

Did you even read the post you quoted?

You obviously dont see all the contested marks he takes and when he runs it out of defence and he was voted mvp captain by his peers, so he is very good

So taking contested marks is the only stat that matters? That would mean that Richo is the greatest player ever.

I personally think that Harley deserved to make the squad, but there were several players who would have deserved AA alot more. Harley didn't play on a decent forward all year.

Last for errors? Can you the name the other 31 wingman you compared him to to create these stats?

How was he for marks?

I only compared him to 29 players because it was too hard to work out who collingwood's wingmen were.

Wingman Errors:
Richo 8.4
Douglas 4.9
Doughty 4.8
Notting 4.9
Johnstone 5.7
Carazzo 5.9
Stevens 6.3
Lovett 5.9
Reimers 4.8
Crowley 5.5
Ibbotson 5.1
Enright 3.4
Corey 6.4
Bateman 4.8
Young 4.7
Green 5.5
Wheatley 6.4
Pearce 5.2
Boak 5.6
McMahon 4.9
Goddard 5.8
Gram 5.5
L Ablett 4.7
McVeigh 4.8
Embley 5.9
Stenglein 3.4
Griffen 4.7
Giansiracusa 5.7

Harley didn't play on a decent forward all year.

I think that is the bottom line, and the one fact that not even the most one eyed cats fan will be able to argue. While he never takes the best forwards, his disposal is only better than Blake's in our side and he isn't fast at all. I think I could feel the embarrassment in his tone last night when being presented his award(s). He made it clear that the team allows him to perform the way he does. Stand alone, he's only an average defender.

Yeh why not, lets put Joel Selwood in there as well, Paul Chapman, Matthew Stokes maybe even Tom Hawkins, Travis Varcoe - anyone who pulled a geelong guernsey on all year, they should all have made the 40 man squad at least.

Must be hard to come to terms with the fact you've got such a dominant side standing in between you and a flag ay?

Time to start dealing with it petal.

Re: If Tom Harley was NOT captain of Geelong...

You do whatever the f$%@ you like. I couldn't care less.:thumbsu:
Why is it that you think you know more about Geelong's backline than the people who watch the games? Anyone who rates Mackie ahead of Enright is arguing way above their heads.

I only compared him to 29 players because it was too hard to work out who collingwood's wingmen were.

Wingman Errors:
Richo 8.4
Douglas 4.9
Doughty 4.8
Notting 4.9
Johnstone 5.7
Carazzo 5.9
Stevens 6.3
Lovett 5.9
Reimers 4.8
Crowley 5.5
Ibbotson 5.1
Enright 3.4
Corey 6.4
Bateman 4.8
Young 4.7
Green 5.5
Wheatley 6.4
Pearce 5.2
Boak 5.6
McMahon 4.9
Goddard 5.8
Gram 5.5
L Ablett 4.7
McVeigh 4.8
Embley 5.9
Stenglein 3.4
Griffen 4.7
Giansiracusa 5.7
Neither Enright nor Corey play on the wing.

I have to say that while I'm a massive cats fan, I see the game without pure tunnel vision. Harley's AA selection was like Mooney's in '07... totally incorrect IMO.... they were not soley the best players in their position. Harley doesn't get my respect stand alone as a player for the fact that he shrugs the best forwards.. peace.

You're also a massive twat :D

I think that is the bottom line, and the one fact that not even the most one eyed cats fan will be able to argue. While he never takes the best forwards, his disposal is only better than Blake's in our side and he isn't fast at all. I think I could feel the embarrassment in his tone last night when being presented his award(s). He made it clear that the team allows him to perform the way he does. Stand alone, he's only an average defender.
That he didn't play on a single decent forward all year? No one can argue with that? That his disposal is the second worst in our side? That he's only an average defender when he was one of the best in the league a few years ago? No one can argue with any of those points?

Enjoy your red card idiot.

Are all Hawthorn supporters on dumb pills today ? :confused:
Try reading the quote you've answered before having a sooky-sooky-la-la you idiot.

Personally I didn't think Harley deserved AA, though I suspected he would get it based on the massive rager Walls & Healey have for 'most marks from opposition kicks'.

Having said that, I find it highly amusing that in a thread in which Harley is being labelled overrated, Mackie is being touted as a worthy substitute. If you want a Geelong player whose role and ability has been massively twisted by the media, it is Andrew Mackie.

Good post jester.A few media people had him as a dead certainty to be in the AA side.I thought he was lucky to make the squad.He's had a very good 2nd half of the year,but his 1st half wasn't flash.He missed 3 or 4 games through injury and when he returned his dosposal was dreadful in the first few games back.

The BigFooty crew got it right within a whisker.

The press was way off in most cases if not all.

One of the benefits of this type of medium is the enormous weight of opinion coming together.

Re: Brett Kirk - Bit Stiff?

Don't think the fair dinkum blokes playing today are too fussed about AA. Selection always speculative anyway. Just a gimmick to sell papers.

Right about Kirky though. Should have been first selected.
Welcome back Popeye.Old Son.Give The Goose my fondest regards.Dont let him write any of your material as you risk being tarred with the same brush.When people in Port Melbourne label you a halfwit thats saying something so break the shackles old son or you may suffer the same fate.

