2015 Draft Discussion

The kids in question board in those states partly because they have top level AFL teams in good AFL leagues. I don't think we're at a stage where Queensland schools can offer that, though hopefully it will change.
it would be great if AFL could get into the GPS system in queensland ie. for those in melbourne brisbane grammar, churchie, brisbane state high etc. i'm sure the AFL are working on this but will be difficult, dominated by rugby union. i think some do play a bit of AFL but not as full on as rugby in regards to training, infrastructure and coaching.

I don't understand why Paine hasn't been moved on already
Because he has a contract still - the club would like to get rid of him. We were lucky enough to convince him to get off the senior list and onto the rookie list.

it would be great if AFL could get into the GPS system in queensland ie. for those in melbourne brisbane grammar, churchie, brisbane state high etc. i'm sure the AFL are working on this but will be difficult, dominated by rugby union. i think some do play a bit of AFL but not as full on as rugby in regards to training, infrastructure and coaching.
Catholic schools have an AFL comp but also do Rugby. I know Keays was at BBC and there is another highly touted academy kid there next year and with yet another brain fart I cant think of his name.

Whilst I do not agree with Acuguy that the decision to pass on Chol and William was racism it is probably a point worth discussing given that we have been well below the league average for indigenous players for a long time now. Personally I think we probably have a lot of the issues with indigenous players that were mentioned by Matt Rendall in 2012. For his candour he was slammed for one throw away line and this allowed the AFL to conveniently overlook the very real underlying issues. Mifsud has his own very prevalent racist tendencies (yes indigenous people can be racists) which I think really prevents him from being an appropriate conduit between the indigenous and non indigenous AFL communities. I am sure after that club officials would have no interest in talking with him.

With that said it was great to see the AFL step in and help Eades this year. They facilitated a move of states to a great school and ended up getting a kid drafted who was on the fast track to jail.
I agree that our record when it comes to drafting indigenous kids has been quite disappointing for a while now. There will always be risks involved in some cases, but I can't help but feel that the AFL gets it very wrong in this area. NRL clubs do a much better job.
I think the lack of diversity in the AFL makes progress more difficult. Clubs are more likely to view players from 'different' backgrounds as a risk if one or two go wrong because there really aren't a lot of 'different' draftable junior prospects every year.

was at state high mate we played in AFL comp with BBC, Churchie and Ippy Grammar (Jake Spencer actually played for BBC then and absolutely dominated the comp)

Nudgee are in the comp now too and I think ATC will be joining when they get through to year 12 kids.

good to know. did the better athletes at the school play rugby/afl? was it played at the same time as the rugby? how seriously did the staff at b.s.h. take it or was it just a bit of a fill in time thing? was much time spent on the coaching and development side of the afl compared to rugby? pardon the inquisition but am very interested, grand son going to b.s.h. in 2017.

Will do; I'll be the mug in the suit with the name badge that says "Hi, my name is Dylan12".

The latter may not be entirely accurate

Not sure you introduced yourself, things started to get a little blurred after the first dozen or so....

3XLGAf5.png

good to know. did the better athletes at the school play rugby/afl? was it played at the same time as the rugby? how seriously did the staff at b.s.h. take it or was it just a bit of a fill in time thing? was much time spent on the coaching and development side of the afl compared to rugby? pardon the inquisition but am very interested, grand son going to b.s.h. in 2017.
to be honest most of us took AFL as a joke ( I wasn't into footy as much it was sort of around 2007-2008) and we all played rugby and the AFL was just a thing on the side you would do on weekdays to get out of school early on the friday. mind you there were a couple of guys who did play footy outside of school and did take it quite seriously.

the school did provide decent coaching, but it was quite basic as half the guys had never played afl before. to be honest there school culture for AFL just isnt there around here from what I've gathered

we did get the lions players come down a couple of times to hold coaching sessions which did spike a bit of interest (we had tim notting, the traitor (mitch clark) and brad scott (incidentally you could tell he was going to coach in the future, he really drilled in the little things)

state high is a great school to attend

to be honest most of us took AFL as a joke ( I wasn't into footy as much it was sort of around 2007-2008) and we all played rugby and the AFL was just a thing on the side you would do on weekdays to get out of school early on the friday. mind you there were a couple of guys who did play footy outside of school and did take it quite seriously.

the school did provide decent coaching, but it was quite basic as half the guys had never played afl before. to be honest there school culture for AFL just isnt there around here from what I've gathered

we did get the lions players come down a couple of times to hold coaching sessions which did spike a bit of interest (we had tim notting, the traitor (mitch clark) and brad scott (incidentally you could tell he was going to coach in the future, he really drilled in the little things)

state high is a great school to attend
thanks very much for the insight, as i have lived in qld since a young age it is very much as i thought afl would be regarded in these schools. on state high, yes my son and wife have just moved into the catchment area for b.s.h. from country SE QLD specifically for the better schooling, primary as well, for their 3 kids.

I see where you guys are coming from with the young Hanley comparison and I think it's pretty apt. Excitingly, he seems also to have a touch more aggression at the contest.

