C: Stephen Hill, Paul Hasleby, Garrick Ibbotson
HF: Paul Duffield, Michael Johnson, Clayton Hinkley
F: Brett Peake, Matthew Pavlich, Dean Solomon
Foll: Aaron Sandilands, Byron Schammer, David Mundy
I/C: Ryan Murphy, Matt de Boer, Des Headland, Scott Thornton
Emg: Greg Broughton, Andrew Foster, Kepler Bradley

In: Headland
Out: Greg Broughton

That's a tad harsh on Broughton. But if it means that McPharlin will be moved back into defence, then I guess I can live with it. McPharlin needs to stay down back even if there isn't a great match-up for him. Play him as a loose defender, just don't move him forward.

It's good to see the kids are still playing, hopefully Hinkley can get a chance in the midfield this week though.

I can see where they're coming from. Des is mostly a forward/goal kicker, McPharlin's proven pretty useless for that, so he can go down back, and then we're overloaded for defenders. Broughton's next on the chopping block.

Would prefer to see Thornton out, Headland in though.

Which of the emergencies flew?

ok interesting. If anyone knows which emergency flew with the team that would help. We may see a late change.

Broughton out? Dont know what to think of that one. Maybe they just dont have a matchup for him?

I really dont know much about North at all. Who would our backs match up against??

I thought Broughton wasnt the worst player out there
I reckon the thinking's been:

Back line is OK (recently)
Midfield doing well
Forward line is terrible

Des is a terrific mover of the ball. I remember some ridiculous stat a few years back (2005 or early 2006) where Headland was leaps and bounds ahead of any other player in terms of metres gained. This is despite not being a huge possession winner, like Bell and Haselby were. He doesn't chip the ball around and kicks fairly far and very accurately. That's the kind of player we're crying for (Stephen Hill plays similarly - good mover of the ball from midfield to attack).

Broughton going out doesn't make much sense to me I know he didnt set the world on fire but he was decent. I would have liked to see them give Suban or Hill a rest.

David Hale - Antoni Grover
Aaron Edwards - Chris Tarrant
Lindsay Thomas - Steven Dodd
Drew Petrie - Luke McPharlin

As for some other match-ups...

Daniel Wells - Garrick Ibbotson
Gavin Urquhart - Scott Thornton (defensive forward again, leave him out of the back line)
Adam Simpson - Byron Schammer
Jack Ziebell - Matt de Boer

I reckon the thinking's been:

Back line is OK (recently)
Midfield doing well
Forward line is terrible

Des is a terrific mover of the ball. I remember some ridiculous stat a few years back (2005 or early 2006) where Headland was leaps and bounds ahead of any other player in terms of metres gained. This is despite not being a huge possession winner, like Bell and Haselby were. He doesn't chip the ball around and kicks fairly far and very accurately. That's the kind of player we're crying for (Stephen Hill plays similarly - good mover of the ball from midfield to attack).

Now you mention it gravy, I do see some logic in that change. We NEED more goals kicked... simple as that. Besides that, the game plan that Harves has been banging on about all week, plus following our previous 4 games = Move the ball quickly, cut though the middle. Greg suffered a bit last week with the hospital handballs.

David Hale - Antoni Grover
Aaron Edwards - Chris Tarrant
Lindsay Thomas - Steven Dodd
Drew Petrie - Luke McPharlin

As for some other match-ups...

Daniel Wells - Garrick Ibbotson
Gavin Urquhart - Scott Thornton (defensive forward again, leave him out of the back line)
Adam Simpson - Byron Schammer
Jack Ziebell - Matt de Boer

ye good match ups,
i think DeBour may go to wells though.

Who think Roger Hayden will go back to playing a defensive sweeper role?

Or continue to play across HF moving into the midfield around stoppages? Broughton out might suggest that Headland will slot back into the role Roger has been playing. I much rather have him through our back half than across half forward... he doesnt get enough of the ball to infulence a match there.

Plus he is my 7th back in DT and is absolutely killing me! Doing my head in deciding if I should get Grimes.

It probably came down to Broughton v Suban so I'm pretty happy with the decision. Broughton probably suffered due to the new 'get the f%#king ball moving' philosophy Harvey has taken. Only the 3 kicks for the game, none of which were long and zero rebound 50's.

He'll get plenty more opportunities throughout the year. Broughton is one of the few players we have who puts genuine pressure on the 22 through WAFL form.

I think Tarrant and McPharlin must take Petrie and Hale. We cannot keep putting Grover on blokes much taller than him.

