Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016

OK thanks. I'd say I will be watching the whole match at least twice on replay in the next few month (yes, tragic I know) so will look out for it.
Think it was going to be a certain goal in the square to Hawkins.

Great game tonight!

What a joke with all the hoohaa about the Hawkins non free at the end, was the definite right decision. Feels like both our clubs exist in some parallel universe where we are never the victim of bad umpiring, but the teams we play are always robbed!

This gets me no end. The fat bastard _fell over_. That. Is. All.

Can you think of a first year Saint who has done more than Gresh in his first 8-10 games, in the last 10 years? Shown more class than Billings IMO at the same stage (ooh controversial Smoke o_O) and to be fair to Paddy - the big guys take longer and can see Paddy is going to be a ripper, so you cant really compare.

The more I see your boy the more I am convinced it is not if but when he becomes elite. He is one IMO who will be the cream that we so desperately need.....just hope we can do the same in the upcoming draft. We need to keep on nailing our first draft pick, (if we keep it)....

its not just that but in such a big moment when someone needed to step up. seriously impressive

****ing amazing win. So much sweeter after the Hawks and North Melb games. Challenged and responded. Guts, determination, heart. Saints footy.
Nathan Wright take a bow - injured, hobbling and still running the lines, blocking, tackling, spoiling.
Watching Acres is like watching a trailer of a very good movie. You only get a glimpse, but you know it's going to be good.
Gresham float like butterfly, sting like bee. Make many opponent look stupid in future.
Bruce having 2nd year blues. Well, technically it's not his 2nd year, but it's his 2nd year as a forward. Doesn't help that he's infringed on constantly. One day, the umps will notice he is getting mauled.
Mav putting the afterburners on, so exciting to watch.
Jack Steven Wow.
Hats off to Delaney :thumbsu:
Webster, Ross 50 games and :fire::fire::fire:
Minch - hope it's not long before he graduates from forward Padawan to midfield Jedi.
Gears directing traffic :thumbsu:
Our boys getting into the faces of their boys, love it.
Dangerfield kneeing Geary's head :thumbsdown:
That clear mark to Paddy paid as a free against o_O:thumbsdown:
That "spoil" breaking Paddy's nose :mad::thumbsdown:
Gresham's goal:eek::D

22 drivers tonight, just awesome to watch, out on their feet and willed towards a victory. Tonight is the beginning :fire::fire::fire::fire::fire::fire:

Dislikes

Delivery into 50 needs to be better.

We need more poise all around the goal but especially in front of goal.

The mic on Gears.

Mav’s willingness to play on quickly with a little handball to advantage.

Gresham’s game and Gresham’s goal.

Jack Steven’s acceleration.

Delaney’s game on Hawkins.

Ross H2H against Danger in the guts where it counts.

Paddy’s diving mark and seated handball to Mav running past.

Standing up to Geelong’s pressure in the third.

Dunstan unable to get back on the ground in the dying seconds standing on the boundary waving and shouting for players to get back into defence.

Everyone made mistakes but no-one had a bad game.

On a more sober note, I don't mind Dunstan being used as a trade sweetener end of this year or maybe next. He just doesn't seem to own it. OOTF kick for goal when it mattered, same thing in weeks past, I dunno, he just doesn't seem to want it the way a lot of our other younger guys do - for contrast look at the way Jimmy W put his body and soul on the line for spoils and marks today.
I'm guessing that you missed the North Melbourne game earlier this year when he was in tears after the final siren.

Seriously, retract this comment.

Injuries?

Bad feeling Wright continued his horrid run.

Steven ok? He didn't take the field for a good 10 mins at one stage and geelong midfield got on top.

Bruce injured or carrying a niggle?

These guys did a number on the cats.

Seb Ross 33 disposals, 12 CPs, 6 marks, 5 clearances, 5xI50s
Mav Weller 19 disposals @89%, 6 tackles, 7 marks, 2 goals
Darren Minchington 13 disposals @92%, 6 tackles, 3 goals
Jade Gresham 16 disposals @87%, 8xI50s, 1 goal, 2 GAs
Tom Hickey 10 CPs, 7 clearances
Blake Acres 21 disposals, 3 clearances, 7 CPs, 5xI50s
Sam Gilbert 8x1%-ers
Nathan Wright 2 goals

Neroli Meadows on AFL Tonight just said that Hawkins was an absolute superstar tonight with 3 goals and would've had more if not for 'controversial umpiring decisions' in the 4th quarter.

giphy.gif

upload_2016-6-25_23-56-26.png

giphy.gif

Watching the replay again without emotion knowing result. I'm still in shock at the umpiring, I'm more in shock that Geelong tried to take the gloss off our magnificent effort by blaming the umpires.

To come back from that ridiculous McCarthy downfield goal and the subsequent non free to Bruce against Ruggles in the third (when all of the ascendency was with the Cats) will be massive for this bunch of kids.

We beat 25 blokes tonight and I reckon this win means so much more than 4 points for the long term future of this group.

Just some parting observations.

Hickeys tap for Steven's winning goal so underrated.
Gilbo's spoil on Bartel and another Cat with 8 seconds to go.
Acres final quarter.
Mav going into the room saying "Theres a scalp, theres a scalp".
Selwood of all people complaining about umpiring.

Review St Kilda defeated Geelong Rd 14 2016