Players who win contests and burst into space like William also tend to catch defences off guard I think, which often translates into a few disposal options. That being the case, I reckon Reuben could be a pretty effective and damaging user even with moderate refinements to his kicking.
Much more physical and stronger overhead than Pearce....we could do with a couple of line breakers like Reuben.

Whilst I do not agree with Acuguy that the decision to pass on Chol and William was racism it is probably a point worth discussing given that we have been well below the league average for indigenous players for a long time now. Personally I think we probably have a lot of the issues with indigenous players that were mentioned by Matt Rendall in 2012. For his candour he was slammed for one throw away line and this allowed the AFL to conveniently overlook the very real underlying issues. Mifsud has his own very prevalent racist tendencies (yes indigenous people can be racists) which I think really prevents him from being an appropriate conduit between the indigenous and non indigenous AFL communities. I am sure after that club officials would have no interest in talking with him.

With that said it was great to see the AFL step in and help Eades this year. They facilitated a move of states to a great school and ended up getting a kid drafted who was on the fast track to jail.
Rendall's was a hell of a throwaway line though.
The issue with high attrition rate of indigenous players needs to be addressed as a player welfare strategy. We may lack that as a club, but surely has to be a financial and practical consideration. Is it practical to have a specialist welfare officer at the club for a couple or few players?
I would expect that our welfare staff (now the Lamberts) would have some training in indigenous affairs, as all welfare officers should, but is that enough?

I've been disappointed with our reluctance to draft indigenous kids.

Does Queensland have a lower indigenous population than other states or are they drawn to different sports?

I ask this because it would seem that very few indigenous kids play footy in Queensland. Correct me if I'm wrong but our under 18 had more sudanese than indigenous this year. Also there seem to be very few if any in our academy.
Is there a "reluctance"? Or is it just the way the cards have fallen?
An absence or shortage isn't evidence of conscious avoidance.

Just on the topic of 'project players':

"The Lions saw great potential in Merrett and selected him as somewhat of a ‘project player’ with their second round selection (Pick No.30 overall) in the 2002 AFL National Draft." - http://www.lions.com.au/player-profile/daniel-merrett

Shaun Hampson, Wayde Mills, Tom Williams, Brad Moran, Joel Tippett were all big, raw Qld athletes described as project players.

ON the topic of drafting indigenous players, I don't think we're especially good at it, but I also can't think of many local indigenous kids we've overlooked in the last 10 years. We picked Rhan Hooper. Essendon beat us to Courtenay Dempsey with a pretty high pick. I'm racking my brain for any others.

Rendall's was a hell of a throwaway line though.
The issue with high attrition rate of indigenous players needs to be addressed as a player welfare strategy. We may lack that as a club, but surely has to be a financial and practical consideration. Is it practical to have a specialist welfare officer at the club for a couple or few players?
I would expect that our welfare staff (now the Lamberts) would have some training in indigenous affairs, as all welfare officers should, but is that enough?

Has any other club drafted fewer indigenous players than us in the last 10 years? Maybe Sydney?

I don't think it's a coincidence.

I know 'reluctance' implies conscious avoidance, and that's what you're responding to, but if we are avoiding drafting Indigenous players it's more likely to be because we unconsciously over-emphasise personal issues with Indigenous players compared to players of a different background.

I have to agree with you on Rendell. That was a staggeringly stupid thing to say to anyone. People have different opinions of Mifsud but I don't think he had any choice but to relay that comment on. Not sure it had to be made public, though.

thanks very much for the insight, as i have lived in qld since a young age it is very much as i thought afl would be regarded in these schools. on state high, yes my son and wife have just moved into the catchment area for b.s.h. from country SE QLD specifically for the better schooling, primary as well, for their 3 kids.
That's dedication. But state high is considered one of the better schools around and the best state school, though I think it still costs a fair bit to go there. But if the local comp is BBC two teams, Nudgee two teams, Churchie, State High maybe a Park Ridge which is a designated AFL school (or Springwood) and ATC you get a little more depth. ATC has only converted in the last couple of years to a full school (used to be Nudgee Jnr) so I dont think they are through to year 12 yet (I could be wrong) but they are smack in the middle of a number of jnr clubs Wests, Sherwood, Kenmore, Jindalee and they field jnr teams in the local comps, so they could be a strong AFL school going forward.

Dunno, would have to look at each draft over the last 10 years. Feel free to list all the players we avoided. (Or were reluctant to take).

Dayle Garlett...

Not saying we have avoided them completely just the fact the we have only drafted one in what 8 years I think is more than a coincidence.

Dayle Garlett...

Not saying we have avoided them completely just the fact the we have only drafted one in what 8 years I think is more than a coincidence.
Sam Sheldon, Albert Proud, Shannon Rusca, Anthony Corrie, Jason Roe, Rhan Hooper, X Clarke, Josh MacGunniess... Going back further we used first round selections on Des Headland and Ashley McGrath.

Not sure your argument is going anywhere.