Have to put a hard tag on Wells. He is by far their best/most creative running player. I wouldn't be putting Ibbo on him to "run with" him like Judd and try to hurt him the other way. Blues have several gun midfielders that you are sometimes better shutting the others down or just going head to head with them. With the Roos, Wells is far and away the #1 playmaker with no Harvey. Shut him down and we are a long way there to a victory.

Looking at the teams, if this was played at Subi I would back us by 50+. At the Dome? Not confident at all.

Interesting to see Broughton dropped for Headland, although it is great to see Des back in the team!
Watching the game last week I wasn't extremelly excited about Broughton, he seemed to be a bit out of his element, which wasn't really his fault.
Will good to see how Des goes, if he can create some kind of influence, and most importantly, get through the game alright, sweet!

I'm glad to see the staff are paying attention to the youngsters and seem to be really paying attention all aspects, because there are a few of the boys not too popular along the faithful who really contribute.

- Murphy is among the top in the league for goal assists, and provides a pretty good target up forward, decoy or otherwise.

I can't help but love the way DeBoer goes at the footy and creates a good contest everytime.

- Ibbo could have probably done with a break, instead of Broughton to be honest, but he has had a bit more of a run in the 22, and should be able to handle whatever tagging job he is fronted with.

- MacPharlin has been good without being spectacular, and is aching for a big game, down back or up forward.

Can't wait to see when Ballantyne is fit and ready to go!

Should be a good hit out, stoked it's on starting at 1:30pm (what the?? thought game started at 2:10pm, nehoo :p) on telly here in Tassie!

Very surprised Broughton has been the one to make way. I really like what I see from him - at times he has a suicidal attack on the contest that reminds me very much of a young Solly. I'm sure he'll be back sooner rather than later.

The exciting thing is we finally seem to be getting some depth back for the first time this year. Bodes well for the 2nd half of the season.

Murphy is among the top in the league for goal assists

I'd love to know where you get your stats. According to the Fremantle website, Murphy has had just 3 goal assists from his 5 matches. Which isn't even close to being anywhere near the middle of the league, let alone the top. And from his games so far this year, these stats seem to be fairly accurate.

A lot of people were calling for Murphy to get a month in the side to show what he can do. Well that month is now up, and his stats haven't been that impressive. He is averaging 7 disposals, 3 marks and has scored 6 goals and 2 behinds.

This weekends game would have to be his last chance.

Interesting to see Broughton dropped for Headland, although it is great to see Des back in the team!
Watching the game last week I wasn't extremelly excited about Broughton, he seemed to be a bit out of his element, which wasn't really his fault.
Will good to see how Des goes, if he can create some kind of influence, and most importantly, get through the game alright, sweet!

I'm glad to see the staff are paying attention to the youngsters and seem to be really paying attention all aspects, because there are a few of the boys not too popular along the faithful who really contribute.

- Murphy is among the top in the league for goal assists, and provides a pretty good target up forward, decoy or otherwise.

I can't help but love the way DeBoer goes at the footy and creates a good contest everytime.

- Ibbo could have probably done with a break, instead of Broughton to be honest, but he has had a bit more of a run in the 22, and should be able to handle whatever tagging job he is fronted with.

- MacPharlin has been good without being spectacular, and is aching for a big game, down back or up forward.

Can't wait to see when Ballantyne is fit and ready to go!

Should be a good hit out, stoked it's on starting at 1:30pm (what the?? thought game started at 2:10pm, nehoo :p) on telly here in Tassie!

Well I don't know where to begin with this post, but I'll limit it to your last comment ... not sure where you got 1:30pm from, it's clearly listed to start at 2:10pm Eastern (12:10pm West).

Well I live in Hobart, so yes, 2:10pm EST
And the broadcast is set to start from 1:30pm here on Southern Cross TV (Channel 7 affiliate)
Suprised me too.

I'd love to know where you get your stats. According to the Fremantle website, Murphy has had just 3 goal assists from his 5 matches. Which isn't even close to being anywhere near the middle of the league, let alone the top. And from his games so far this year, these stats seem to be fairly accurate.

A lot of people were calling for Murphy to get a month in the side to show what he can do. Well that month is now up, and his stats haven't been that impressive. He is averaging 7 disposals, 3 marks and has scored 6 goals and 2 behinds.

This weekends game would have to be his last chance.

Sorry mate, my bad, was looking at stats and mixed up goal assists with goals contributed. He is the best Freo player in that category, but still, I was in the wrong! I'll take the beating on that one (just don't leave too many purple bruises on me!)
I can't say he has been great on field, but he still provides some sort of target, and I would expect he is preferred to Campbell at this point, who knows.

Anyway! I'm no big Murph fan, just would like him to kick a bag and provide a more viable option up forward, as I am sure he can be!

Official Teams - Round 9