Classic Cinderella, great stuff.

Why is it that you think you know more about Geelong's backline than the people who watch the games?
I can't stand that argument, it's rubbish. So only Geelong fans are qualified to comment on anything pertaining to their backline? And anything I, and other Hawk fans, say about Hawthorn is also not up for debate?

That's great because I think our forward line would function far better without Buddy, he should remain on the bench. Please don't argue, what would you know?

Anyone who rates Mackie ahead of Enright is arguing way above their heads

That's nice...pity I never said anything about rating Mackie ahead of Enright. Nothing.

I said both Mackie & Enright were more deserving than Harley. That's all. And they are IMO.

Kirk/Mitchell/Black/Hayes all had great seasons and were pretty much going for the same slot.
They at least made the squad...isnt their fault that Juddmania is still alive and kicking.

How Judd got in defies logic but with hindsight we shoud've known they'd bend over to put him in....but why he was made captain ahead of guys that achieved something is beyond me.

Fair enough, but please tell me which forwards he has beaten this year to warrant AA selection as a defender. If his role is not to beat the oppositions forward then what is it and how did he do it well enough to warrant AA selction when he gets so little of the ball?

Not sure exactly what big names he has beaten but the fact that he's leading the competition in marks from opposition kicks means he reads the ball better than any backman in the competition. Personally I probably would have had Mackie and Milburn ahead of him though.

Re: Richo on the bench??????

Pretty average 2nd half to the season mate......Medders is extremely lucky imo.

Pav getting a gig is a bit rich.

Medhurts lucky. are u f'ing kiddin yourself mate. That bloke was getting the number 1 defender every week as a small forward. Everyone has lately been ranting and raving on about how he had kicked 3 goals in 6 weeks. DO half of use not notice what he does up the field.
And personally Pav shoulda started on the ground before reiwoldt. I was looking at Pavlich stats in every game this year as i dont mind him for a place in the bronwlow medal. There is about 7-8 games he has kicked 5 goals plus.
Woulda been interesting if Reiwoldt played a shocker last saturday night if he woulda got to start on the ground in the A.A team.

Half of the side is a complete joke anyway

oh and Nathan Bock at centre half back. lol please. has he played on a number 1 forward yet. No! i think Ben rutten and Nathan Basset were taking the first 2. Then someone like Johncock would be taking the 3rd best who would be the oppositions small forward.
Which leaves Bock to take a half forward player/pocket. I was suprised Trent Croad, Max Hughdton or maybe Daniel Merrett were not given much notice. 3 blokes who always get the top 2 forwards.
And for all you muppets carrying on about Mackie and Enright.
I honestly, not being biast or nothing. Heath Shaw. Went way under the radar by selectors. Have Mackie or Enright been tagged yet of Half Back. Not once in their career they have? Mackie and Shaw are the same age. Get a grip u blokes, Heath managed to still average 20+disposals for the year including the games he was getting tagged.
Personally The afl and geelong are to far in each others arse

Kirk/Mitchell/Black/Hayes all had great seasons and were pretty much going for the same slot.
They at least made the squad...isnt their fault that Juddmania is still alive and kicking.

How Judd got in defies logic but with hindsight we shoud've known they'd bend over to put him in....but why he was made captain ahead of guys that achieved something is beyond me.

How can you say Judd hasn't achieved anything this year? Just from a stats point of view:
No.1 in contested possesions
4th in clearances
Way up in disposal effiency and way down in clangers
5th in frees for

From a football point of view Judd copped a number 1 tag each week and was still Carlton's driving force in the engine room. In that period where Carlton kept coming back from the brink at 3/4 time Judd was instrumental in the wins every time, not only with his great football but also leadership skills.

Personally I didn't think Harley deserved AA, though I suspected he would get it based on the massive rager Walls & Healey have for 'most marks from opposition kicks'.

Having said that, I find it highly amusing that in a thread in which Harley is being labelled overrated, Mackie is being touted as a worthy substitute. If you want a Geelong player whose role and ability has been massively twisted by the media, it is Andrew Mackie.
So so true. And this is pretty much where I was coming from i nthe original thread. He is Captain of a very good team and a very good captain at that. The footy world have fallen in love with him and as such overlooked better players for a position in the AA team.
I'm not bagging Tom nor the role he plays.

Look at it in another way.

Put him on any other list and tell me if he would be captain of that club?

Hawks-no, Dogs-no, Saints-no, Swans-no, Pies-maybe next yr, Crows-no, Roos-no, Lions-no, Blues-no, Port-maybe next yr, Tigers-maybe next yr, Bombers-no, Eagles-no, Dockers-no, Dees-probably.

He was in the right place at the right time and has grabbed his opportunity. He has seduced the media and the footy fans with his natural charm and intellect and he has got himself an AA guernsey. Put him at any other club or as just a defender at the Cats and I promise you he would not have that guernsey.

No captian plays with more passion for their club than Reiwoldt.Judd is not only lucky to be in the team but should never be made captain.No true captain would leave their team when the chips are down(Judd 2007)

the reason the chips were down was because judd left!